We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with fantastic food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
432 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel with fantastic food”
Reviewed October 1, 2008

We were originally booked to stay at the Bishopstrow House Hotel near Warminster. We had booked 6 months in advance but were telephoned 2 weeks before our stay to say that the Bishopstrow had a wedding and they had overbooked. They had offered to move us to the Homewood Park which were not very happy about.
However they offered us a very good deal and the whole matter was dealt with very professionally.
On arrival at the Homewood they knew that we had been moved and put us into a very nice Junior Suite overlooking the gardens.
The bed was huge and they room was lovely with the only dissapointment being a weak shower.
We decided to eat in the main restaurant for our evening meal and from there onwards our experience went onto a new level.
I knew the food had won some awards but were absolutely delighted with the quality of food and Service. It is my belief that the head chef there, Daniel Moon, must be close to receiving his first Michelin star - it really was that good!
The grounds are lovely and well kept and most of the staff are very friendly.
The only downsides are that is does not have an indoor pool or spa where the Bishopstrow does.
But in future I would probably stay here in preference.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Weak shower
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveinkent44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    218
    92
    53
    32
See reviews for
119
374
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in August.

If you're looking for a smallish, personal country house hotel this is for you. We stayed in room 7 - good size room and huge bathroom. The furnishings are a bit old/tired but that somehow adds to the character of the place.

We didn't want to stay in the centre of Bath and this hotel is only a short drive out into the country. I would highly recommend the staff and level of service we received - especially the girls on reception. Everyone was extremely friendly and it felt like a home-from-home (especially as they have 2 cats and my husband and I had left our 2 cats at home).

If you have the time, try and eat in the award winning restaurant - expensive but well worth it.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madtabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
280 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed at Homewood Park in Room 3 for seven days. Room 3 is a Junior Suite recently refurbished. I think the remodeling was priimarily with the bathroom which has a separate shower. The room overlooks the front lawn and is very spacious and comfortable. The remodeled shower, however, never provided hot water for a shower. Maybe it got lukewarm after running the water for 15-minutes, but never hot enough. The water in the sink was hot, but not the shower. So the explanations by the staff that the hotel may have run low on hot water did not wash.

The staff was friendly and courteous but the hotel overall may have been understaffed. For instance, when serving drinks, they never asked if we wanted a second. Had to go track down staff for the second round. Not a big deal, but unexpected.

Breakfast was a bit sparse from the continental breakfast standpoint. Missing cheeses, meats, breads. Just cereal. From the full breakfast menu, I'd strongly recommend the scrambled eggs and salmon with a sausage chaser and English mustard.

Frankly, having stayed at Von Essen hotels previously - Cliveden, Congham Hall, Royal Crescent - we expected more for the price.

The one pleasant surprise was the internet access and location - close to Bath and many old English Country Homes.

  • Liked — Suite 3
  • Disliked — No Hot Water for the Shower
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KARXPRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

Treated my boyfriend to a surprise weekend away - we are both in our 30's and it was perfect. The hotel is very well run and nicely decorated. The grounds are spectacular and the staff are so courteous. Would definitely revisit, especially in the summer when the pool and tennis courts are open

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank JSJTwickenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2007

Stayed here for a two night break with granny and grand daughter (aged 10) and we all had a superb time.
The rooms were excellent, - warm, clean, large (superior and suite) and typical of a country house hotel (a little worn in places).
The staff were incredibly helpful and accomodating, especially when grand daughter wanted a late afternoon swim. Nothing was too much trouble.
The food was delicious and service impeccable.
Gardens wonderful.
No dog now.
Traffic noise because the hotel is next to the A36, so sitting outside during the day could be noisy, but nothing intrusive during the night.
All in all, an excellent stay.

  • Liked — Service, room, food
  • Disliked — next to A36, but not a big problem
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanandLizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2007

Booked this hotel for ruby wedding treat .as it is part of the von essen group expected a high standard of accomodation The first suit we were shown was dirty and shabby I have stayed in two star hotels with better rooms. The second suit which we accepted was furnished and decorated better,but nothing exceptional. The food was good but very over priced,the dining room had no atmosphere at all. The gardens were ok but outside the entrance there was two broken benches and a selection flower pots containing nothing but earth and weeds. We do appreciate that this is a country house hotel but there is a difference between shabby chic and tatty. We would not reccomend this hotel.

  • Liked — nothing of any note
  • Disliked — not the quality as advertized in literature and far overpriced for the accomodation (5 star pricesfor low 3 star facility)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank t.j.lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie on World Trip
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2007

The staff (especially Claire) were outstanding in professionalism and courtesy! Rooms were fabulous and well decorated. Bed very comfortable. View of front rose garden was superb! The restaurant again was fantastic as far as food and staff. Lounge areas were devine and fully serviced bar was a bonus! Couldn't fault it.

  • Liked — Claire's excellent and friendly manner!
  • Disliked — Nothing I didn't like.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MattyMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#27 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
4.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
3.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing