We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, could not do enough for us and our wedding guests”
Review of The Gables Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gables Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in December for our wedding. We also had 19 guests also staying at the hotel. From the moment we checked in, nothing was too much trouble. All staff were helpful, friendly and made us feel that our wedding was special for them as well as us. We stayed in the Ailsa Suite for 2 nights - which was fantastic - loved the bath! All food was excellent and the Garden Room, where we had our wedding breakfast looked decorated beautifully. We know our guests enjoyed their stay as much as we did as there is talk of many of them visiting again - and we definately will be.Thanks to everyone for making our wedding so special.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuBo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 931 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2010

First night evening meal booked for 8pm for 8 adults & 2 children. At 10.15 we still hadn't had dessert or been offered coffee. Children past it, upset and carted off to bed. Meals weren't that good either. Manager not very curtious or concerned when we complained but after speaking to the chef he came back with a better attitude and offered suitable compensation, which we accepted. The day of my brothers wedding arrived and we all were concerned that the day would be spoilt if the meal was like the night before. The waitress at breakfast time asked if everything was ok the night before and we told her our story, she was very concerned that we had had a poor experience and apologised and said she would make sure the wedding day went off well. We gave the reception staff some wedding decorations for the room and off we went to the wedding. When we arrived back, they had put us in a small private dining room, the room looked lovely, the service was excellent and the food fantastic. This totally made up for the night before. Check rates before you go though as some of our party went through booking agents and paid double to what I paid!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaKayKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Spent 2 nights at The Gables paying £70 internet rate which is an excellent price. First night the room we were allocated was subject to noise from the kitchens below apparently it was the the fridges and freezers but it was a constant noise like a generator and prevented much sleep. The following morning I went to Reception and mentioned it to see if we could be allocated another room and blow me they gave us what must have been the best room in the hotel. 4 poster, Jacuzzi, bath robes etc., absolutely brilliant. The staff were excellent as was the service. The hotel dining room was heaving at breakfast on Sunday but even though they were short staffed the coped majestically. One of the best hotels I have stayed at and we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

My husband and I married at the Mill Forge 29/12/09 and we had our wedding reception and accommodation booked at the Gables. We stayed in The Ailsa suite for three nights, it was everything we could have hoped for, after taking a gamble and booking everything on line, we were not disappointed.

Around 16 of the rooms were also booked out to our wedding guests and everyone seemed to agree that the hotel was lovely and the staff very helpful and approachable. The food both in the bar and the buffet on the day of the weddiing were 'spot on' . There was one hiccup on the day before the wedding when we booked in for the bar meal along with other family members. There was a staff shortage problem due to illness and things were very hectic in the kitchen, we waited almost an hour for our meal and some of our family waited almost an hour and a half, the staff were most apologetic, and our family were compensated for their wait (unfortunately we weren't, but nevermind it was just a minor unavoidable glitch!).

It was a thoroughly pleasureable stay and our wedding guests agreed, we hope to visit again for our 1st wedding anniversary, and we would thoroughly reccommend this hotel to anyone, but especially those wishing to marry in Gretna!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumandfinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We came up for my son’s wedding who we booked in the Bridal Suite for 2 nights, along with 6 other guests and their families. Everyone enjoyed it and gave it a 100% recommendation. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and the breakfasts were excellent. Superb food and piping hot. Rooms clean, quiet and comfortable. A huge advantage was that we had a ‘noisy party’ along with another group, and did not have to worry about disturbing anyone as bar is so remote from bedrooms. Would look forward to returning again and fantastic value for money. Well done to all staff and thank you. Mr & Mrs White (senior)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrrMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

i got married in gretna in november and we stayed in Gables for the weekend. there was six of us staying for the weekend. we had dinner the day of the wedding in the restaurant and it was fab and service was very good. we then went into the bar and stayed there til the early hours. staff were very friendly and rooms were very comfortable. i would recommend for a small wedding party.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GretnaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

We stayed here for four nights whilst we were up in the area booking our wedding. We arrived in awful weather to a lovely welcome, in fact every single member of staff was friendly and extremely helpful.
We booked a standard double which suited our needs perfectly. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean and cleaned and replenished every morning as if by magic! The food was really great quality and the portion sizes thoroughly filled us up. The prices were also very good for the food we had.
We had a show round with the view to booking a number of rooms in Sept next year and the other rooms we saw were all of a high quality, especially the bridal suites. This hotel boasts a number of function rooms to suit all sorts of events. The wedding co-ordinator was a huge wealth of knowledge and we felt that she, and in fact everyone, couldn't do enough to make us feel like us and our wedding guests would be well looked after.
Please do not be put off by the negative reviews on this site, this hotel really is a gem and if it is a warm, welcoming stay that makes you leave feeling thoroughly looked after and rested, this is your hotel. Ok, some areas are a little dated, but in-keeping with the area and atmosphere of the place. The hospitality is so great that you don't even notice.
I hope The Gables keeps up the good work and my partner and I cant wait to go back in the new year! xxx

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theherberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managergables, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2009

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Gables Hotel, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our customer service and I am very happy that you found everything enjoyable. I will also pass on your kind comments to the team at the Gables.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.6 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#1 of 5 in Gretna
495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.5 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Address: 1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range: $70 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables is an independent, family owned hotel in the heart of Gretna. This beautiful, grade-II listed Property is steeped in history and has become one of the leading wedding venue hotels in Gretna.From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are assured of a warm, friendly atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble.The Hotels restaurant has earned a reputation for fine, traditional Scottish food, offering the ideal setting to enjoy a relaxing meal with friends and family, boasting a full & varied A La Carte menu complemented by a carefully selected wine list. For those who prefer a less formal setting, our cosy lounge bar offers delicious home cooked bar meals including many traditional favourites. Offering Free Wi-Fi and ample free onsite parking, The Gables Hotel is conveniently situated only a mile from the M(A)74, M6 & A75 giving easy access to Glasgow, Dumfries & Carlisle. Perfect for exploring the colourful heritage of Gretna Green and designer shopping at The Gretna Gateway Outlet village is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Gretna Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing