We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Community Pub.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Butchers Arms

Butchers Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Community Pub.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Early evening meal in the restaurant - as soon as the doors opened at 6pm as the restaurant was fully booked from 7 pm by a large group. (Wednesday)

Friendly helpful young staff - great food and actually managed 3 courses - fab large slice of tiramisu to finish. (only possible because we only had soup at lunchtime)

Pleasant surroundings and relaxed atmosphere - will definitely return when in the area again. Book to make sure you get a restaurant table.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    17
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic proper friendly village pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had two superb Sunday lunches. Excellent seafood starter and then beautifully tender roasts. Sadly no room for deserts, maybe next time.

Relaxed atmosphere and all the staff are really friendly.

Will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth going out of the way for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Had evening dinners here and a Sunday lunch. Always had an excellent meal and there is a lovely ambience. Took some friends from Devon here and they raved about it. The food is always fresh and well cooked and the chicken curry is one of the best I have ever tasted. You must book as it quite small but very popular. We were recommended it by a neighbour from Wild Rose Caravan Park, where we have a lodge, and it is well worth the 20 minute trip through lovely scenery. Although it is just a pub run by the community, they are very professional and the Sunday lunch was excellent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT DINNER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

IT was recommended by owner of our rented cottage at Dridale.The village run it and all ingredients supplied by locals
We had steaks,gammon and wonderful lamb.Superb meals,especially the potato Dauphanoise !
Veggies a bit ordinary but still a superb evening.
Would certainly recommend it

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, served especially well for a pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I really like this pub. I like views on the drive to the pub. I like the way you can choose to have a £7 or £10 portion. All the meals I have had here have been consistently good and I would recommend it. This time we had two excellent meals a leek and asparagus four cheese bake and the chicken curry served with raita and mango chutney, both meals were served with flat breads, that I think were homemade. As well as a restaurant end the pub has a pool table, dart board, wood burner, water colours for sale and Dan the very friendly dog. The pub is only open Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JudithGlennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butchers Arms also viewed

Shap, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
Shap, Eden District
 

Been to Butchers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing