We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of The Gables Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gables Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

From entering to leaving the hotel it was beautiful. Staff were so excellent and friendly. Evening
Meal and breakfast were again lovely. Going to Gretna, passing Gretna, this is a must stay. Can't wait until next time....

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian B, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

You know you are right; The Gables Hotel is ideally placed if you are travelling up or down the M6, if you are leaving Scotland and entering England or visa versa. Or in your case travelling from Wales. What a journey! We are a great place to stop for lunch and to stay overnight before carry on with your travels. With Gretna Outlet Village and fabulous places to visit within 1 hours drive The Gables Hotel is the place to stay.
Looking forward to you staying with us again soon ……. Take care. Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 931 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

Booked after reading previous reviews and was not disappointed. Friendly, warm and inviting. Dinner was lovely, particularly the sea bass and scallops, and so was the breakfast. Would highly recommend. Was surprised it wasn't busier given its location and standard of food/accommodation. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ElleJay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian B, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for your review. It is always useful to read previous reviews when deciding on where to stay and we are so pleased that you selected us. I know that I am biased but I too love the sea bass and scallops. Both of which are locally sourced. Aren’t our breakfasts brilliant, really good to set you up for the day. Take care and we hope to see you again. Always give us a ring so that we can make sure we can best meet your needs. Regards Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

we were on holiday in Scotland and had a lovely time looking around gretna green, stopped for sunday lunch we were taken to our table by a young waitress who was rather rude and acted as we were a inconvenience to her, we ordered of the set menu, one mussels and two goat cheese starters one lamb and two veggi main courses ,we waited fifty minutes for the starters for the mussels to be bland did not come with the bread as stated the goats cheese was not warm or grilled it was fridge temperature and the salad was rotten then we waited another 25 minutes trying to get someone attention in the end we waited at the bar to complain but had to wait our turn as their were other people also complaining, the restaurant was not busy only 12 people including us. it was embarrassing having to watch another family complaining and listening to the waitress arguing with the customer in front of other customers and the manageress, the manageress did reluctantly refund our money and took the goat cheese starter to show the kitchen and she agreed that the salad should have been thrown away days ago, she said their was just a young lad in the kitchen as the head chef was off still no excuse if he was not able to cook they should of closed the kitchen will never return

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
7  Thank paul_bycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian B, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Mr Bycroft
Thank you for your review and for giving us the opportunity to respond to your comments. I am sorry that you had such an experience in our Hotel. I have been told that the waitress you mentioned to be rude and arguing with customers you actually held her hand and told her that she was ok. I also understand that having received your starter you complained about the food and our reception manager dealt with your complaint in a quiet and understanding way and that you accepted the solution offered. So I must admit that I am a little concerned about the validity of some of your comments. We have of course reviewed them and discussed them with relevant staff, to ensure we get an objective view of what actually happened. We do take seriously the views of our guests and we do change our approach and offerings where appropriate.
You may be interested to note that the ‘rude’, augmentative waitress was in floods of tears after you left. So maybe you too achieved something in your approach to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed one night with Classic Britain deal £38 per person bed,breakfast and evening meal cocktail included also late checkout.
Food was outstanding. Staff all very accommodating, pleasant and helpful.
Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian B, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for your review. So pleased that you found our food to be outstanding. Come back soon!!! Take care Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was excellent value, £38pppn DBB & Cocktail (booked through Classic Britain) hotel, food (three course evening meal and breakfast) and staff were all excellent, ideal location for touring either north England or South Scotland

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan65th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian B, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hi
Thank you for your review. Yes we do have some great deals, it is always a good idea to give us a ring so that we can see what you are looking for. As you say we are well positioned for touring around, it is amazing what you can see within 1 hours drive of our hotel. Thank you for your comments about our staff. It means a lot to them. Cheers Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

stayed one night on our way to the lakes for £51 B&B great value we also had a meal that night it was also good value we both enjoyed the dinner and the breakfast staff also good room was spotless and comfortable and quiet there was a wedding on that night but never heard a thing also walking distance to Grena outlet

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDY N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian B, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

What a great idea to stay with us before travelling onto the Lakes. Did you know that we have a B & B in Windermere too, Ellerthwaite Lodge, so make sure you give us a call the next time you are in the Lake District. So pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found us to be comfortable, quiet and that you had great food for dinner and breakfast. Take care Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stopped by chance at this hotel the other night for a meal, the hotel offers both a bar and restaurant menu, we opted for the bar menu as it had slightly more choice and suited what we were looking for.
the surroundings were very nice and well maintained and the gentleman who looked after us did a great job, very attentive.
food was very well presented and tasted great, overall great value and nice surroundings, much better than most other hotels we have eaten or stopped at in Gretna.

Room Tip: we did not stay over but if the rooms are presented and maintained like the public areas then I am s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian B, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear John
Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you thought our food tasted great, that it was well presented and that you found it to be of great value. We hope that you come a stay longer with us the next time you are in Gretna. Regards Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.6 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.5 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Address: 1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range: $70 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables is an independent, family owned hotel in the heart of Gretna. This beautiful, grade-II listed Property is steeped in history and has become one of the leading wedding venue hotels in Gretna.From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are assured of a warm, friendly atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble.The Hotels restaurant has earned a reputation for fine, traditional Scottish food, offering the ideal setting to enjoy a relaxing meal with friends and family, boasting a full & varied A La Carte menu complemented by a carefully selected wine list. For those who prefer a less formal setting, our cosy lounge bar offers delicious home cooked bar meals including many traditional favourites. Offering Free Wi-Fi and ample free onsite parking, The Gables Hotel is conveniently situated only a mile from the M(A)74, M6 & A75 giving easy access to Glasgow, Dumfries & Carlisle. Perfect for exploring the colourful heritage of Gretna Green and designer shopping at The Gretna Gateway Outlet village is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Gretna Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing