We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
1 review
“A relaxing break”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just arrived home after a lovely overnight stay at Homewood Park.
We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who promptly checked us in and showed us to our room. My partner and I had never been to Bath before and the receptionist was extremely helpful and spent some time advising us where to park - very useful!
Our room (4) was a deluxe room, very spacious, beautiful 4 poster bed and a lovely view over the gardens.
We had dinner in Bath which was a 10 minute drive and very easy to get to but were served some drinks in the cosy and quiet bar area at the hotel.
We had breakfast delivered promptlt to our room which was beautifully presented and it wouldve been great to have a slightly bigger portion of the cooked breakfast - as it was delicious!
We were lucky enough to stay on a quiet day as we were the only ones using the spa
facilities in the morning - sitting out in the sun and in the outdoor pool was bliss and very quiet - the staff were also very attentive and brought some drinks for us to save us going to the bar to order them.
Overall a lovely stay and would definitely recommend it as a relaxing country hotel - we especially loved the line of walking boots for customers in the reception! The staff were very attentive on our stay and made it an enjoyable visit to Bath, thankyou!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfldickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay.

I am delighted to read that you had such a fantastic stay and were able to visit the nearby beautiful City of Bath, with recommendations from the team.

The team and I all hope to welcome you back in the future (maybe even for Christmas when the log fires are lit and the house dressed beautifully!)

Kindest regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    219
    93
    53
    32
See reviews for
119
375
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My boyfriend took me here 31/08/2013 for a stop over for longleat. The hotel is lovely, room was clean and well laid out. The grounds around the hotel was beautiful and the spa was relaxing. we didnt eat dinner in the hotel as it was a bit expensive and also a bit a la carte for us... we prefer burger and chips, but we had breakfast in the morning and it was very yummy and good selection. Only negative things i have to say are the spa pool is outiside and although it is heated when it is chilly outside it isnt nice when getting out the pool, there is no gym and the drinks are a bit pricey/... £7.50 fir a vodka lemonade !

Overall is a lovely hotel and i would deffinatly recommend

Room Tip: Room 14 has a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaye p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

I’m pleased to read that you visited Longleat House & Safari Park during your stay, it really is a fantastic day out for all!

Thank you for your kind comments about the restaurant and spa, and for your constructive feedback which we take on board.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Booked last minute for midweek break with teenaged children. Overall a decent experience, though some finishing touches lacking in a couple of areas.

Highlights were spa treatments (masseuse v good and highly knowledgeable on sports massage etc) and restaurant. The latter is actually a little undersold by the hotel, food quality is genuinely excellent and slightly out of keeping with menus on a sheet of paper and the slightly amateurish pre-dinner service. The latter highlights the flaws mentioned above...pick the wrong moment and you could sit in the bar waiting for someone to notice for a fair while. Other examples would be running out of towels around the spa area and for some reason only having 6 seats around the outside pool for a hotel with 21 bedrooms. We went there both days and never did find a seat free.

Our room was fine for the reasonable price we paid, though our children had room 6 which is on top of the kitchens - hot and full of food smells. They weren't fussed but I probably would have been!

Overall, 3/5 for the hotel and service, but 5/5 for spa and restaurant, so 4/5 in total for us.

Room Tip: Best to avoid Rm 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that the spa and restaurant both proved to be a delight.

Thank you for all of your constructive comments, which we take on board.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have just had a lovely night in the Hotel. We found the staff very attentive and friendly and the food was amazing, a great Birthday treat. the pool and Spa area is really well done , we will definitely return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank muzza33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations in all areas and we all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. (maybe even for Christmas!)

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

After enjoying a day out in Bath, this beautiful hotel was an oasis of countryside to retreat to, just a short drive out of the city. Staying for our wedding anniversary, we were delighted to be upgraded to the garden suite which was spacious, comfortably furnished and close to the outdoor pool and spa building. With robes and slippers provided in our suite, we did not need to use the changing facilities in the spa, which made the whole experience so much more luxurious and relaxing. The staff were friendly and efficient, which made for a lovely atmosphere. French doors from the room led out to a table and chairs on a patio area, which was absolutely lovely. Unfortunately, no privacy was afforded by the garden design and we got to greet several other guests as they happened upon us, while exploring the superb gardens. A hedge could easily be grown to make the patio areas of the 2 suites accessed only from their rooms. Also, this problem meant that we were unable to sit out when the next door suite occupants were out, as they rather defeated the whole fresh air experience by chain smoking! We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and all the food was excellent in both quality and quantity. Having enjoyed a Champagne afternoon tea, we did not want to drink wine at dinner, asking instead for just a jug of water. The waiter brought bottled water for us which we thought no more of until check out time, when we got an unexpected bill... After pointing out that no soft drinks menu was even shown to us, perhaps we should have been told that the water was chargeable (and at Mediterranean tourist trap rates); in the end, we got just 10p change out of a £10 note for 2 bottles or water... Shocking! Bearing in mind that the hospitality pack in our room included bottled water, being charged such exorbitant rates in the restaurant was particularly unexpected. Whilst I'd recommend this hotel to most people, beware that their lack of a soft drinks menu may provide you with some nasty surprises! And to those town-dwellers like me, who dream of breathing fresh country air, unless this hotel changes their smoking policy, you may not get that desired lungful here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helsbiggerpicture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

I was delighted to read there were many positive aspects to your stay, including the staff and spa facilities along with the food. I was also pleased to read that we were able to complimentary upgrade you to our best suite!

Thank you for all of your feedback, we take all guests comments on board as we strive to exceed our guests expectations.

Please rest assured there is a strict non-smoking policy at the hotel, along with UK law which prohibits guests smoking indoors. Unfortunately, it is neither against the law, nor are we able to, prevent guests from smoking outside.

The team and I all hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Really nice hotel with a good feel. Beautiful gardens, and pool. Restaurant and food amazing. The room felt a little dated and the shower was a dribble. Other than that, it was great. We went here to use it as a base to visit longleat and it suited us perfectly

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Compstella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I’m pleased to read that you had a great stay with us, thank you for all of your feedback which we take on board.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a night stay here for our wedding anniversary. Spa facilities are very nice especially the outside pool. Room was very spacious and beautifully furnished. I think the prices in the restaurant and drinks were very expensive but overall we had a very nice comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucestershireGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review,

I am pleased to read that you had a very good stay with us at Homewood Park.

The team and I all hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#26 of 34 in Bath
112 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,285 reviews
3.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing