We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible break with fantastic views”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The house and beach
Sunrise to front showing the balcony and sand at low tide - A perfect place for breakfast
Part of the view from the balcony
The dining table and through to the kitchen
the beach from the top of the back garden
The house and beach
The private beach picnic area in the garden to the side of the Boathouse
The Boathouse and driveway showing parking to the rear
Part of the view from the balcony with the tide out
Breakfast on the balcony
Sunbeams on the driveway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Llanbedrog, Pwllheli, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bioelle S
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible break with fantastic views”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Have just returned from a 5 day break and what can I say except wow! Upon arrival we were blown away with the amazing view which we all spent countless hours watching as it changed with the weather and tides. The accommodation itself was more than up to scratch. We will definitely be looking to return soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V9996BLhe...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“wonderful!”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Started with brilliant detailed information from the owner. The cottage isn't easy to find, through a wooded area with 2 gates but when you arrive the destination is v definitely wow!

The cottage is very comfortably furnished with everything you could need. Kitchen well equipped. The only negative would be that there is only one bathroom with wc and so for 3 couples there was a fair bit of "waiting" but we knew this beforehand so it was no surprise. The third bedroom holds a double bed but is quite dark and smallish but was fine.

there is a pub at the top of the hill, about 10 minutes from the property, very convenient. The restaurant near the beach was closed for the season. We ate at Trefan Hall which was marvellous and very good quality.

we would definitely recommend and may very well return in the future.

The view from the main room is beautiful. We sat and watched the sun going down over the sea and it was amazing. couples there

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2014
Thanks for your review and kind words! With bookings from November we have now completed the new (massive!) second shower room with double walk in shower and wc - no more queues!! You are welcome back any time to try it out. Glad that you enjoyed everything that the Boathouse has to offer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funcamper...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“THE CLOSEST PLACE TO HEAVEN ON EARTH”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

From the moment we walked into the living room the amazing view took our breath away. To be so close to the sea in such a beautiful setting was a dream come true. The boat house itself is comfortable clean and well kept.I have never felt so sad to leave a place and we are already looking to book our next visit. Kevin the landlord was accommodating and informative, nothing was too much trouble. We are hugely grateful to have found such a beautiful place.Mark & Sarah.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ever changing views.
Liked least: Leaving.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovelivin...
Abergavenny, Wales
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The location is so beautiful, it takes your breath away.”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was a magical holiday. Driving down the wooded drive and arriving at the property made us gasp with delight. You really are on the beach- there has been no clever photography- and the view from the balcony and from the window seat (easily long enough to fit two people) is stunning. The beach is very clean, sandy, flat and safe. We went with teenagers and we could sit on the balcony and watch them in the sea, but if the children had been younger, we would have been equally as happy to join them on the sand and in the water. Having the beach literally on your doorstep means that you never really have to 'pack' for a beach trip (one of my holiday pet hates!). You don't have to mark out your spot on the sand and you can leave your valuables/picnic food/dry clothes in the house, because it is only seconds away. The new (huge) shower room off the beach is a real asset. We often used it in preference to the bathroom in the property, simply because it is a really good size, but again, especially with smaller children, easy access to a toilet and shower straight off the beach is invaluable.
Parking at the property was never a problem. Like a previous reviewer, we took a seven- seater and were able to use the turning circle without difficulty and park so that people in the cottage behind could get their (Range Rover) past.
When you add in the very generous welcome hamper, the well-equipped kitchen, the brand new bed linen and the very helpful Kevin, what more could you possibly want!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being so close to the sea.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHouse...
Gisburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The most idyllic location with our three year old grandchild”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We left the Boathouse yesterday after the most wonderful week's holiday. The house is really comfortable and well equipped - great showers, great kitchen with absolutely everything you need - even for dinner party cooking - and the view from the kitchen window is?? well you have to see it to believe it. The view from the balcony must be one of the best in the world - silhouette of mountains in the far distance, full view of the beautiful bay with its soft sand and safe clear water, hillside with myriad trees and wild flowers and of course the iconic row of red, blue, yellow and green beachhuts. Our grandson loved it especially when we took him for a sail in the dinghy each morning from our own small beach just in front of our house - I've never had a holiday like it - can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H
Stratton
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning, Magical Location with ever changing scenes”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We booked The Boathouse as a Family pre-celebration of my wife's 70th birthday (which is on 12 June) as three of our family are Teachers, we had to do it during half-term. We travelled separately from Stratton (north Cornwall), whilst daughters (and partners) came from Tavistock (Devon) and Mytholmroyd (West Yorkshire). To say we were gobsmacked when we saw it would be an understatement. The location is stunning and the Boathouse is very good if a bit Parson's Egg: which is to say we had a few niggles which we will take up with Kevin when we get back from the actual birthday celebration in the South of France. Nothing, however, that would put us off returning for another visit sometime. The girls and boys knew the area as they had been before to the Llyn Peninsula but Joy and I hadn't so it was all new to us. We really enjoyed visiting othe parts of the peninsula but just watching the tide coming in and out across the bay was magical. The girls and boys were in their element as the sea was clam and they did a lot of kayaking. We enjoyed watching the heron pitting his wits against the fish at low tide. We had the welcome visit of a mallard every evening and of course the bats flitting about post dusk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just the sheer magic of the place
Liked least: As I said we had a few niggles that we will be taking up with the owner
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley S
Endon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just returned from yet another stay at the fantastic boathouse and I thought I would update my last review posted in January 2014.

Everything I reported in January relating to our previous stays remains the same - fantastic property, location and owner all resulting in yet another memorable holiday break. However, I thought I would update my review as I previously commented that the property would benefit from an additional bathroom and 'dah dah'....... a new shower room has been added to the property. Not just a little shower room but an enormous, modern and clinically clean area which is just perfect when children return from the beach or simply an additional facility at the premises.

Thank you to the owner for another lovely break and as usual, the owner was at the end of the phone to check that everything was ok.

What more can I say ...' absolutely fantastic'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and new bathroom!!
Liked least: Leaving!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing