We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Beautiful Hotel, perfectly located just off the motorway, & the 1st hotel on the boarder of England & Scotland.
It is idealy located for everything, including the wonderful outlet village.

Hotel is very friendly & welcoming, with beautifully manicured grounds, & super large rooms with amazing 4 poster beds, & enormous 2 person baths, in the Bridal suites.

Banqueting food is amazing, & so much of it! ... nothing is too much trouble, & as wedding planners, we would highly recommend this to our couples! .. We have been here several times. :)

Room Tip: Pick a Bridal Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolAnn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    56
    7
    5
    9
See reviews for
89
90
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Went to this hotel for my best friends wedding and only found a couple of items not happy with = gardens beautiful = rooms very comfortable=== staff very helpful === food very good could not fault it.

The food at the wedding breakfast was to die for --- amazing --- staff was very attentive at all times.

Only fault I could find was time of breakfast 07.30 till 09.00 on a weekend is somewhat early==

There was only one thing I can complain about === no really good mirror to make up and do your hair in------- requested the be light replaced in the bathroom which would have been ideal --- even after asking twice and being told it would be done === we still left two days later and the situation was not sorted.

If you want a small venue for an intimate wedding then this would be the ideal place to hold it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyjaneSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had our wedding reception here 21st September 2013 and we couldnt fault it...food, rooms, service etc everything was brilliant.... big thanks to Claire and Laura, and all the other staff who helped make our weekend very special

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STELLA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had our wedding reception here 28/9/13
When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely lady that took our centrepieces/name places etc and told us not to worry it would all be sorted out for us. We stayed in the Adam and Eve suite which was a huge room with four poster bed and a large jacuzzi bath it was spotlessly clean.
The reception was wonderful the tables were laid beautifully and the food was amazing all our guests remarked how good the food was and how full they were. We moved into the bar and had a great time with no rush to leave. We would highly recommend the Gretna Chase.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janpart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My stepson had his wedding reception here, The hotel sits in stunning and well kept gardens and is also easy to find being just off the motorway. The rooms were spacious and clean, although it was supposedly a non smoking room, it did actually smell of cigarette smoke, however that was the only negative though. We found the staff to be polite and the meal at the reception was tasty, hot and well served.

Room Tip: We upgraded and had a bigger room on the front overlooking the lovely ornamental gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scousechic100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uddingston, Glasgow. UK.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stopped for some retail therapy on the way home from Blackpool and cane to this hotel for lunch before heading back to Glasgow.

The choice of food at lunch time was great. We all enjoyed it (children's pizza, toastie, chilli, fish and chips).

A wee bit overpriced but we all enjoyed what we had in clean surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s4mmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna/ Carlisle
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Anyone who likes steak should definately travel from a far for this one! It is utterly delicious cooked to your liking and served on a hot slate, with a bucket of chips to share and i always order the veg and home-made coleslaw as both are to die for! Amazing! Good warm service also, they work very hard. Best steak ive ever had not just for weddings!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjcole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
1.0 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
941 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gretna Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gretna Chase Hotel

Property: The Gretna Chase Hotel
Address: Gretna Chase Hotel Sark Bridge, Gretna DG16 5JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gretna Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Scottish / English border, Gretna Green is world famous for its runaway marriages and in the mid nineteenth century there was much rivalry between the various marriage house proprietors ... The Gretna Chase Hotel was built by John Murray, an extremely successful businessman in the marriage trade, and tenant of Allison's toll-bar. Completed in 1856, Murray built the hotel opposite the toll-bar. It proved very popular with clients, being the first in the area to offer stabling for horses. Today, The Gretna Chase Hotel offers modern amenities, but retains much of its original character. All bedrooms have pleasant views of the surrounding countryside, and public rooms are furnished in a style in-keeping with the age of the hotel. Fully licensed, privately owned and completely supervised by the owners, this small but extremely comfortable hotel offers the discerning guest a carefree informality away from city pressures. We would be delighted to show you around the hotel by appointment , to highlight all the facilities we have to offer and discuss your personal requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Gretna Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing