We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So! Just what is a "suite"??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This lovely country hotel has a great many excellent features................and they deserve to be listed here...
Efficient and intelligent reception people;very friendly and attentive staff (nothing was too much trouble!) ...beautiful public rooms and gardens ;food to die for served expertly and discretely and an award winning spa which we didn't use,but which looked tremendous.......and they even welcome dogs which is very important for us!.
I wasn't surprised when the receptionist told us that the hotel was consistently near full week in-week out
All this comes at a price,of course but I was actually quite happy to cough up top whack for one of their best rooms..described as a "Garden Double Bedded Suite" (the hotel's words in their confirmation ) for a night of hedonistic luxury prior to a taxing hospital stay.

So, with heightening anticipation ,we checked in,and followed the receptionist to our Garden "Suite".
And there it was, just a beautifully decorated "Bedroom".
There was a huge practically empty hallway (and a huge practically empty bathroom when I think about it!)...but no sofa or chairs to sprawl on....no table and chairs to eat at or work on..and no way of watching the tele without perching on the bed. ...come on,Travelodge rooms do better than this.!!
There were two armless and extremely uncomfortable bedroom chairs and a pouffe (hope I've spelt that right!!) which sort of acted as a wobbly little side table type thing.
We slept well and I was showered to death in their super-duper aircraft hanger of a bathroom next morning before visiting Reception.
The young lady recovered quickly enough when I posed my simple question..."How do I eat a full English Breakfast in your Garden Suite?" replying with a crafty " There is an external dining area,sir"
..Aha!!!..nice thinking on your feet,young lady!!.Well done .............0-15
"What happens when its 30 below or hissing down with rain then,luv" as my response didn't elicit a recordable answer...........................................................................15-all
My second question was the ace.."How do you watch the tele without sitting on the bed,then"
This left the poor lass floundering on the baseline.....................game set and match!!
Now,if you Google "define a hotel suite" , all the websites I visited talk about "multiple rooms" or "bedrooms with attached living areas"...or at the very least "a room with easy chairs or a sofa".
I didn't see any mention of wobbly pouffes.
But forget Google and think of your own experiences.
I've been lucky enough to travel the UK and the world staying in nice accomodation over the years...every "suite" I've lived in had a table and chairs and some form of comfortable lounge seating... a"living area" in fact..even some of the "chain hotels" with their daft "Junior Executive Suites" get it nearly right.

So get your act together,Homewood Park ,you're much ,much too good for all this pompous nonsense. Make sure your definitions are accurate and match your brochure descriptions and importantly ,please ensure that you are not confusing potential visitors.

Be clear, I would definitely not have stayed in the "Garden Room" for the price you offered..but was attracted by the "Suite" connotation .....and my expection of that offer was a lot higher than the reality of the product I got.

Room Tip: Ask some penetrating questions about what you get for your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caterad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 748 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

Having read some of the more positive reviews I am starting to wonder if they stayed at a different hotel!
Friendly service, a warm welcome, an introduction to what the hotel has to offer, certainly not at Homewood Park!

Upon arrival the receptionist was more concerned with ticking things off her little check sheet and enquiring whether we would like an early morning call, than actually welcoming us. She walked us down to the garden suite we had booked without saying a word, unlocked it and simply handed us the key, no introduction to any hotel facilities, or information on the restaurant times, or spa. The only piece of information we were given, which was following my question about children being allowed to use both indoor and outdoor pools was actually incorrect.

We specifically booked this hotel because of its supposed family friendly attitude, wrong! children are not allowed in the indoor spa pool and access to the outdoor pool is restricted to certain hours! When I asked for a locker (which you can't just take, they have the most bizarre system whereby you have to phone reception to ask for a code) I was told there were none available as they had all been taken by day spa guests, and as a hotel resident I should just leave my clothes and valuables in my hotel room, where there is no safe! great idea given that the hotel has very large notices saying they are not liable for any loss or theft greater than £50!

We had booked the garden suite as it had a sofa bed so our 4 year old daughter could sleep there, not that there was any linen for it, or anyone offered to make it up for us. I called twice before anyone came to make it.

Room service is a bit of a joke, hope you're not thirsty!

To top it all when we went to check out I was informed my bill included all the lunches and dinners we had consumed whilst in the hotel (we had none) when I asked to see the receipts for these, I was told "here is your signature" strange really that it was a different name to my husband and I, I had to repeatedly reassure the receptionist that we had not eaten anything in the hotel other than the rather poorly catered breakfast, before she would accept that it wasn't our bill!

When I was finally asked upon checkout had we enjoyed our stay and I replied absolutely not, the hotel seems totally soulless and with a complete lack of management, I was told "yes we have just got a new manager but he's not here yet" explains a lot.

Would we go back,..... definitely not, and I advise anyone else looking for a family friendly hotel to avoid this one.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Underwoodfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

great hotel - stayed here with three kids baby and two under 7 - got a lovely room near the pool with a little garden out front. from arrival we had a genuine friendly welcome at the receptioons as we arrived late with three sleeping kids and all were transferred sleeping to their beds while luggage and car was taken care for us.

Food was excellent both at dinner and breakfast. pool was a little cool buit nice on a hot day. the grounds are really nice and it is no distance into bath.

ordered coffee and bisuits to the room, the cookies were freshly baked and still warm and the kids are still raving about them!

great hotel - will definitely return

Room Tip: family rooms out the back are large and detached so don't need to worry about disturbing other g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very nice staff to greet you, had spar treatments and they were very good, staff very nice there too. Had a slight problem with the phone in the room not working but it was noted. And the shower was too hot to use ( forgot to mention it to reception)
Grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richards61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Superb, friendly service, lovely food and an excellent base for touring around Bath. The hotel is quiet, with beautiful grounds and is packed with 18th century character and charm. The staff are excellent: attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citybreaksarefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay. I'm pleased you had such an enjoyable time and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Josh Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have just returned from a stay at Homewood Park, and as Tripadvisor played such a huge part in my choosing this hotel, I thought it only right that I let you know my comments. I stayed here for one night with my daughter, but happened upon the best couple of days of the summer! It was bliss. We lounged by the pool, occasionally dipping into the thermal pool and using the steam room and sauna.

It was also exceptionally good value. I just booked B&B, rather than a package, and I have to say that I am blown away by what we received. To begin with, we were given an upgraded room which was wonderful. Absolutely beautiful, with double aspect, one side to the valley and hills, and the other to the exquisite gardens. They were also happy for us to stay until the late afternoon on the day that we left, allowing us to enjoy the spa and gardens further. I had expected a gym - but it was actually actually great that there wasn't one and to have an excuse not to partake!

We didn't have dinner in the hotel as there was nothing that we particularly wanted to eat on the menu, but breakfast was extremely good, and they catered admirably for my coeliac needs. Drinks, tea, etc are expensive, but what you would expect in such a setting?

My only reservation is the lack of sunbeds. There are only four. I think it would be a good idea for them to invest in more, especially if they wish to take more day-spa guests.

We had a wonderful time, and will return. Absolutely no doubt whatsoever.

Room Tip: We loved our room, which was beautiful. We saw the suites, which looked nice, but were not part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeaLubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

I pass this hotel every day and thought we would call in for morning coffee. Lovely drive, great setting but oh, such a disappointment when we went in. Lounge was very tired and needed some tlc. No staff available and after a liitie wait decided to go somewhere else. Could be really good but it would take a lot for us to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,384 reviews
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
4.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#22 of 34 in Bath
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range: $155 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing