We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lunch!”
Review of Le Cafe de la Mer

Le Cafe de la Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 16, 2017

We visited Le Cafe de la Mer on two separate occasions. The first was without having booked and the second time having booked.

On both occasions the service and food were both excellent. The male owner speaks a little English, however, we didn't really need this as we were quite happy to order our moules et frites in French.

The moules were delicious and the frites were crispy and a great size! We also had a portion of sea snails... an experience that I will not forget!

I believe that this is a family run business and as such the take a considerable amount of pride in the food.

This place is definitely worth a visit and the moues et frites is worth ordering.

However, if visiting in the evening or on a weekend, then remember to book.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pretty1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 140 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2015

We have been enjoying eating at Le Cafe de la Mer ever since it opened many years ago. It serves an excellent selection of moules dishes (try the moules a l'ail!). Steak frites is superb as are the varied selection of salads and other sea food platters. The restaurant is superbly located on the top of the cliffs overlooking the Ile de Re with it's impressive bridge. A husband and wife team run the restaurant and Giles is the perfect host - very accommodating and eager to help. Agnes is the culinary genius who cooks the moules dishes that never fail to delight. We have always found the service to be excellent and hence visit every holiday we are in La Rochelle.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

It is terrible! We are in 7 and ordered immediately the main dishes for everybody including the kids. After we ordered entree while we wait for main dish.
It quite an hour that we are waiting! The waiter said it is our fault because we asked for entree! Absolutely out of mind!

2  Thank Deniz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a secret place just outside a small village overlooking the sea. Fantastic location on the edge of the cliff and perfect for watching the sun go down in the summer. Park the car and have a walk to the tiny marina or across the fields and then come back ready to choose between mussels cooked in wine, garlic or a very subtle curry. Giles, the charming owner explained that they source the very best shell fish and cook to order with love and care. Agnes, his wife oversees all the cooking to ensure that the high standard expected by their loyal and devoted clientele. Don't worry if shellfish is not your thing, the steak is delicious and there is myriad of beautifully fresh salads and crepes.
On balmy nights it is a treat to eat outside but on cooler evenings you are protected from the wind and inside is light, bright and welcoming. A centrally placed enormous wood burning stove is lit for chilly spring and autumn evenings which gave us the feeling that we were in our own sea side summer house. The warmth of Giles and Agnes made us feel and valued and determined to return throughout our summer stay.

Date of visit: April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank DIANA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe de la Mer also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
Nieul sur Mer, La Rochelle
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Le Cafe de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing