We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax.”
Review of Solway Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solway Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night while at a wedding. Hotel was good, the bar area is nice, food is good value and the service is great. If you are looking for somewhere cosy and relaxing to chill out for a couple of day's it's ideal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    89
    37
    18
    13
See reviews for
119
117
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Hotel was good and welcoming when we arrived and throughout our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful whenever asked for anything. We had booked out most of the rooms for 2 nights for a wedding party and expected chaos when people checked in but it all went really smoothly! The food for the wedding reception was lovely until the dessert. Everyone commented on the fact that you could choose your meal on the day and commented how lovely the all the starters and main courses were until dessert time and the people that chose cheese cake were bitterly disappointed. It really wasn't nice and slightly warm. But in fairness overall the food was very good. (put beans on the breakfast menu) The rooms are very varied attention being paid to certain rooms. The honeymoon suite is nice, but only what most people would expect from wedding suite, (needs a new mattress) The bar was nice and the atmosphere in the place is good. Only thing I was shocked by was a comment when I ordered my daughters breakfast and was told she wouldn't like it as she said yesterday! Well my daughter is three and took this as she didn't have to have it not good! Overall its a lovely place to have a wedding reception and the lamb shank is amazing

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discottnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have just returned from the most lovely 3 days at the Solway Lodge, for a family wedding, The staff made us feel so welcome,nothing was too much trouble and seemed part of the whole celebration. The rooms were lovely and so quiet when you have come from London, you really appreciate that. The post wedding meal was the most delicious I have ever eaten at a wedding,the organisation was flawless. The children were made to feel so welcome and had a great time. We will miss the breakfast with the family each day it really was such a special time, we will without doubt be planning a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allegria_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I got married in Gretna on 2nd March 2013 and chose Solway Lodge for our stay and wedding reception. I can not praise this hotel enough. The honeymoon suite was lovely, food amazing, and the service was second to none. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Our family stayed at the hotel too and have all commented on what a lovely place it is to stay and what a great time they had. I hired the function room for our wedding meal and reception and it was just perfect for our needs. I will definitely be staying here again when we return to Gretna for our wedding anniversary next year!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieL289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for one night and found it to be very pleasant. The chap who met us at reception was very nice and even offered to carry our bags to our room.
Our room was large enough, and the only slight down-fall was the bed being too hard for my liking ( others may not think so though) and the shower was one of those "over the tap" jobs. So a bit weak and needed an inital fiddle to get the right temp.
Otherwise all ok... nothing amazing, but very good value for money.
The Bar stayed open as long as we would have wanted, which I thought was great on their behalf.
Didn't get to try the rest for dinner, but breakfast was a very nice full breakfast.
Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castawayskiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry Uk
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stopped done night from Midlands on way to Aberdeen; chosen because dog can stay free. (£20 at nearby chain hotel).
Pleasantly surprised, given a warm welcome; cosy, spotless room & ensuite. Excellent rate included freshly cooked breakfast & so close to motorway.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travellove2eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

from very first contact and throughout our stay, i cannot praise this hotel enough, we had 5 rooms booked with them-we had the annexe and the rooms were all lovely, clean and warm, breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble for the staff in catering for our needs, We had our wedding reception in the function room, and the staff laid the room out how i wanted and were always on hand if i needed anything, We had a buffet for the reception, and all our guests were more than happy with everything. Even on the sunday after (mothering sunday and their resturant was booked out) they were lovely, i was so hungover and missed breakfast, the chefs offered to make me something whilst prepping for the mothers day rush they were about to face!!!, All staff were polite and friendly and we throughly enjoyed our wedding weekend with the Solway lodge--a big thumbs up from mr & mrs Evans x

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripaway_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
884 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.6 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solway Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway Lodge Hotel

Property: Solway Lodge Hotel
Address: Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solway Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel specializing in good food and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Solway Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solway Hotel Gretna Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing