We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch on a sunny day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We took an 81 year old to lunch at Homewood Park as a birthday treat today and she could not remember having a better meal - and she frequently holidays in the best hotels in Malta and on the Amalfi coast.

A friendly welcome in Reception made us feel at home immediately.

The service was superb - attentive and friendly at a leisurely pace so we did not feel rushed and had time to chat and also enjoy the wonderful food. Many thanks to Vivek and Inma, who looked after us so well. The chef should be congratulated - a small menu but every dish appealed and when our choices arrived they were works of art.

The country house décor in the dining room has been completely altered and modernised and we loved it. In fact, our friend wants to move in!

It is now owned by our neighbours on the Longleat Estate and we wish them every success withj this and Bishopstrow near Warminster.

Pam and Peter Chapman, Friggle Street, Frome

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friggletowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Chapman

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent visit to lunch with us.

I am delighted to read that all members of your party had such a wonderful time.

I have passed all of your kind comments on to the team and we all hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 780 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is truy a wonderful place. The building and settings are beautiful. This is beautriful part of Somerset. The building is old and has wonderful traditional features, but it is very well maintained and recently decorated it seemed so there was none of the mouldy smells that many old and badly maintained buildings in the UK seem to have.

The decor is lovely, fireplaces and high ceilings, plush interiors, fusing well with the period features. I woul dpersonally change one thing from the decor if I was to move in tomorrow (which I would gladly do ;)) - the wallpaper in the restaurant. But that really is nit picking. Everything else was great.

The spa is wonderful too. Again, recently rennovated it seemed. The outdoor heated pool is lovely. The temperature is ideal. It was warmer than most outdoor pools I have been in and so it really felt like we were on holiday somewhere in continental Europe (until you jump out of the pool that is :). But if you fancy a real warming experience, the jacuzzi inside is fab too and there is a sauna and a steam room. We felt so relaxed after the morning session at the spa that we nearly fell asleep on the way back to Bath (and we were supposed to go to work!).

The breakfast though, has to be the highlight in terms of quality of hotel service that we received. There was a very good selection of cooked dishes available on request. The tables were wonderfully set. Pristine white napkins, perfectly ironed into squares, tempting little flip-top glass jars with jam and marmalade, perfect little rings of butter on stone plates and sparkling white porcelain laid on every single table of the large restaurant awaiting us in the morning. There was a great buffet set as well, but you were encouraged to order from the kitchen (most of which was included in the price of the room). We had haddock with cream and scrambled eggs served beautifully and absolutely delicious. They came with a variety of toasted white and granary bread. We also had a selection of continental meats and cheeses. They have superb espresso coffee too. The cereals bar was really good quality. The compotes it seemed were home made and very good quality. The yogurt was too. Perhaps there weren't home made but they certainly hadn't compromised on quality if they had imported it from a wholesaler. Or maybe all produce was from local farmers?! I'll never know as I was too busy enjoying it. Plus the service was superb too.

The dinner we had the night before could have been improved but that's based purely on my personal taste bud preferences. Quality wise it was not to be faulted. Good selection of wines, although we focused on the food not the drinks. The chef was clearly working with a team of either rprofessionals or enthusiasts, but the food was prepared to a good standard. And the service, the staff really were very attentive and very professional.I would just reccommend to an otherwise uncompromising in quality hotel, to invest in slightly better wine glasses - perhaps thinner glass and taller and larger cupped glasses. It would have really added to the dining experience.

And just a few words on the room, it was very clean, very very comfortable beds, quite spacicious (we had a deluxe room on the ground floor overlooking the gardens - N:11). The bathroom was very clean and well appointed. There were pristinely clean white bathrobes awaiting us in the wardrobe. Very inviting indeed for an immediate dip in the pool, which is exactly what we did. For visiting the spa, I reccommend early morning or late afternoon if you want to have it all to yourself.

Overall, we are bound to go back. Such a wonderful little gem right on our doorstep.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic feedback on your recent stay.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed every moment of your stay, and that we surpassed all your expectations.

I have passed all of your kind comments on to the team and we all hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Myself and hubby booked for a one night stay the day before arriving having seen a special offer online and from my first dealings with the reservation right through to leaving we were very well looked after.

The hotel is a beautiful traditional building which as it so rightly states has fused the old and the new together wonderfully well. We stayed in a deluxe room (10) which was a good size and had everything we needed including a lovely bathroom with bath and separate large shower as well as Elemis toiletries. Having been shown to our room we went downstairs and had lunch in the bar area playing backgammon from their range of games which the better player won (that's me!). From their light lunch option we chose fish goujons and let me tell you they were no ordinary option - freshly made and delicious.

We then headed to the spa where I took a dip in the outside pool, lightly heated, before relaxing in the jacuzzi. I had a fabulous massage with the lovely Natalie before relaxing on the comfy beds in my dressing gown - bliss!

Back to the room for an afternoon tea with freshly made scones - the best I have eaten for many years...

Dinner was a quiet affair as tbh we were quite full but the service remained top notch and we were very well looked after for the entire evening. Drinks before and after in the drawing room were lovely.

A comfortable bed and soft bedding should have ensued a good nights sleep but unfortunately I was woken a few times by banging around downstairs - not sure what was going on there but not a big deal overall. We didn't stay for breakfast feeling that £16pp was rather steep.

Overall we would thoroughly recommend the hotel - particularly if you can get a good offer!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HillsonHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your recent stay.

I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay for your birthday, and enjoyed all of the facilities and services we offer.

We all hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

had afternoon tea at this lovely hotel, decor and furnishings wonderful, the grounds are lovely, the staff were very attentive and polite, the service was very good and the "afternoon tea" was lovely worth a visit

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on your visit for Afternoon Tea.

I am delighted that you had such a great time, and have passed all of your thanks on to the team.

We all hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for a 3 night break in April 2013. This is a lovely hotel in lovely grounds. We stayed in a garden room which was the most expensive. When we walked into the room for the first time we were quite impressed, however on closer inspection there were a few issues - no fridge/bar, no biscuits on the tea/coffee tray, heating very complicated to control and the lighting isn't good, particularly for ladies trying to apply make up.
We had dinner on 2 of the 3 nights and both times it was excellent, although the wine is very overpriced! If you are asked if you would like water be sure to specify tap water otherwise you will automatically be given bottled (also pricey). I must say that the restaurant manager/supervision was extremely pleasant and helpful
Unfortunately the breakfast was not good. Portions were very small, toast undercooked and cold and service at breakfast on the Sunday was very poor.
One final point , the particular young girl on reception when we arrived and who was there during our stay probably requires more training. First she showed us to the wrong room and then left us there while she sorted it out (blamed it on the computer!!), for some reason she thought we'd stayed there before, and then got the time of our dinner reservation wrong. When she showed us to the correct room she just dumped the keys on the bed and left - she didn't show us around the room, tell us about breakfast times etc or seem to welcome us in any way. Finally on the last day when I went to reception and asked her what time late check out was she told me 12 o' clock when we had paid extra to stay until 3pm - her excuse for getting it wrong was because I had'nt told her I had paid extra for this - what about customer always being right....?
The weekend cost us over £1000 but I really don't think it was worth it. I have stayed in many good 4star hotels and paid less.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PENTON54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that there were many positive elemtens to your stay and I hope that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

We take on board all feedback provided from our guests as we are continually striving to improve. We have recently had a few new members of the team join us and therefore we are in the middle of our training programme with them.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend for his birthday as a surprised and we stayed in a junior suite. It was so cute, the bathroom was massive including a roll top bath. The suite also including a small garden area with views of the spa (just a shame it was more sunny as it would be lovely to have the patio doors open).
The staff at the hotel were always friendly and happy to answer any questions, book taxis etc. Only slight annoyance was we weren't informed there was a fee for the paper daily, but not a massive deal. Would definitely recommend use of the spa. We both had treatments which were fabulous. The hotel is in a perfect location as it is in beautiful surroundings, and only a sort drive/taxi to Bath centre. Overall it was a lovely stay and would stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadeglp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay
.
I am pleased to read that you had such a great time and enjoyed all of the facilities.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked a package for the Spa facilities and dinner for our anniversary on the 20th March, what a good choice & great stay! The room number 12 was lovely and well equipped, the Spa had everything you would need and we enjoyed using the facilities for the two days and felt really relaxed afterwards.
The dinner was very high quality and only the dessert was a slight disappointment.
The grounds and leisure area are traditional with a boutique feel, the staff were very friendly & helpful. All in all a 5 star experience and we would go back again.

Room Tip: The upper rooms and corner suites had great views and were really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dayofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Day

Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful anniversary treat.

Thank you for all of your kind comments.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
4.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
1,452 reviews
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 34 in Bath
269 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
3.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range: $143 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing