We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be good, disappointing lately”

La Cabane Du Pertuis
Ranked #8 of 9 Restaurants in l'Houmeau
Price range: $17 - $28
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The title says it all. However, still a good bet, in the evening for the breathtaking scenery. It is a pity that the food is no longer up to what it used to be a few years ago. If you are Lucky, you might be seating next to some celebrities vacationning on the Ile de Ré.

Date of visit: August 2013
1  Thank sainmalo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas-nico6217, Propriétaire at La Cabane Du Pertuis, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2015
Google Translation

Hello , desole j'ai mis du temps a repondre , mais j'ai une tres bonne memoire . Alors monsieur lorsque dans un restaurant on vous annonce que le service est complet , il est inutil de s'installer soi meme et de reclamer toutes les 2minutes ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 110 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

We parked nearby with cousins and the grandkids hoping for some good crêpes - the house speciality - just after sundown on a weekday last August.
The place was nearly full, inside and out, but as we made our way through the patio we started to pick up a vibe: glum looking patrons in a waiting posture, tables with no food, harried staff. Oh well, making our way to the dining room picked up the end of an exchange: server barking at group that he was busy (a woman followed him to the wait station to tell the young man that that's not the tone you're supposed to use when talking to a customer - he didn't look convinced, and didn't apologize). Not a great start, but ...
Found a table - none of the wait staff said boo - and sat down, all six of us. Checked out the menu - pricey, but guess you pay for the location, near the sea, not far from La Rochelle - and waited, and waited, and waited. Not even an "I'll take your order in a second" or "can I get anyone something to drink?" or even "bonsoir". Nada, totally ignored.
Around us, could observe several tables, lots of glaring, but not much food, and many folded arms with that 'is my order going to come or not?' look. At one point heard someone nearby tell a server "we've been waiting nearly an hour" to which he replied "we're busy."
At this point said to the cousins and wife "let's get out of here." We got up, the wait staff didn't blink (probably relieved that they wouldn't have to serve us) and left.
Appreciate the opportunity to write - for once! - a review that's not complementary (by the way, all the exchanges we're in French, so there was no 'anti-tourist' bias, though imagine the locals are clued into La Cabane and avoid the place). We're not talking 'haute cuisine' here, it's a crêpe shop, but with attitude. And exceeding poor service.

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas N, Gérant at La Cabane Du Pertuis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas N, Gérant at La Cabane Du Pertuis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cabane Du Pertuis also viewed

 
l'Houmeau, La Rochelle
l'Houmeau, La Rochelle
 
l'Houmeau, La Rochelle
l'Houmeau, La Rochelle
 

Been to La Cabane Du Pertuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing