We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and good food”
Review of The Rose & Crown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rose & Crown
newcastle
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great service and good food”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Visited bar restaurant one busy Friday night with relatives (8 of us). Despite being crowded, the staff were really efficient in serving drinks, taking orders for food and then serving what we had ordered. We got really good quality food at very reasonable prices. Looking forward to going back! Would recommend for an informal dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0lidayh0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    52
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
39
58
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I spend a lot of time travelling with work...and I'm always dubious about places off the beaten track.

I didn't need to worry here though.....

Super room...good bathroom too. I ate I the pub too and the food was good and good value too.

Staff very polite and arranged an early breakfast for me too.

On the whole....super effort all round

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights, food great , beer perfect , easy access to bath by bus which goes on the hour right opposite the pub, 25min journey £4.80 return. Recommend the belly pork and the ceasare salad.The management couple we exceptionally freindly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherbert_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

As others have written, excellent room, friendly staff good food (both breafast and evening) and good ale. Unfortunately my three nights were spolit on Saturday by the local pub customers whose loud talking after midnight and the noisy terrier owned by one of them rather dampened my views. I could not understand why this occured as on the Friday night there were over 50 people at a party in the restaurant, the bar was full with bar meals and I heard nothing. I thought they were in the outside smoking area but as the temperature was minus 1 I doubt I was right. Hopefully, the new tenants will sort out the little problems and I have no hesitation in recommending them for accommodation or food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcrhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

excellent accommodation, friendly staff, great food, fantastic ale!
really friendly staff, amazing surrounding village, great scenery around the village
loved the open fire in the pub and the general atmosphere! friendly people, lovely places, we will definitely come back & recommend to close friends!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We went to the Rose & Crown last Sunday evening before taking some family members to the airport. It is the only pub open in Hinton Charterhouse on a Sunday evening (open from 6pm). The food was freshly cooked and we all enjoyed our meals and it seemed to be reasonably busy. We didnt have to wait too long and we didnt have to book a table either. Parking at the pub is also very good with lots of space. Overall offers traditional pub food and is worth a look at least once.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Went into the pub/restaurant for Sunday roast dinner on the way back from Southampton.
It was the tiniest portion of Sunday roast I ever had. It was the first time I ever felt hungry after having a Sunday roast dinner. I could still eat my own arm after I finished it. And they charge nearly £10 for it! It wasn't that bad if it tasted amazing, but no, it was just average.
Never again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CK242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
5.5 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
2.9 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.5 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.5 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose & Crown

Property: The Rose & Crown
Address: High Street | Bath, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rose & Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Rose and Crown you will find a warm and welcoming feeling as soon as you walk through the door, with the cosy feel of the log burner during the winter months. Adding to its relaxed and friendly atmosphere through out the year.The Rose and Crown is known for its high quality food and drink. We have a patio area for drinking and dining and the Cloisters restaurant is available for parties, meeting and private functions. Food is served 7 days and nights a week. Our menus are designed to satisfy the smallest to the largest of appetites by serving smaller portions of the majority of our main meals and a choice of light bites. We are also allergy aware and cater for people’s needs and requirements.Here at the Rose and Crown we are passionate about using locally sourced ingredients where we can. Our butcher is based at Newton St Loe approx 5 miles from us. During the game season we have a wide selection of venison, pheasant, duck and other game dishes.Should you decide to stay at the Rose and Crown we have 6 spacious and comfortable ensuite letting rooms all with facilities for tea and coffee making, flat screen TV’s with freeview and free wifi, creating a homely environment for your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Rose & Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose & Crown Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing