We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for south Bath, pretty village” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rose & Crown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Rose & Crown
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient for south Bath, pretty village”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Good cooked breakfast but undrinkable yellow 'juice'. Looked like home-made lemonade but with none of the taste. Could not understand why cheap orange juice had to be watered down. (same on both mornings). The same goes for the coffee, whereas 'proper' coffee is served in the bar/pub!
Street noise mentioned in other reviews did not bother us too much as out during the day and bearable evenings/nights. But had to keep the curtains closed during daylight as room open to views from pub/car park/garden.
Staff friendly and helpful when around. Nobody was available when we were leaving. After about 5 minutes of waiting and calling we just left the key on the bar desk, as there was no reception either.
Thanks to previous reviewer for mentioning the Norman church - well worth visiting.

Room Tip: The beds in twin room no. 5 are only 75 cm wide - had to tuck in my hand under my body in order to k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    50
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
38
57
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed two nights on business in Bath. Good location - very convenient for Odd Down Park and Ride about 10 mins drive away. Comfortable accommodation. Friendly and helpful staff. Very tasty and good value pub food in the evening and very nice local ale. Nice well cooked breakfasts with choices not generally expected in this B&B price range e.g. scrambled eggs & smoked salmon and eggs benedict. Overall, great value for the area and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We visited for afternoon tea & were pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly & attentive, serving us promptly when we arrived at our booked time. The sandwiches were lovely - chunky bread with handcut ham, cheese & pickle and tuna mayo. The cakes were great too, four each including a scone with cream & jam! Unfortunately we couldn't finish them all.
The setting is a small country pub with pine tables so I suppose a nice tablecloth & some patterned napkins or perhaps floral china would have 'prettied' up the experience & made it a bit more special (hint, hint) ........

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaliaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

After a day of travelling looking for ,,,,,,er,,,,,,um,,,,,, fairies for the wife and her garden, we stopped here for a late lunch. Neither of us had been to this pub and had never had any info on how it was rated, still, we were hungry and stopped anyway.
A nice pub inside and out, the service was welcoming and friendly and the food arrived in good time, I ordered their mixed grill and the wife had gammon, all was cooked as we had asked and tasted ok, my only gripe was the meat, I'm a bit of a meat lover myself and I feel the meat was, to me, a bit stingy for the £16 price tag and not the best quality either, plus I do like a lamb chop with my mixed grill which most do, this one didn't.
Overall not a bad lunch, I've had a lot worse, but a tad pricey for the content. I probably would visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carpy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed on the 25th May, due to no rooms left at the Homewood park hotel where we had attended a wedding.

Good points

Nice shower

We went to the b&b before the wedding started to get a key and leave our bags which they allowed us to do, was very good of them as we were not able to check in until 5.30.


Bad

We didn't have much sleep that night due to the road noise, very close to the road... And woken very early due to the very light curtains (that did not fit the windows) at 5am.

We did mention this to the manager upon checking out and he said that the rooms are being renovated over the next few weeks... Which was fair enough but I was annoyed that he could not have said sorry.

Would rather spend a bit more money and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Apparently the villa's are quieter as they have double glazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lycee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed during a visit to bath as they are conveniently placed on the outskirts of bath in a quaint village
Upon arriving we was welcomed by the landlord and checked in very quickly (no paperwork) the room was well equipped and comfortable with a nice large shower the only thing is the room was well decorated but needs a lick of paint also the TV was a bit small but I am just picking.
The food was absolutely delicious and there was a nice atmosphere in the bar, we were planning on eating out the second night but could not peal ourselves away especially as the second night was wet and there was a log fire burning making us feel right at home
Overall we had good service & a great time in this classic pub, we will return in the future

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which had a nice size room and bathroom, a little noisy because of the road but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeLoveGastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane S, General Manager at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I am glad you were made to feel at home and you enjoyed your stay, i will also pass on your compliments to the chefs.
We are going to give the rooms a spruce up for the summer so over the next couple of weeks we will be decorating the rooms ready for your next visit which i look forward to seeing you both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I did not stay at the Rose and Crown on this occasion as I was just passing through.
However, it was pouring with rain and I was on my way from Bristol to Salisbury on my bicycle.
Having fallen off a few miles earlier, I needed coffee. There was shelter for the bikes and really good coffee. I was even offered a plaster. The young people running the pub on saturday May 11th were very kind and polite despite the fact that we were muddy and wet. Thank you.
maybe next year we will pop in again.x.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadbiketraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane S, General Manager at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words you are more then welcome
We look forward to seeing you again next year and hopefully it will not be raining!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
5.5 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 34 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wheelwrights Arms
Wheelwrights Arms
#1 of 1 in Monkton Combe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.5 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#16 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
1.5 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 6 in Norton St Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose & Crown

Property: The Rose & Crown
Address: High Street | Bath, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rose & Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Rose and Crown you will find a warm and welcoming feeling as soon as you walk through the door, with the cosy feel of the log burner during the winter months. Adding to its relaxed and friendly atmosphere through out the year.The Rose and Crown is known for its high quality food and drink. We have a patio area for drinking and dining and the Cloisters restaurant is available for parties, meeting and private functions. Food is served 7 days and nights a week. Our menus are designed to satisfy the smallest to the largest of appetites by serving smaller portions of the majority of our main meals and a choice of light bites. We are also allergy aware and cater for people’s needs and requirements.Here at the Rose and Crown we are passionate about using locally sourced ingredients where we can. Our butcher is based at Newton St Loe approx 5 miles from us. During the game season we have a wide selection of venison, pheasant, duck and other game dishes.Should you decide to stay at the Rose and Crown we have 6 spacious and comfortable ensuite letting rooms all with facilities for tea and coffee making, flat screen TV’s with freeview and free wifi, creating a homely environment for your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Rose & Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose & Crown Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing