We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff really make this hotel stand out !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We visited to attend a wedding, we stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is set in lovely gardens overlooking sheep very picturesque, THE ROOMS: the whole wedding party stayed here and the rooms varied considerably in their decor and size, our room was spacious, the decor and bathroom were a little dated & the over bath shower wasn't the best but it did the job, the bed unfortunately was not comfortable. THE FOOD: we ate here both days and the food was very good, would recommend the salmon from the main menu. THE STAFF: the staff from the moment we walked in were attentive, hospitable and truly wonderful, they could not do enough for the guests and all appeared friendly and warm, the bar man the first night was a true treasure and there were also a couple of exceptional young ladies working during the wedding meal who really went the extra mile - cannot praise and thank the staff enough all a true credit to this establishment.
The only small downfall was that there is very poor telephone reception here & whilst there is wifi it does not appear to work in all areas (can be a nice real from the world outside though)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 280 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

I came to this hotel for a meal out and I have to say it wasnt the best... The bar staff was really friendly but the waitressing staff that were on that night weren't as friendly and the food wasnt of a high standard :/

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank cazzyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We began our two week tour of Scotland in this hotel, we were pleased with our room, it was lovely, clean and spacious, the staff on duty were helpful. Breakfast was good and plentiful. We decided to eat in the hotel bar as there was no restaurant available, the food was disappointing it was less than average pub grub which appeared microwaved or fried from frozen no fresh food at all, which is a shame as it is the only thing that let an otherwise lovely hotel down.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

we stayed here with family and friends on Tuesday the 27th & 28th of may for our wedding in Gretna Green, we had our afternoon reception here, the food was delicious, all the staff were lovely and made us feel
welcome, we stayed in the Paoloe franchesca bridal suite.we would like to thank Claire for keeping us updated with our wedding plans at the Gretna chase before we arrived and on our arrival.many thanks to all the staff, you do a fantastic job of making people happy. We wanted to return next year to spend our first wedding anniversary there but sadly for us its fully booked for the dates we would like to stay, thanks again,Gizella & Mark Crossland :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gizgoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel with the newly wed Mr & Mrs Brown on the weekend of 25th - 27th April. Not only was it lovely to witness their wedding day but they couldnt have held it in a better place.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and welcoming and the breakfasts were a real feast!
Lovely all round experience :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with 38 guests from 25-27 April 14 for our wedding at The Anvil Hall. We could not fault this hotel one little bit. The staff went out of there way to ensure that every guest was happy including the children. We all had bar meals on Friday night and they were plentiful, of a very high quality and all rooms were of a high standard. The bridal suites in particular were beautiful. The wedding breakfast was truly out of this world, the table service was second to none and every waitress had a smile on her face. Cannot express enough how Claire and all her team at The Chase made our wedding weekend so perfect and we won't ever forget it. Thank you. Mr & Mrs Brown x

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank freyasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel allows rooms that you have booked personally and paid for with your own credit card to be cancelled without your authority and notification....losing you the deposit!
Yes we was staying at the hotel to attend a wedding and yes we informed the bride we would not be attending the wedding but our room booking was private and nothing to do with the bride so how can this be allowed.
My booking, My deposit, My contract with the hotel.
Had we still wished to stay at the hotel without attending the wedding, we would not have had a room to stay in as we didnt know it had been cancelled.
Not being local and would have been travelling a few hours to get to this hotel you can imagine the trouble this would have caused.
Point is besides all the above Data protection has failed and this hotels policy okays this stating it happens on lots of occassions involving wedding parties.
I have taken this matter up with the Information commission as I feel this hotel seriously needs to look at their policy and the data protection of customers.
Customer service was the worst I have ever come across.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank MinxyMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.9 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.4 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gretna Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gretna Chase Hotel

Address: Gretna Chase Hotel Sark Bridge, Gretna DG16 5JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range: $83 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gretna Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Scottish / English border, Gretna Green is world famous for its runaway marriages and in the mid nineteenth century there was much rivalry between the various marriage house proprietors ... The Gretna Chase Hotel was built by John Murray, an extremely successful businessman in the marriage trade, and tenant of Allison's toll-bar. Completed in 1856, Murray built the hotel opposite the toll-bar. It proved very popular with clients, being the first in the area to offer stabling for horses. Today, The Gretna Chase Hotel offers modern amenities, but retains much of its original character. All bedrooms have pleasant views of the surrounding countryside, and public rooms are furnished in a style in-keeping with the age of the hotel. Fully licensed, privately owned and completely supervised by the owners, this small but extremely comfortable hotel offers the discerning guest a carefree informality away from city pressures. We would be delighted to show you around the hotel by appointment , to highlight all the facilities we have to offer and discuss your personal requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Gretna Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing