We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a lovely relaxing time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
bs1983
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Had a lovely relaxing time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel on a deal and it was very reasonable. We were in one of the not so good rooms but I expected that. Being an old house our room smelt a bit of drains which was unfortunate and the mattress needed replacing. The hotel facilities were really nice though! Loved the Spa and dinner and breakfast were good! It's only a small menu and there was just one vegetarian option on there but luckily it was delicious! I would definitely stay again but I'd splash out and book one of the more swish rooms :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonniePhillips83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on your stay at Homewood Park.

I am delighted to read that overall you had a wonderfully relaxing stay with us.

If you are looking to splash out on your return visit, may I recommend one of our Junior Suites - they have wonderful spacious sitting areas and excellent views!

Kindest regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    217
    91
    52
    31
See reviews for
117
371
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a short break here - loved the breakfast, enjoyed the spa and liked the setting of the hotel. Good staff, friendly and helpful. The basic room was clean and nicely decorated-probably would rate the room a 3 star but the rest of the hotel deserves its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review regarding your overnight stay at Homewood Park.

I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband booked a night here as part of a trip to longleat. As we were travelling with a 4 month old baby, were recommended to book a garden suite for added room. Definitely worth the money at the reduced rate but I wouldn't pay nearly £500 at the usual rate for it. Huge room, more like an apartment. Comfy bed. Lovely views of the garden & really near the spa. & pool. I had a great massage at the spa & a relax in the jacuzzi whilst my husband took the baby in the heated outdoor pool. We ate dinner at the pub in the village, I think called The Inn, which was fabulous after a recommendation (and table booked for us) by the receptionist at the hotel. Breakfast was plentiful with cereal, pastries and a full English - including a vegetarian option for me. Staff were very friendly & helpful - especially considering we brought a 4 month old baby with us which could have meant we weren't the ideal guests but everyone was attentive to him. The grounds are beautiful - my only negative would be that in the garden suite, people can walk through the grounds & straight past your window if the curtains are open so privacy could be an issue. Otherwise, I wish we had been able to spend more time there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us.

We know it can be hard when travelling with a little one, so I am delighted to read that we were able to take a little of that stress out of your trip! And that you were able to take advantage of the wonderful spa treatments on offer.

The team and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I held our wedding at Homewood on the 8th June 2013 and we cannot speak highly enough of the facilities and all of the staff. Everyone was very impressed with the way things were handled and the day wouldn't have been so special if ot wasn't for the staff.
All of our guest were thrilled with the food and accommodation and they will all revisit at some point over the coming months.
We couldn't think of any negative points as they were all so happy and helpful and we have rebooked the whole hotel for our 1 year anniversary in 2014.
Thank you all at Homewood for making our special day even more special than we could ever of dreamed of

Alex and Sabrina

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Alex & Sabrina

Firstly, the team and I would like to wish you Congratulations!

We are delighted that your special day went perfectly, and we cannot wait to welcome you and your family & friends back next year!

Kindest Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We can't wait to go back.Our accomodation was just factastic. The staff were wonderful. They were genuinely caring in every way. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. We had our dog Rosco with us and he was made extremely welcome The pool and spa area are spotless and totally relaxing and the gardens are the icing on the cake.Housekeeping took pride in their work. It was a magical experience, thank you.
Kathleen Jackson
Ireland

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Ms Jackson

Thank you for your fantastic feedback on your recent stay with us at Homewood Park.

I am absolutely delighted to read that you had such an amazing stay, and that Rosco enjoyed himself too!

Thank you for all of your wonderful comments, the Team and I cannot wait to welcome you all back soon.

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Amazing stay here, staff are friendly, food was excellent and our room was beautiful! i would definitely come back here.

When we arrived we was shown to our room. We had a 4 poster bed and the room was overlooking the gardens, the beds were so comfy. We went down for Afternoon tea and it was delicious and lucky for us the weather was great so we was able to sit outside and have it.

We also had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and all of it was really nice. I haven't got a bad word to say about my trip, I've enjoyed my stay very much.

I only wish i could of had a treatment at the spa, sadly this was booked as a surprise for me from my boyfriend and he didn't realise you had to book in advance. We ended up going to the Thermae Bath Spa instead and too be honest i think i would much preferred a smaller spa to relax in, it was a bit hectic there and couldn't really relax.

Thank you Homewood Park hotel for a lovely stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay with us, and were also blessed with great weather during your time here!

The team and I all hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have just returned from having afternoon tea at Homewood Park. We were a party of 6 ages ranging from 18 to 94. We were there to celebrate my nieces 18th and my grandmas 94th birthday. On arrival we were able to park outside the main entrance in the disabled ca park and my grandma was able to get into the hotel and to the table. We had our pot of tea served to us and then after 3/4 of an hour my sister went to reception to ask when was the food going to be served as we were all getting hungry. She was told there had been a mix up in the kitchen and the food had only just started being prepared. We had made the booking a month before so they should have been prepared for us. When the food came you could no fault it., it was delicious. I Had to ask for another pot of tea as the service was non existent.

I then enquired if there was a disabled toilet for my 94 year old grandma, I was told they did not have one, I said surely that is illegal in this day and age. Luckily my grandma at this point had had only 1 cup of tea. She did not want to risk another cup as she knew she could not go to toiilet.

When we settled the bill they had put a 10% service charge on the bill, they would not take it off even though we said we were not happy with the service we had received.

Would not return here for afternoon tea. The hotel and grounds were amazing. So. Can imagine an overnight stay would be great.

Out of interest can anyone tell me if a 4 star hotel like this should provide a disabled toilet. What if my grandma had desperately needed the toilet what would she have done. There is no way she could have got up from the toilets they provided.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bunnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review regarding your Afternoon Tea.

I am disappointed to read that there was a mix up on the day, and that you did not receive the high levels of service that we pride ourselves on offering. I can only apologise for this, and please be assured I have raised this with the relevant Heads of Departments and instructed them to investigate what happened.

Unfortunately, as a traditional country house we do not have specifically adapted disabled facilities, however we do offer ground-floor ladies and gentlemen’s bathrooms, which I hope would have been suitable for your Grandma. Specifically adapted facilities are a requirement of new build properties.

If you would like to contact me directly to discuss your afternoon tea experience with us, please feel free to contact me at the hotel on 01225 723731

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#22 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
4.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
3.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing