We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rustic French Holiday”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Thouvenin

Thouvenin's vine covered front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Thouvenin's vine covered front
The pool.... Undercover dining overlooking the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Thouvenin's vine covered front
The pool....
Undercover dining overlooking the pool
The well equipped kitchen
The boules and barbecue area
The living room... comfortable seating, TV and a traditional charentaise fire
A quiet corner in the Cafe/Bar
The airy main bedroom
The second bedroom
The bathroom
The new Cafe/Bar is at first floor level
Migron in summer
The village's spring and ancient washing station
Migron is surrounded by vineyards..
.... and sunflower fields
The nearest beaches are about 40 minutes away
Thouvenin was once the station hotel... but the railway is long since gone
The Cafe/Bar provides a quite shady retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Migron, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ricky737
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rustic French Holiday”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Having booked this holiday for the beginning of september we weren't expecting a great deal with regards to the weather and being able to use the pool but thankfully the sun was shining every day. The pool was a perfect size and was maintained very well, as was the rest of the house thanks to Julie the housekeeper who made it her mission to ensure we had a wonderful time, which we did.

Whether we were sitting by the pool, playing ping pong or relaxing on the mezzanine with a glass of wine and a book, we constantly felt relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed our time at thouvenin.

The size of the house was perfect, everyone could have their own personal space. the wifi was also surprisingly quick for such a rustic village. Getting around was straight forward and i would highly recommend spending the day in Cognac or Saintes, they each have wonderful markets on saturdays where we bought a lot of fresh ingredients for the BBQ.

Overall we had a really brilliant time at Thouvenin and we couldn't have asked for more apart from if we could stay longer!

5* would highly recommend

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanajacki...
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“rustic charm”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful family holiday with three generations enjoying all this part of france had to offer.
Thouvenin is just as described. It was comfortable and spacious. Probably the best equipped kitchen I've ever rented. Sharp kinives!! Plenty of everything. to hand. It is homely not luxurious.
Our bedroom was huge. In spite of the hot day time temperatures it remained cool. We did keep the shutters open at night which meant we could hear the odd tractor/car rumbling past. Just one bathroom was a bit difficult as the other toilet was downstairs.
We spent most of our time outside. Plenty of room both in and out of the sun.A super table tennis table for family competitions. Beautiful pool kept pristine by Julie who looks after the house and its guests.
She was a wonderful English lady who saw it as her role to make sure we had a wonderful holiday- which we did. Nothing was too much trouble for her from booking a trip to the dentist to supplying a list of local attractions.
This is a very pretty area of France; rural but not remote. We visited beaches which were probably an hour away; towns of Cognac, Saintes and St. Jean d'Angely; canoed on the river and relaxed.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space - both outside and inside
Liked least: Road noise
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annieh1_1...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A beautiful house surrounded by stunning countryside and located in a perfect village . We had an amazing holiday combining relaxing days by the pool with trips to Cognac and Saintes. The house was everything we could wish for and more. It combined comfort and rustic good looks with a spacious well equipped living area and an attractive garden and outside living space as well as a great pool. We had a fantastic family break and would highly recommend this property .

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewed February 22, 2013 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing