We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gables hotel give it a try”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gables Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gables Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“gables hotel give it a try”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have stayed here twice first in april 2013 and oct 2013 the first time I had a great experience with a lovely room clean and tidy however the second time wasn't as good.
I was on the bottom floor the room wasn't as nice but I didn't mind too much the main problem was the state of the room there were lots of bits on the carpet and the bed hadn't been made.
There was a bunk bed I could have slept in but decided not to also the mirror was covered in marks I have previously worked at dury's inn and the staff there would have been fired.
If they would have left a room in that state also knocked on the door really early around breakfast time asked if they could come in I said five minutes and they still tried to come in.
when I was on the toilet wasn't very happy I can't fault the restaurant as the bar & restaurant staff are really nice and welcoming nothing is too much trouble.
food is lovely and worth the money the cooked breakfast is very nice and pleased to say they do hash browns and vegetarian sausages which is good as I'm a vegetarian.
this is also a good location if you want to visit Scotland or Carlisle again only fault is housekeeping for not doing their job properly otherwise not a bad hotel.

Room Tip: go for the second floor as the rooms are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkle186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Sparkle186254.

This is an interesting review for us. We note that this stay refers to a stay in October 2013.

We are concerned about what you have stated; having made several enquiries we are left wondering! In regards to our Housekeeping staff, entering your room around breakfast time - we do not start cleaning rooms until after check out to give guests time to gather their belongings and leave the room, this also goes for our guests on stay overs too.
We have no record of anyone reporting a bed not being made during October 2013, so again are concerned that you did not report this. We accept that having guests staying in rooms that have not been fully serviced is not acceptable and we do check our rooms prior to check in. However slip ups do happen and when they do, we respond immediately if we are told.

We are pleased to read that you did enjoy your stay with us and that you found us welcoming and the food worth the money. We are very well placed to travel around the area with many things to do within an hours drive of the hotel.

Kindest regards
The Gables Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    181
    74
    38
    17
See reviews for
206
468
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights as we had our wedding in Gretna. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly , helpful and extremely welcoming. Throughout the whole our stay the staff were amazing , reception staff , bar staff , everybody. I was even helped in to my wedding dress by a lovely lady who worked there. Staff were always friendly, polite and couldn't do enough for us. The food at the gables was equally amazing , brilliant breakfast selection and lots to choose from. The evening meals were also lovely and cooked to perfection . The price of food and drinks were very good. Rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. could not fault the rooms in any way. The second night we stayed in an amazing room , four poster bed, champagne and a whirlpool bath.
I can not fault this place at all and will definitely return and recommend the gables to my friends and colleague's.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor . Both rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gretru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your time in writing lovely comments concerning the Hotel , and you had an amazing time, Hopefully see you again on your anniversary.

Kind regards
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just come back from having spent a lovely Burns weekend at the Gables excellent accomodation and staff could not have been more attentive looking forward to returning would certainly recommend 10 out 10.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your review ,It was great Burns weekend for all of us also at The Gables also , We are doing another next January 2015 and a St Andrews celebration in November. Details are on our website.

Kind Regards
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Because this was such a good price we were rather dubious about it but can honestly say it was amazing value for money - dinner, bed & breakfast for £63.00 for the two of us!!!!!!. The food was excellent and the staff we met (Ellie and her sister Fiona) were very friendly, efficient and couldn't do enough for us. We'd really rather keep this little gem a secret but for the sake of the hotel are prepared to share our find! We certainly hope to visit again and would strongly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManorNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
How pleasing to hear that you have not decided to keep us a secret , All of us At The Gables do try to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable stay, and I will pass on your kind words to Ellie & Fiona. Hopefully see you again on a repeat visit .Do check our website for exclusive offers & late deals
Kind Regards
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Clear signing made it easy to find the hotel as we drove through Gretna. We received a warm welcome into a comfortable bedroom with kingsize bed. All staff were relaxed and welcoming and very willing to cater for our every need. Both the three course dinner and the huge Scottish breakfast were cooked to perfection. An ideal place for a stopover if driving north /south or just to explore all the area has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennybargins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hi

Thank you for the time you have taken to post this review , your kind words have been passed on to the staff.

Kind regards
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and me chose this hotel based on the lovely reviews that our fellow trip adviser members took the time to write. We were staying for one night due to my daughters wedding being held in the famous blacksmiths shop on the 2nd January 2014. The Gables hotel is located near to wedding venue, yet not to close. We were met by Jan at reception whom made us most welcome and made signing in so easy and simple. We stayed in room 35 which is at the rear of the hotel in the newer part of the building over looking lovely countryside and very quiet part of the hotel which suited us perfectly. Our room was spotless just like all of the hotel was and very we'll equipped. The food was excellent and the breakfast was one of the best we have ever experienced, with so much to choose from. The staff were very smartly dressed, and pleased to offer any help or advise that we required. We liked the hotel that much that we stopped another night because it was so nice. The staff were all very helpful and but to name a few were Jan, Tom and James whom were outstanding and committed to their work and made our stay most pleasant and enjoyable. last but not least we asked to see the ailsa suite which is on the first floor, this suite was previous the managers flat with two bedrooms and is now totally converted into a lovely luxury suite, this is the top end price of the hotel but would be excellent for that special occasion. Finally the area where we stayed has a car park around the back which allows easy access to you car and plenty of parking also includes area on the mono block surface to park your car if you or guests are disabled which is a big bonus, this is not mentioned in the web site but worth mentioning here. Many thanks for a wonderfull experience and we would highly recommend this hotel as others have.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank arch0496a5lk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
How very pleasing to read your review and your lovely comments ,all of us at The Gables strive to make our guests welcome and comfortable and exceed their expectations .
Hopefully see you again on a repeat visit.

Kind Regards
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Royaume-uni
Level Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for my daughter's wedding. Right from the start the staff on reception were welcoming and very friendly. We stayed for 2 nights and the breakfast consisted of a good choice of cereals, toast, pastries and croissants, with the accompanying preserves. The evening meals were very good indeed, served on hot plates also. The wine list covered all the popular choices.
The only problem we had (possibly because we were on the 1st floor in the original building) was the water pressure, or lack of it, for the shower. They did look at it and improved it marginally, and offered a choice of another room. There is a newer addition to the hotel which possibly has better water pressure.
But apart from that I would thoroughly recommend it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: As my review, possibly the newer section of the hotel would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tramontana44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi
Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay here at The Gables , and that you would recommend us., It is good to read that the staff on duty did try to rectify your niggle straightaway.

We all at The Gables wish you a Happy New Year
Kind Regards
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Property: The Gables Hotel
Address: 1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables is an independent, family owned hotel in the heart of Gretna. This beautiful, grade-II listed Property is steeped in history and has become one of the leading wedding venue hotels in Gretna.From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are assured of a warm, friendly atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble.The Hotels restaurant has earned a reputation for fine, traditional Scottish food, offering the ideal setting to enjoy a relaxing meal with friends and family, boasting a full & varied A La Carte menu complemented by a carefully selected wine list. For those who prefer a less formal setting, our cosy lounge bar offers delicious home cooked bar meals including many traditional favourites. Offering Free Wi-Fi and ample free onsite parking, The Gables Hotel is conveniently situated only a mile from the M(A)74, M6 & A75 giving easy access to Glasgow, Dumfries & Carlisle. Perfect for exploring the colourful heritage of Gretna Green and designer shopping at The Gretna Gateway Outlet village is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Gretna Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing