We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B with lots of individuality”
Review of Crake Trees Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crake Trees Manor
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great B&B with lots of individuality”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our group stayed in two comfortable rooms inside the house. This B&B has a great rural setting and lots of individuality. There is a large sitting room with a log burning stove and tea making facilities. For evening meals the Butchers Arms community pub is about 15 minutes walk. Breakfast at Crake Trees is very good. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    15
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
91
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights this week at Brew House for our mini honeymoon. It was absolutely perfect for us. The cosy little building was decked out in lovely bespoke furniture and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The surrounding scenery was lovely and we enjoyed exploring. We would highly recommend the Butcher's Arms along the road. We went for dinner and had a lovely meal and pint (or two).

Thanks Mike & Ruth for a wonderful stay,

James & Rosie

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 263JamesW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have just returned for staying a couple of nights in the Shephers Hut. Even though it was cold outside with the wood burning stove lit it soon made the hut so cozy. The bed is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. Crake Tree Manor is the perfect place to stay, about 15 minutes walk from the village and the pub but it feels like your in the middle of nowhere, especially at night the clear sky/stars were amazing. Ruth makes a wonderful breakfast in the farmhouse, with lots of variety to choose from. Would recommend the pub in the village, The Butchers Arms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollymuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyofthemanor, Owner at Crake Trees Manor, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review.
On a very cold night with the fire going it really is comfortable in the Shepherds Hut.
I'm glad you enjoyed the night sky, the stars are wonderful to see from our place, we have even seen The northern lights last week
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I just got back from a quick overnight stay in the shepherds hut. I wish we could have stayed for longer... Such a lovely place with stunning views, especially watching the sun raise over the hills this morning was stunning.

I would visit again without hesitation. The family who run the B and B are also lovely genuine people who make you feel really welcome and at home. Hopefully we will visit again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

me and my partner stayed last year in the shepherds hut, and our experience can only be described as devine. We were welcomed with warm open arms, and Mike even drove out to find us as we got lost. Ruth made a fantastic breakfast and we had more than enough variety to eat from. The shepherds hut itself was very cosy, and had lovely finishing touches to make it romantic. The surrounding were idyllic and only a short drive away is Appleby a nice little village to explore. I would recommend visiting crake manor to anyone looking for a country retreat with a difference. we will definately be visiting again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherrybellrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed for 1 night (a Saturday) in October in the Shepherds Hut at Crake Tree Manor. The hut was perfectly laid out with lovely handmade furniture and atmospheric candles. The little cast iron stove was ready to light on arrival and gave off plenty of heat despite a cold evening. We left the top half of the stable door open over morning coffee which afforded us stunning views over the surrounding countryside from our exceptionally comfortable bed. Ruth, the owner, rang while we were driving over to apologise that she wouldn't be there on our arrival and told us where everything was and to make ourselves at home. On arrival, there was homemade cake laid out for us, as well as fresh milk and tea and coffee facillities, in the separate kitchen/bathroom across the farmyard.

That night we ate out at the village pub which was an easy 10 minute walk away (best to take a torch with you, however there is one provided if you forget your own). Nice friendly atmosphere at the pub and really good food (£10-£12 for a main course).

Breakfast is served in the large dining room in the farmhouse and comprised of fresh bread, fresh fruit salad, homemade granola and a delicious cooked breakfast platter to share. The table, and in fact the whole room, was tastefully and artfully decorated. Ruth and Mike were great hosts and made us feel very welcome. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TresBon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyofthemanor, Owner at Crake Trees Manor, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for making such a positive review of your stay in The Shepherds Hut .
It's great to know that folks enjoy the romance of a night under the stars at Crake Trees Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We can't remember how many times we have stayed here now! This time staying for two nights in Peaslands, a fabulous room with en suite bathroom and mini kitchen and lovely view out over frosty fields in the morning. Extremely comfortable bed, (which can be a rare find) no cheap mattresses in this establishment! Breakfast was to die for, lovely local sausages and bacon and homemade bread, jam and marmalade. Hosts Mike and Ruth were as welcoming as ever with lots of local knowledge on where to visit, walk and eat and although they are extremely busy people they always have time to chat. Beautiful scenery surrounds Crake Trees and being well away from any roads it is unbelievably quiet and peaceful. Good location for visiting Eden Valley, Lake District or even parts of North Yorkshire. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyLillycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyofthemanor, Owner at Crake Trees Manor, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
It was good to see you again, and i hope that your short break at Crake Trees Manor refreshed you both in mind and spirit.
looking forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosby Ravensworth
5.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,587 reviews
10.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
4.4 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
9.8 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crake Trees Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crake Trees Manor

Property: Crake Trees Manor
Address: Crosby Ravensworth | Near Penrith, Crosby Ravensworth CA10 3JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Crosby Ravensworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crosby Ravensworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crake Trees Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderfull barn conversion at the centre of our family farm.Modernist design with an easy mix of antiques modern art and handmade oak furnishings.Bed &, Breakfast in 3 rooms with superb views over the rolling farmland to the mountains beyond. Or sleep in The Shepherds Hut, down by the pond , just right for romantics of adventurous spirit. Crake Trees Manor is remote and peacwfull , yet only 15 mins from the M6 in Cumbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crake Trees Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crake Trees Manor Hotel Crosby Ravensworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing