We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a quiet, relaxing holiday.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Les Iris

Pool area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool area
Front view Impasse des Iris - Lane into Les Iris
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Pool area
Front view
Impasse des Iris - Lane into Les Iris
Pool area
Front area
Time to pick some cherries
Gite front elevation
Gite and owners house
Gardens
Pool area
General view downstairs
Dining area
Living room
Bedroom 2 upstairs
Bedroom 2  upstairs
Shower Room
Bedroom 1 upstairs
Bon appétit
July flowers
Market day in nearby Aulnay
Floor Plans
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Coivert, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JOHN B
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a quiet, relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This gite is in a very quiet location and is therefore perfect for getting away from it all.
Pat and Evelyn were very friendly and helpful.
The pool and area surrounding it was well maintained and it was nice to have towels provided (and linen etc).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside space - especially the pool
Liked least: The lack of height in some areas of the bedrooms as we are very tall.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2015
Thanks for the review. We shall be looking at kitchen equipment for next year 2016. Hope we will see you out here again another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAndJ...
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend Holiday Lettings or this gite”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very disappointed at how poorly equipped the gite was for the price charged. The best part was the pool, but in temperatures of 35C and no outdoor shower the owners didn't want us to use suntan cream as they felt it entailed additional cleaning of the pool.
The kitchen was particularly poorly equipped, with not enough sharp knives or chopping boards meaning bread, veg, meat and fish were all prepared using the same utensils.
Holiday Lettings clearly don't inspect gites that they market

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you for the review, however we did not at any time tell you not to use suntan oil, we merely showed you what excessive suntan oil does to the pool as you were interested in buying a property with a pool. On arrival we tell all guests to ask if they need anything or if anything is not right and we are surprised given that we live on site, that you didn't do this. Sorry things didn't work out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre L
Enniscorthy, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional .. Truly”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If you want to have a holiday where you totally relax this is it! We have visited France every year for past 6 years. We obviously love France. This has been our favourite holiday . Evelyn and Pat are fantastic hosts . They are so keen that you enjoy your well deserved break that you can only but relax and feel like you are at home .the simplicity of the gite allows for a sense of "nothing to do " so mother and father can chill while also being so cosy you feel like you're sharing time together ..Internet gives you Access where needed but no wifi !!!! Our children were present with us !!!! Can't recommend it enough . Thank you Evelyn for the fresh salad from your garden .. Missing you already

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2014
Thank you for the really nice review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again. Funny you mentioned the wifi as we have now sorted it out, so you'll be Ok next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
provencej...
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Gite with fantastic pool”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just got back from 2 weeks at Les Iris with our dog. Gite is beautiful in a lovely rural location and the pool is absolutely idyllic. Pat and Evelyn are lovely and very welcoming. We took our dog and she was given free reign of the garden and were very welcoming towards dogs. They even booked the appointment at the local vets for us prior to our departure. Car is definetely needed to explore local area, nice lake and river in St jean d-angely and nearest town Aulnay is a lovely little square. Also has supermarket, petrol station and lovely patisserie. Coast about 45 mins by car and also to the Marais Poitevin. Roads very pleasant and quiet.
Only tip is to take a lap top to plug into internet as wifi unreliable. All in all an excellent gite and brilliant value for money. Highly recommended if you want to take your dog as I don't think you would find anywhere else more pet friendly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2014
Thank you very much for that very nice review and we hope to see you here again another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo P
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic place for a relaxing break”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fabulous week at Les Iris and it was exactly what we wanted. The accommodation was clean and very comfortable and we found Pat and Evelyn to be very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The pool really was the icing on the cake - the children loved it! We loved wandering around the local markets and shops, especially in Aulnay, Surgeres and St Jean d'Angely, and would highly recommend Les Jacobins in St Jean for a family evening meal. All in all, a great place to relax and enjoy the lovely peaceful surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and the pool.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2013
Thanks very much for your really nice comments, and we hope to see you out here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efc12009
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just returned from Les Iris and had the most wonderful holiday. The gite has everything and more! It is actually much bigger than it looks on the website. The pool just tops it all off. Easy access to the towns of Aulnay and St. Jean for supermarkets and the lovely markets. Pat and Evelyn are two of the nicest people you will ever meet and are at hand, when needed, to help out and give advice about things to see and do in the area. Highlights for us were Il d'Aix, la Rochelle, the chateau at Dampierre and the Zoodysee, all within very easy driving distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole ambience of the location and the gite.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2013
Thank you very much for that, it is undoubtedly the best review that we have received. We will certainly try to maintain a good service to our holiday makers knowing that it is appreciated. Again thank you and hope to see you back here on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a fantastic week at Les iris,
The accommodation is very clean and tidy. Simple with no frills but more than adequate..
The weather was very good bar 2 very large thunderstorms that lit up the night sky's for hours.
The pool is the icing on the cake.
Simply the bast pool we have had in many holidays to france and Italy.
The kids had a ball..

Many thanks to Evelyn,Pat and Alice for a very warm welcome and for looking after us.

Say hi to hi to Charlie for us?

Thank You again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool
Liked least: Could do with upgrading the seating in the lounge
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2013
Thank you for that, it is always useful to get some feed back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing