We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location with outstanding staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic location with outstanding staff”
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We chose to stay here for our anniversary. It's location is perfect for sightseeing in bath as well as the surrounding countryside. The hotel is very tastefully decorated and immaculately presented. The staff are well organised and seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs. Nothing was too much trouble and the food is outstanding. We were in room 10. If i had to be really critical the only downside is that the hairdryer was all noise and no power and my husband managed to flood the floor due to the very shallow shower tray and no screen. There was also no fridge in the room, which is always handy to keep a chilled drink in but room service was fantastic and more than made up for this. We had a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    219
    93
    53
    32
See reviews for
119
375
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

We stayed at Homewood Park with our two children (12 and 5) over the Easter weekend. We has one of the larger Suites with the sitting room converted to a bedroom for the children, which provided their own space/t.v. etc. The room was fantastic and food excellent for all. Whilst this hotel is not specifically 'family friendly there is provision of DVD's/Playstation games if the weather is not god and the staff throughout the hotel could not have made us more welcome. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Excellent staff, beautiful grounds, large bedrooms and wonderful interior decor. Go to relax, chat, be alone or be together.
However - if you are like me a need a nice hot shower after a long drive then you will be dissapointed. No stars for the showers - and annoyingly I have just read other people have made the same complaint. So when the lady on reception feigned surprise she was clearly lying.
Also the "outdoor heated swimming pool open from April" - more like a cold pea soup so you might want to phone ahead if you are after a swim.
Still it is a beautiful place to relax and the staff and the Hotel don't deserve to be let down by shoddy plumbing - so I gave it 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitGe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Homewood Park is an absolute gem. The staff are warm and welcoming, the decor elegantly understated and the food is really something special. The hotel is set in beautifully kept grounds. It has a very homely feel thanks to the open fires and the hotel's two resident cats. Rooms are very comfortable and feature a pleasing blend of traditional and modern furnishings. Best of all the stunning city of Bath is just a short drive away so you can do a spot of sightseeing or shopping while you're here. This really is the sort of place you just don't want to leave but hey there's always next time!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazy_Daisy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year. I planned to propose to my girlfriend and had spent hours trawling through the internet trying to find somewhere that was reasonably priced but still special. I contacted the hotel by email and all my mails were replied to instantly by the staff (even at 10pm). My decision to stay there was made.

From the moment we arrived, the service was just brilliant. We stayed in Room 18 which had recently been refurbished. With an enormous bathroom (with a huge bath and powerful separate shower) to the separate sitting room over looking the bottom of the garden an fields, I just couldn't have wished for more.

The communal rooms are just lovely with fires burning away and comfortable sofas. Some hotels can feel a little sterile in trying to be too perfect but this just felt homely and right.

The food is every bit as good as previously mentioned on here. I cannot find ANY reason to fault it and it is as good as I have eaten anywhere. We were slightly saddened to find out that someone had finished off all the Pauillac the previous night but we were recommended the Brio de Cantanac Margaux that was just superb and complemented the food perfectly (indeed we had another 2 bottles over our stay). The service was excellent - our glasses were always topped up and we never found ourselves waiting at all.

The second day on our return from Bath, having suggested we wanted to take a walk locally, we were presented with our own map and headed off down in the beautiful villages on Freshford and Upper Westwood.

That evening, having proposed (and she said yes!), I could not get over every member of staff congratulating us as we bumped into them over the next day (and I mean everyone!). It was totally unnecessary but was indicative of the attention paid.

When we felt like staying in, the staff provided DVD's for us to watch in the comfort of our own sitting room.

Overall, probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The only thing it missed was an indoor pool - with that, I'd never go anywhere else! As it is, we look forward to returning again and spending another evening in front of the fire playing backgammon until the early hours!

  • Liked — The most superb service
  • Disliked — No indoor pool but that is all.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2008

Decied to visit Homewood Park on their 'recharger break' between Christmas and New Year. It was a lovely place to stay. The food was good, the staff were attentive and the room in which we stayed was lovely having recently been refurbished. There were also beautiful communal rooms to sit in and read or have a drink. During our 3 night stay we spent many hours just sitting reading and enjoying the tranquility of the place. We did not want to leave and would certainly return.

  • Liked — friendly staff, lovely room
  • Disliked — service in resturant a little slow
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicealmondgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

I stayed at Homewood Park for the weekend with my Girlfriend and can thoroughly recommend it. The first thing that impresses is the setting - a real old style manor house with driveway. Its a 2 or 300 year old building full of character and from the moment you walk through the front door and smell the log fires they keep going you feel at home. The staff are very friendly and helpful without making you feel uncomfortable. What seperates it from a 5 star hotel are the minor details. The rooms are a little frayed at the edges. Our room had a couple of water stains on the ceiling and the bathroom was on its last legs. No air con would be a problem at the height of Summer. The hotel was fully booked and we still felt like we had the place to ourselves. The only other criticism I can remember is a slight cock up with our bill - they'd added a couple of late night drinks we didnt have. Other than that I can honestly say that for just over £200 for the night its an excellent place to relax.

  • Liked — The atmostphere
  • Disliked — Slightly tired
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank st_files
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#26 of 34 in Bath
112 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,285 reviews
3.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing