We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb pub grub as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“superb pub grub as always”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We often visit the Gretna Gateway outlet, and always make a point of calling in to the Gretna Chase for lunch.
Called in Yesterday after doing some christmas shopping. It was fairly busy, and i opted for one of their lunch specials - cumberland sausage with mashed potato and onion gravy. Partner went for one of the board specials - smoked haddock fishcakes with chips. It was only after i had ordered that i realised i had opted for one of the supposedly smaller portion options - but i neednt have worried - as always the portions at Gretna Chase are very generous - my meal was served in a soup plate with creamy mashed potato, delicious cumberland sausage and really tasty gravy - plenty for a lunch. partner had two large fishcakes, serves with a wee bucket of hand cut chips, and lots of fresh veg - cabbage cooked with bacon, carrots and brocolli. Nothing fancy but everything piping hot, cooked well, and very tasty.
Service was also good. Only thing i think could be improved is the seating in the bar area - many of the small stools are very shaky and i think some new seating is called for. Thats just a small point, overall this is a great place to stop off for a lunch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elscodobermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    56
    7
    5
    9
See reviews for
89
90
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at the Gretna Chase Hotel for three days in November 2013. We were married at the Crichton Church, and we used the Gretna Chase as our home base. It is a quaint hotel, within walking distance of the Outlet Mall and the wedding bureau. The hotel staff are helpful and affable people. The restaurant food is delicious (be sure to have the chicken/leek/bacon pie and the BLT)--and the chef was kind enough to write out a recipe for me. Our room the first night (our wedding eve) was a regular double room, and it was very nice, but the Adam and Eve Bridal suite that we stayed in for the remaining two nights was absolutely fabulous. The Jacuzzi bathtub was a special treat: very relaxing. I highly recommend staying in the bridal suite. Our one slight concern was that the shower drain seemed to be clogged, and we had to take extremely quick showers to avoid standing in a pool of water, but it was a negligible concern. The bathtub more than made up for the clogged shower. We very much enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank English18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highcliffe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

What can I say that others have not already said. The perfect venue for the perfect wedding..!! A BIG THANK YOU to Claire and all her staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them...even the late nights (early mornings) in the bar..sorry..!!
We had looked at other hotels in the area...but came back to the best. Everything was perfect..the venue, gardens, rooms, food...even the weather. It was the right choice especially as the locals recommend it ...and eat here too..the food was superb...and lots of it..especially for our hungry band..!! The wedding breakfast was superb and was commented on by the professional chefs among our guests.!! The whole event was extremely good value for money...see I'm Scottish at heart..!!
Nothing left to say but thank you...and can we do it all again..??
We will be back..see you soon. :)) x

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but the P&F bridal suite was special..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Beautiful Hotel, perfectly located just off the motorway, & the 1st hotel on the boarder of England & Scotland.
It is idealy located for everything, including the wonderful outlet village.

Hotel is very friendly & welcoming, with beautifully manicured grounds, & super large rooms with amazing 4 poster beds, & enormous 2 person baths, in the Bridal suites.

Banqueting food is amazing, & so much of it! ... nothing is too much trouble, & as wedding planners, we would highly recommend this to our couples! .. We have been here several times. :)

Room Tip: Pick a Bridal Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolAnn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Went to this hotel for my best friends wedding and only found a couple of items not happy with = gardens beautiful = rooms very comfortable=== staff very helpful === food very good could not fault it.

The food at the wedding breakfast was to die for --- amazing --- staff was very attentive at all times.

Only fault I could find was time of breakfast 07.30 till 09.00 on a weekend is somewhat early==

There was only one thing I can complain about === no really good mirror to make up and do your hair in------- requested the be light replaced in the bathroom which would have been ideal --- even after asking twice and being told it would be done === we still left two days later and the situation was not sorted.

If you want a small venue for an intimate wedding then this would be the ideal place to hold it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyjaneSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had our wedding reception here 21st September 2013 and we couldnt fault it...food, rooms, service etc everything was brilliant.... big thanks to Claire and Laura, and all the other staff who helped make our weekend very special

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STELLA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had our wedding reception here 28/9/13
When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely lady that took our centrepieces/name places etc and told us not to worry it would all be sorted out for us. We stayed in the Adam and Eve suite which was a huge room with four poster bed and a large jacuzzi bath it was spotlessly clean.
The reception was wonderful the tables were laid beautifully and the food was amazing all our guests remarked how good the food was and how full they were. We moved into the bar and had a great time with no rush to leave. We would highly recommend the Gretna Chase.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janpart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
1.0 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
891 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gretna Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gretna Chase Hotel

Property: The Gretna Chase Hotel
Address: Gretna Chase Hotel Sark Bridge, Gretna DG16 5JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gretna Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Scottish / English border, Gretna Green is world famous for its runaway marriages and in the mid nineteenth century there was much rivalry between the various marriage house proprietors ... The Gretna Chase Hotel was built by John Murray, an extremely successful businessman in the marriage trade, and tenant of Allison's toll-bar. Completed in 1856, Murray built the hotel opposite the toll-bar. It proved very popular with clients, being the first in the area to offer stabling for horses. Today, The Gretna Chase Hotel offers modern amenities, but retains much of its original character. All bedrooms have pleasant views of the surrounding countryside, and public rooms are furnished in a style in-keeping with the age of the hotel. Fully licensed, privately owned and completely supervised by the owners, this small but extremely comfortable hotel offers the discerning guest a carefree informality away from city pressures. We would be delighted to show you around the hotel by appointment , to highlight all the facilities we have to offer and discuss your personal requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gretna Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing