We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gretna Inn

The Gretna Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gretna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gretna Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Gretna B&B and Inns
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nothing special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We stopped off in Gretna on our way to the Highlands. The whole town seems to have a very tired feel to it and the Gretna Inn is no exception.
After driving round several pubs trying to find somewhere to eat and have a beer, we finally plumped for this place. Sadly, my hubby was out of luck on the beer front, it would seem Gretna has never heard of real ale! :(
But, after a 7 hour drive, we looked forward to a meal in any case. However, our meals left us somewhat underwhelmed. What was, quite evidently, frozen, rather tasteless, fish and, my worst nightmare, frozen chips!
All in all, a bit of a disappointment!
Needless to say, we didn't visit on our way back down south!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LinsOHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    8
    10
    27
See reviews for
32
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had gone to gretna green to look round with a view to getting married there. We stayed in a lovely b n b but went to both the gretna green in and the solway lodge for our evening meal. Both were excellent food and excellent staff . The solway had the edge as it was a special weekend for us as we got engaged whilst up there n the surroundings of the lodge far outweighed the surroundings of the inn and the food wss marginally nicer. However i would recommend either place

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank howson2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Popped in for a pint - in the deserted front bar we were told we had to go to the bar at the back for a drink. We were shown through a door to a bar with very loud music with some rough looking locals who were clearly suspicious of outsiders coming into their territory. They are welcome to it! Pity as nice barman and good beer. Not at all welcoming - avoid.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williemacleish, Manager at The Gretna Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you were not happy about been taken into the bar, the dinning area was quite , therefore our staff were taking our guests who only wanted a beer to the back bar were there was a disco put on, hoping you would enjoy the music.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gretna hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just visted the Gretna Inn for a bar meal. Where presented a menu and choose large fresh battered fish and chips with veg... What I received was over cooked oven chips, small frozen processed fish and soggy carrots that had no taste. Tasteless and a huge disappointment. A waste of £9 of anyone's money. When I questioned menu I was told the girl would speak to chef... A bit of an exaggerated title for someone who prepares frozen food!!! Never again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nosaj1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williemacleish, Owner at The Gretna Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are very sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding our fish. We have taken your comment on board and have now changed our fish merchant ,and now we don't have frozen fish just FRESH on the menu.

With reference to our chips ,they are not oven chips and our carrots are cooked fresh daily. I am sorry you felt you had a bad experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre. Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just visited Gretna Factory Outlet and after a few hours shopping this is where we went for a late lunch. The Gretna Inn is right opposite the factory outlet and has an excellent selection of food on the menu. Every time we go to the factory outlet we always go to this Inn for lunch which says a lot for the food as I'm a fussy eater. Bar staff were nice and pleasant and checked regularly to see if we needed anything else. Nice place to eat and have drink.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Totty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmaurs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Had lunch here it was lovely but very disappointed that we went for dinner at 8 pm on a Saturday night and told they were not serving meals coz they had been quiet. Ended up with a chippy take away. Not impressed too early for a sat night

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmac01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We walked into the lounge which was set up for eating. We asked if we were OK to just have a drink and were told we would have to go through to the bar. OK for one drink but quite rough and locals ruled the roost. We thought we'd give it a go for eating the following evening. We arrived at 8pm and were immediately asked if we intended to eat as they had a table of 28 waiting to order and food finished at 9pm. We were recommended another place (which was far more welcoming). Question: Why do they have so many tables set up for eating if they can't cope? Having previously run a pub in a busy Peak District location, we never turned people away. They just couldn't be bothered with the work and were more interested in being out of the kitchen by 9pm sharp. Unfortunately pub life isn't like that! Avoid this place at all cost!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvislover57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.2 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gretna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gretna Inn

Property: The Gretna Inn
Address: 121 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DN, Scotland (Formerly Crossways Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Gretna Hotel Gretna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing