We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gil and susan's early night”
Review of The Gables Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gables Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
“gil and susan's early night”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

stayed overnight along with approx. 30-40 other family & friends for a wedding all having paid at least £117 per double room each. found the rooms to be adequate for an overnight stay.during the reception the staff were very helpful but the bar service was slow due to there only being one member of staff on duty.i was extremely dissapointed to find that the wedding celebrations had to stop at 11o'clock as the bar was closing. having stayed in many hotels from 3-5 star rating this is the only one that has not had a residents bar, while not spoiling the wedding itself it did put a damper on the latter part of the evening for the family who had travelled from various parts of the country and had been looking forward to catching up and extending the party,i was told by hotel staff the bar had to close then due to the local licensing laws but my sister and her husband were staying in another local hotel and were able along with other guests in that hotel to purchase alcohol beyond midnight. i would not recommend this hotel to groups or families who want to socialise beyond 11pm

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddieGil1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
With respect to your review In relation to your disappointment with the bar closing at 11.00pm we actually did extend our serving time longer than our normal operating hours to accommodate the wedding party .
The hotel respects all residents and we try to ensure we minimise noise disturbance late at night. Therefore we do not operate a 24 hour residents bar .With regards to other wedding guests staying elsewhere I am unable to comment on operating procedures of other establishments. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    187
    81
    41
    18
See reviews for
215
486
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Spent 2 evenings an this hotel and can't fault it. The staff are really nice and very efficient.

We ate in the bar on our first night and the portion sizes were very generous and food quality was of a high standard.

Freshly cooked breakfast with plenty of choice, and nice strong coffee.

Would highly recommend if looking for an inexpensive break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar0nD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest, Thankyou for taking the time to post this kind review following your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and thankyou for recommending us to others. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future, Kindest Regards Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We visited the Gables last year when looking for our wedding venue, we arrived a bit early (6.30 am) from London but they were more than happy to show us around, we decided then it was the place for us. We stayed a few weeks later to try our wedding meal and the accommodation, the meal was perfect, I have eaten in a few 5 star hotels/restaurants and this food was of the same standard, we were even told when asking for the bill that it was on the house. Our wedding was on 4th May 2013 and again the staff could not be more helpful, they looked after all of our guests needs and were more than happy to help out the children as well, not one of our guests had a bad word to say about their time there,They all loved the rooms, attention off the staff, the wedding venue and the wedding meal, they also loved the breakfast next day. We cannot thank the Gables and one stop wedding (Gretna) enough for making our day run smoothly and perfectly, I salute the staff and am looking forward to returning next year for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Try the Ailsa sweet, its an experience you will not forget
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Peter & Charlotte, Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review and for your kind comments in relation to the hotel, food & staff. It was a pleasure to host your wedding here at the hotel and we are so pleased that you have taken away fond memories of your special day. We look forward to welcoming you back for your Anniversary. Kindest Regards Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at The Gables with my husband as we had planned our wedding reception with them. We also had many family and friends stay for the weekend too. I can honestly say that it is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The room, food, cleanliness were all perfect but the staff team made it outstanding. So welcoming, where nothing was too much trouble. I felt we were leaving family behind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy_S204_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Mandy, Thank you so much for this lovely review following your recent stay. I am so pleased to read that you had a wonderful time with us. It is a huge boost to our team when we receive such positive feedback and I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff. We hope you will come & visit us again soon, Kindest Regards Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for our Grand-Daughters wedding 26th&27th April. On arrival at reception we informed we had to pay the bill in advance,this is not what is printed in the terms & conditions on the reverse of the letter of confirmation recieved when booking. It is the first time I have ever had to do this & I have stayed in many 3,4&5 STAR hotels all over. Having paid under protest (which the receptionist ignored) we went to our room, it was small to say the least,there was wallpaper coming off one wall a large damp patch on the ceiling and the floorboards while covered by carpet were very uneven & loose in places.
Overall a most unsatisfactory stay, how this hotel ever recieved 3 star rating from The Scottish Tourist Board & A.A. I WILL NEVER KNOW. I filled in a Comments Card prior to leaving and as yet I have not a response from the management. OBVIOUSLY I COULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE.

Room Tip: ground floor if you must(no lift)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear will d,

Thank you for your recent review regards your stay with us at the Gables Hotel. I notice in your review that you pointed out that you were asked to pay for your accommodation on check in at the hotel. In the letter of confirmation that was sent to you on 18th May 2012, it does state on the front of the letter, check in times and that full payment for the accommodation is due upon arrival at the hotel.
We have taken your comments raised regarding the room that you were allocated. I would like you to be aware that all of these points have now been rectified.
All of our customer comment cards are collected and discussed in head of department meetings, reviewed and responded to accordingly. On this occasion due to levels of business over the past few days, our response has been delayed, please accept our apologies for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We came up to book our wedding next year. The first thing we noticed was the smell of decay which worsened into tobacco, obviously from the leather seats. On asking a gentleman at reception if we could be shown round he replied the lady responsible wouldn't be in for 40 mins. He did suggest the admin could maybe show us round but they wouldn't be able to answer any questions. He then returned to cleaning the bar. Having driven all the way from Derby that day to book our hotel, this attitude did not go down well. Needless to say we have now booked with another hotel as will all our guests. We would definitely not recommend an hotel that has lost several thousands of pounds in bussinees down to poor staff training.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank invisiblehelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Invisiblehelper,

Thank you for your recent review, It is unfortunate that having planned such a long journry to visit Gretna, that you didn't think of arranging an appointment with the hotel prior to leaving.
We would have been more than happy to oblige a meeting, and could have rearranged a wedding co-ordinators shift pattern to accommodate you.
On the day of your visit you were offered a showround, it was however explained that there may have been one or two questions regards pricing, that that member of staff may not have been able to answer. Due to what appeared to be a tight schedule, it was unfortunate that the receptionist on duty, wasn't given the opportunity to explain any further.
We are however pleased that you have found a venue in Gretna, and wish you all of the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights 23rd/24th April 2013 to be witness at our friends wedding in Gretna Green. The hotel staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Really going the extra mile, nothing was too much trouble. The receptionist went to great lengths not just to get us a car at short notice but a fabulous white Rolls Royce for the big day ! Making sure even the smallest request or detail was not missed or forgotten.
It is a beautiful hotel with lovely well kept gardens and more than ample parking. Ours was a large double bedroom with en-suite bathroom which was of a high modern standard. The A La Carte restaurant was well worth a visit too. All in all it was a pleasure to stay and would happily book to stay again.
If I had to find a fault it would be that even though there were large ample mirrors in each room, they could have been better for ladies doing their make-up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taboo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thankyou so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, we really appreciate your kind comments regarding the staff & food. I will be sure to pass your kind comments onto the rest of the team. We hope you will come back and visit us again in the future, Kindest Regards Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
416 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Property: The Gables Hotel
Address: 1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables is an independent, family owned hotel in the heart of Gretna. This beautiful, grade-II listed Property is steeped in history and has become one of the leading wedding venue hotels in Gretna.From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are assured of a warm, friendly atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble.The Hotels restaurant has earned a reputation for fine, traditional Scottish food, offering the ideal setting to enjoy a relaxing meal with friends and family, boasting a full & varied A La Carte menu complemented by a carefully selected wine list. For those who prefer a less formal setting, our cosy lounge bar offers delicious home cooked bar meals including many traditional favourites. Offering Free Wi-Fi and ample free onsite parking, The Gables Hotel is conveniently situated only a mile from the M(A)74, M6 & A75 giving easy access to Glasgow, Dumfries & Carlisle. Perfect for exploring the colourful heritage of Gretna Green and designer shopping at The Gretna Gateway Outlet village is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Gretna Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing