We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here 9th and 10th may as my wedding was on the10th we had our reception meal at the hotel. The meal was lovely with 23 adults and 7 children not one complaint couldn't asked for anything better. Linda,Garry and Sophie the owners made us so welcome couldn't do enough for us. Our rooms were comfortable clean and spacious, the family room was excellent met all my daughters needs as their isn't many place that can accommodate 2 adults and four children and still have plenty of space. Big thank you to Linda, Garry and Sophie we will be back in the future

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flossfalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodgedg16, Owner at Hunters Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you very much for such a lovely review. Your comments are very much appreciated by us all. I am pleased that we all helped make your time here special and helped in making some great wedding memories.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Linda & Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 161 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

we stayed at hunters lodge for 2 nights and had our wedding reception there we couldnt of ask for more from linda and garry they were first class the food was ootstanding (and thats coming from a chefs ) such a relaxing place . thanks linda and garry for all you have done

Room Tip: rooms were a very good sizes our honeymood suit was lovely ps they dont have a swimming pool it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denmolone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodgedg16, Owner at Hunters Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really do appreciate your kind comments and are really pleased that everything went well for you on your special day and we helped in any way we could.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future - perhaps an anniversary.
Linda & Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We booked Hunters Lodge for our wedding reception and couldn't have picked a better place. We live in the South so most contact was by email, which we never had a problem with, always quick to reply. Linda & her family are lovely, friendly & couldn't do enough for us or our guests. My dad & his wife stayed the night & were made up to be given the bridal suite. The food was amazing as was the service, everything went to plan & the DJ who was arranged for us was brilliant, catering for all age groups. Gretna is a lovely place to visit, people are so friendly. Will defiantly visit again sometime.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodgedg16, Owner at Hunters Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you very much for such a glowing report.

We are glad to hear you all enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

L&G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were visiting Gretna for a friends wedding, we were staying at the hunters where the evening reception was being held. We found all the staff to be extremely helpful and incredible friendly. Linda was the face of the hotel and was lovely. We had the grab and go breakfast which was great value and brought to our bedroom, so very easy. The Hunters is well worth a stay if you need a reasonable priced hotel with friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: room 14 was spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slugalugslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodgedg16, Owner at Hunters Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have many offers running at various times throughout the year, and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
L&G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband an I have just returned from Hunters Lodge yesterday after getting married in Gretna Green. We give an exellent rating on everything. Hospitality, our room,fascillities.food. And the enormous help that Linda , Garry and Sophie assistace us with... Linda and Garry kindly offered to be our witnesses of which we so much appreciated them for. A lift to the registry office included. They also took photos of our ceromny with there digital camera and our not so digital one. And then kindly emailed them and put on to disc for us. Something we never expected but so much appreciate to them both. And to finish a wee tour around the village with more photos taken. Very sad to leave in just 2 days. Would have loved to stay longer. Thank you so much to the 3 of you. Hope we can stay in touch MIchelle & Shawn Engelbrecht xx

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelleKentUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodgedg16, Owner at Hunters Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Many thanks for your review.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As the hotel was quiet, it gave us the opportunity to witness your wedding.
Wishing you all the very best in the future and we look forward to seeing you again ...
L & G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had a weekend break here with friends, must say it was the worst hotel i have stayed in. my doubleroom was 2 single beds pushed together.barely slept at all because of this, decoration was awful. and had the cheek to try and charge extra for breakfast. will never be back. worth probably, £25 per night even with a double bed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 170john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodgedg16, Owner at Hunters Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We are writing in reponse to your recent visit to the Hunters Lodge Hotel.
As proprietors of this small family run hotel, my husband & I both personally run the hotel from morning right through to last orders.
We were very surprised at your comments and are sorry to hear that your were unhappy with your 2 night stay.
The bed that you refer to is a "zip link bed" which is used in many hotels. This can be either two single beds or they zip and link together to make a super king. We are sorry to learn that you were unhappy with this bed.
We were not made aware of any problems with your 2 nights stay until your post on Tripadvisor and had we been made aware of any problems then they could easily have been rectified at the time.
L & G Dodd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here on Wednesday and Thursday night for my nephew's wedding. As we were a party approx. 60 guests we took all the rooms in Hunters Lodge and other family and friends stayed in other hotels along the same road.

I stayed in a twin room with my mother and were warmly greeted on arrival and helped up to our room with our cases. As we were there for 3 days we planned on visiting the local area and Linda was most helpful suggesting what to visit.

We stayed on a B&B basis and breakfast was very good; buffet style for cereals but each breakfast cooked as and when you were ready for it with plenty of freshly cooked toast and more if wanted it.

The Wedding reception was also held here; again plenty of food for everyone. All the staff were helpful and polite and well trained.

I would stay here again and perhaps try another room and see more of the area as this would be a good base.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodgedg16, Owner at Hunters Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Many thanks for your comments in relation to your recent stay with us at Hunters Lodge Hotel.
As the owners and the people who deal with the customers on a day to day basis it is always a pleasure to receive such kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have some fantastic offers available over the next few months - why not come back and explore the area or visit the Gretna Gateway for Christmas shopping?
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
L & G Dodd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.4 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#2 of 5 in Gretna
931 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#1 of 5 in Gretna
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Lodge Hotel

Address: Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range: $58 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hotel personally supervised by the proprietors. A modern listed building with full central heating, which is situated in the heart of Gretna and is also the nearest hotel to the world famous Registration Office. Closest hotel to the Anvil Hall Wedding Venue, and 5 minutes drive from the Blacksmiths. Weddings & private functions, large or small catered for. Spend a pleasant evening with us in the lounge bar. Hunters Lodge Hotel is an ideal base for a touring holiday, the Scottish Borders, Hadrian's Wall, the Lake District, and/or shopping at the Gretna Gateway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hunters Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing