We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,002)
Filter reviews
1,003 results
Traveler rating
620
218
99
47
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
620
218
99
47
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsailsa suitegarden roomwedding receptionbridal suitelovely hotelanvil hallfour posterevery member of stafffirst classdb bjacuzzi bathfull scottish breakfastlounge barwedding mealbride and groombed and breakfastwedding guests
Filter
Updating list...
647 - 652 of 1,003 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2014

we were on holiday in Scotland and had a lovely time looking around gretna green, stopped for sunday lunch we were taken to our table by a young waitress who was rather rude and acted as we were a inconvenience to her, we ordered of the set menu, one mussels and two goat cheese starters one lamb and two veggi main courses ,we waited fifty minutes for the starters for the mussels to be bland did not come with the bread as stated the goats cheese was not warm or grilled it was fridge temperature and the salad was rotten then we waited another 25 minutes trying to get someone attention in the end we waited at the bar to complain but had to wait our turn as their were other people also complaining, the restaurant was not busy only 12 people including us. it was embarrassing having to watch another family complaining and listening to the waitress arguing with the customer in front of other customers and the manageress, the manageress did reluctantly refund our money and took the goat cheese starter to show the kitchen and she agreed that the salad should have been thrown away days ago, she said their was just a young lad in the kitchen as the head chef was off still no excuse if he was not able to cook they should of closed the kitchen will never return

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
7  Thank paul_bycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian B, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Mr Bycroft
Thank you for your review and for giving us the opportunity to respond to your comments. I am sorry that you had such an experience in our Hotel. I have been told that the waitress you mentioned to be rude and arguing with customers you actually held her hand and told her that she was ok. I also understand that having received your starter you complained about the food and our reception manager dealt with your complaint in a quiet and understanding way and that you accepted the solution offered. So I must admit that I am a little concerned about the validity of some of your comments. We have of course reviewed them and discussed them with relevant staff, to ensure we get an objective view of what actually happened. We do take seriously the views of our guests and we do change our approach and offerings where appropriate.
You may be interested to note that the ‘rude’, augmentative waitress was in floods of tears after you left. So maybe you too achieved something in your approach to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed one night with Classic Britain deal £38 per person bed,breakfast and evening meal cocktail included also late checkout.
Food was outstanding. Staff all very accommodating, pleasant and helpful.
Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian B, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for your review. So pleased that you found our food to be outstanding. Come back soon!!! Take care Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was excellent value, £38pppn DBB & Cocktail (booked through Classic Britain) hotel, food (three course evening meal and breakfast) and staff were all excellent, ideal location for touring either north England or South Scotland

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan65th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian B, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hi
Thank you for your review. Yes we do have some great deals, it is always a good idea to give us a ring so that we can see what you are looking for. As you say we are well positioned for touring around, it is amazing what you can see within 1 hours drive of our hotel. Thank you for your comments about our staff. It means a lot to them. Cheers Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

stayed one night on our way to the lakes for £51 B&B great value we also had a meal that night it was also good value we both enjoyed the dinner and the breakfast staff also good room was spotless and comfortable and quiet there was a wedding on that night but never heard a thing also walking distance to Grena outlet

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian B, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

What a great idea to stay with us before travelling onto the Lakes. Did you know that we have a B & B in Windermere too, Ellerthwaite Lodge, so make sure you give us a call the next time you are in the Lake District. So pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found us to be comfortable, quiet and that you had great food for dinner and breakfast. Take care Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stopped by chance at this hotel the other night for a meal, the hotel offers both a bar and restaurant menu, we opted for the bar menu as it had slightly more choice and suited what we were looking for.
the surroundings were very nice and well maintained and the gentleman who looked after us did a great job, very attentive.
food was very well presented and tasted great, overall great value and nice surroundings, much better than most other hotels we have eaten or stopped at in Gretna.

Room Tip: we did not stay over but if the rooms are presented and maintained like the public areas then I am sure the will be very nice
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian B, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear John
Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you thought our food tasted great, that it was well presented and that you found it to be of great value. We hope that you come a stay longer with us the next time you are in Gretna. Regards Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews