We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,004)
Filter reviews
1,004 results
Traveler rating
621
218
99
47
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
621
218
99
47
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsailsa suitegarden roomwedding receptionbridal suitelovely hotelanvil hallfour posterevery member of stafffirst classdb bjacuzzi bathfull scottish breakfastlounge barwedding mealbride and groombed and breakfastwedding guests
Filter
Updating list...
803 - 808 of 1,004 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Visited this hotel in August 2012.
Could not find any faults anywhere, rooms spacious clean and bright. All public areas up to high standard. Staff very helpful and polite. Breakfast the next day was just what the doctor ordered after enjoying one (or two) too many drinks the previous night at a wedding reception nearby!
Well done gables....keep up the good work!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lollipops24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Many thanks for your lovely review on tripadvisor. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and the food and service and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the The Gables Hotel in the future. Kindest Regards Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Have just returned from an excellent weekend at the Gables Hotel Myself and 12 others had a great weekend. The staff are excellent,, the rooms were very comfortable and food was very good. Would certainly recommend this hotel to others and are already thinking about when we can come back again - Great value for money !!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186534Phil19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thankyou for your kind comments following your weekend break at The Gables. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay & our Scottish themed evening. We are holding a similar event in January to celebrate Burns Night arriving on Friday 25th January 2013 for 2 Nights and we would love to see you again.

Kind Regards Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have just returned from The Gables Hotel. Myself and my wedding party (we were a small group - six in total) stayed there for three days. We organised our stay through The Wedding Bureau and I can categorically state that the entire event went off perfectly from start to finish. We had booked into the Ailsa Suite and also booked two double rooms for our guests. We were pleasantly suprised on arrival when we were told that our guests had been upgraded to four poster rooms! Our room was beautiful - just beautiful. It was spacious and tastefully decorated. The double jacuzzi bath was spectacular and the complimentary champagne in our room was a lovely touch. We also ate all our meals at the hotel and we collectively found the food to be excellent and the prices were extremely reasonable. We had a vegetarian in our party and she was well catered for. The wedding meal itself was held in the Dovetail Suite - it was perfect. Seriously, all the staff at the Gables were polite and helpful and we felt entirely at ease. Nothing was ever too much trouble and it made our wedding perfect. A special thank you to Jane on reception and wedding co-ordinators Carol and Joanne for being absolute diamonds - you guys are amazing. Thank you!

Room Tip: The Ailsa Suite is amazing if you feel inclined to spoil yourself. We also had a good look at the four poster rooms and they were also beautiful.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Cassandra & Andrew, Thank you for this fantastic review and complimenting our hotel and staff the way you have. It was a pleasure to look after you and your guests, and I am delighted your wedding day was everything you hoped for. Thankyou for recommending us so highly and for your very kind comments.

We wish you health & happiness in your future together as husband and wife and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards, Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

When travelling down south from Forfar, we always stop in at Gretna Green for some lunch, this time we ended up following the road and taking a turn off and came across this fantastic hotel. The food was amazing and we now always make that stop at The Gables for our lunch on route. How ever, we were travelling with friends last time and there was 2 cars and we made sure we made the turn off into Gretna but car number 2 failed......i was not a happy passenger the rest of the journey. We will be in on our next trip down south, cant wait! Staff very friendly and my little boy had a very decent sized portion for a kiddies meal...well done and see you soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for this wonderful review Amanda, It was a pleasure to read and I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal here with us. Sorry to hear that you had car trouble on your last journey, however we very much look forward to welcoming you back when you are next passing.

Kind Regards Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at The Gables Hotel for one night and we had a lovely stay. We recieved a very warm welcome from the reception staff and check in ran smooth. We stayed on a ground floor room, which was decorated lovely and had everything we needed! The bed was very comfy and the tv was good too!
Breakfast was excellent and my first try of Haggis, which was yummy! Loads of choice for breakfast.
We would definately stay again and recommend to anyone wishing to stay in Gretna!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for your taking the time to give us your feedback Katie, It is such a pleasure to read your fantastic review about our hotel & team. Also thank you for pointing out some of our great attributes of the hotel; a warm welcome, comfortable rooms and a yummy Scottish breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Gables in the future,

Kindest Regards, Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews