We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place, great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

What a lovely hotel right next to Gretna Green. Had a fabulous time here when my sister renewed her wedding vows and the owners were extremely welcoming and made you feel at home. Would definitely stay again :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genna409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodgedg16, Owner at Hunters Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us when celebrating your sister's renewal of vows.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
L&G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    39
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
37
59
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
South Ockendon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights for my Sisters wedding. The rest of the wedding party had booked into another hotel 15mins away but they couldn't accommodate our family of 5. This turned out to be a blessing as we ended up in a much better hotel.

From arrival to departure the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The lady on the front desk was extremely polite and couldn't do enough to help make our stay as pleasant as possible.

The room had an old looking double 4 poster with 2 singles and a small pull out for our son. The place is very rustic looking inside and out but to us that added to the appeal.

Breakfast both mornings was lovely and cooked fresh. The tea and toast kept coming until we'd had enough.

The room was great value for money considering other places in the area. We are looking to do a sight seeing trip later in the year and have decided that we are definitely going back to stay here for a night or two,

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodgedg16, Owner at Hunters Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
L&G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked a total of 7 rooms for the night befor our wedding ages of guest were from 86yrs to 1yr old. Staff were fantastic. We all had drinks in bar the night before wedding and breakfast in the morning. Food was lovely nothing was too much trouble for the staff maid every one of our party feel welcolme. Will be returning next year for our 1st wedding aniversary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEMMA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodgedg16, Owner at Hunters Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a complimentary review. It is great to read such wonderful comments about all the different aspects of your time in our care. We look forward to welcoming you for your first anniversary....
L&G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived and was greeted by Linda who made us both feel welcome and chat about our first time we stayed here 22 years ago when we got married. She then gave us a choice of rooms so we took the room with a four poster bed,a large room with tv nice on suit bathroom, bed was very comfy and rooms very nice. We booked an evening meal at the hotel and breakfast both where delicious.
Big thank you to Linda see you again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bern6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodgedg16, Owner at Hunters Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a complimentary review. It is always a great pleasure to see couples again who got married at the hotel. The hotel has remained in the same family for 27 years.... Look forward to seeing you both again in the future, and don't forget to bring your wedding photos next time...
L&G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Really good value lovely rooms and staff beautiful saroundings can't fault it, we really enjoyed our stay, would recommend to anyone who wants a good quality hotel and present staff in Gretna. Excellent

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lioncub56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodgedg16, Owner at Hunters Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a complimentary review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
L&G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Humberside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have stayed at Hunters Lodge Hotel twice now. Firstly for our wedding in September 2011 and in July 2013.

It is a lovely family run Hotel with a great level of service and accommodation to your needs, whether just for a couple or the hosting of a three course meal for a wedding party. The food and service at our wedding reception was second to none - would absolutely recommend! All of our guests were very impressed.

Rooms are lovely and very clean with everything you need provided - TV, drink facilities, hair dryer etc.

Linda and Gary who own and run the Hotel are friendly and really helpful with anything you need.

Will definitely stay here whenever we are in the area. Thanks very much. Simon and Suzi Warcup.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suziwarcup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodgedg16, Owner at Hunters Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Simon & Suzi,
Lovely to see you both again and catch up with you. Thanks also for bringing your wedding photos with you.
Thank you very much for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again.... It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive review, many thanks.
L&G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had a great trip..

Linda was great, nothing was too much trouble, arranged flowers etc for me..

We were celebrating our 20th anniversary (wedding in same hote in 1993)..

Highly recommend - rooms were all exceptionally clean and breakfast was fantastic..

Thanks Linda for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodgedg16, Owner at Hunters Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review.
It is always great to see anniversary couples again, and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Look forward to seeing you again but maybe before the next 20th anniversary??
L&G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.4 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Lodge Hotel

Property: Hunters Lodge Hotel
Address: Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hotel personally supervised by the proprietors. A modern listed building with full central heating, which is situated in the heart of Gretna and is also the nearest hotel to the world famous Registration Office. Closest hotel to the Anvil Hall Wedding Venue, and 5 minutes drive from the Blacksmiths. Weddings & private functions, large or small catered for. Spend a pleasant evening with us in the lounge bar. Hunters Lodge Hotel is an ideal base for a touring holiday, the Scottish Borders, Hadrian's Wall, the Lake District, and/or shopping at the Gretna Gateway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hunters Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing