We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,004)
Filter reviews
1,005 results
Traveler rating
621
219
99
47
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
621
219
99
47
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsailsa suitegarden roomwedding receptionbridal suitelovely hotelanvil hallfour posterevery member of stafffirst classdb bjacuzzi bathfull scottish breakfastlounge barwedding mealbride and groombed and breakfastwedding guests
Filter
Updating list...
655 - 660 of 1,005 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Searched for a hotel from Castle Douglas to Gretna, they were overpriced or shabby that is until we found the Gables. Nice welcome from Aimee, and a good price (well it was a Sunday Night and not a lot going on). We ate in the Bar, good food, excellent attentive service and reasonable prices. We had to leave early the next morning and breakfast was ready at 07.00 which was half an hour ahead of the stated time. Room was sparkling and had everything, nice and quiet and a good nights sleep. Plenty of safe parking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliewhoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Hi
Many thanks for your review ,
Lovely to read that you had a nice welcome and enjoyed your visit.

JAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed as part of a wedding party. The welcome was lovely and extremely friendly. The entrance to hotel is clean and well set out.

The normal double rooms are quite basic and more like a small B&B standard. The furniture is old fashioned pine and the beds aren't the most comfortable. Bedding also needs to be replaced as duvet and pillows were very thin. The rooms really should be priced around £70 and no more. The rooms are very clean and functional.

The rest of the hotel is very clean and again well set out. The garden and surrounding seating area are well set out. The outside needs more seats to accommodate the number of guests at the hotel.

Breakfast was prompt and very good.

Staff very polite and smart.

I wouldn't stay at hotel again but only due to high cost of bedroom but all in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsonn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Hi

Thanks for your comments in which we have taken on board, overall thank you for a pleasant review.

Kind Regards
JAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at The Gables for two nights and held our wedding reception there and couldn't have picked a better hotel.
The staff were friendly, professional and really helped our wedding day go off without a hitch. The Dovetail suite was just the right size for our small party of 10 and we were so glad we didn't go elsewhere.
Just one thing, although it didn't affect us, be aware that the function rooms are quite close together, so check if there are any other weddings on the same day and what time.
But all in all, a fantastic hotel and staff, whom we can't thank enough for all of the effort they put in.

Dave & Lisa

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Hi
Thank you very much for your review , we are all pleased that you had a perfect wedding.
Hopefully see you again

Many Thanks
JAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This was the first time I had been in the gables and I must say from the outside it looks impressive, but unless you are there for a formal occasion its ok but not amazing. Went there for a meal and was expecting to be blown away with the food and table etc... to find we were sat on plain wooden (very plain) tables right by the door. Staff not exactly looking like they wanted you there, when served service was ok and food disappointing. Ordered this vegetable tempura after my first choice wasn't available, to find it was mainly blooming peppers, one mushroom maybe a piece of broccoli as well. Oh and no sweet chilli sauce, of course I wasn't even told this till after it arrived and got this almost sloppy sauce instead which tasted horrid. Main meal was ok, I expect if you asked there is a more formal, fancy area which we were kept away from. Haven't gone back yet so it might have changed by now but just don't have too high expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review ,Since your last visit the bar menu has changed twice, and we also have a new chef, The bar area in which you dined was recently refurbished with hand made wood bespoke table and chairs , We hope you will dine with us again to sample our new bistro menu , or if you prefer more formal surroundings please reserve a table for our table d hote restaurant.

Kind regards
JAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely night at the Gables hotel. Staff were very helpful. We had a really tasty dinner and lovely big family lunch the following day.?The room was very clean and fresh. There was a huge fancy bath tub in our room too.

Will definitely go again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Joboydie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Hi

Great to read a lovely review, Hopefully see you again on a repeat visit.

Many thanks
JAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews