We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hinton Charterhouse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Priory Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My wife and I spent a three week vacation in the UK and used B&Bs or small Inns the entire time. We spent two nights at Priory Cottage with the purpose of visiting the beautiful city of Bath. Of all the accommodations that we used, this one was the most memorable. Although only 3-4 miles from the heart of Bath, it is in the beautiful countryside of southwest England (Somerset). We did have a car, but the very friendly and helpful owners (Jackie and Martin) suggested we get to Bath by taking the local bus (will stop directly in front of the cottage). Not only does it save money over the relatively pricey parking in car jammed Bath, but the 15 or so minute bus ride offers a terrific way to see some of the fantastic countryside and villages in the area.

Our room had marvelous view of both the front and back gardens of the cottage and was very nicely decorated. It was also spacious and had faultless, free wi-fi connection. The room had nice amenities including coffee and tea making facilities and tasty biscuits (cookies). There is a very nice guest lounge where there was lots of info on the area. It was very relaxing to sit in the back garden or patio and enjoy the views of surrounding country side. They own a huge piece of property so you feel very close to nature. It is instantly clear the Jackie takes great pride in operating a top notch B&B. Since Priory Cottage is so close to Bath, I cannot see any reason to choose a commercial hotel in Bath over this lovely B&B.

The full English breakfast was terrific and, of course, you have a choice of continental breakfast as well. The owners supplied us with a hand written map that showed both roads and footpaths of the local area. The charming village of Freshford is only about a 2 minute drive or perhaps a 10 minute walk for those who might be inclined to use the footpaths. It has a terrific riverside pub (The Inn at Freshford) serving good food, ale, and spirits at reasonable prices. There are a number of other nearby villages that also have great pubs and restaurants. My only regret is that we didn't plan a third night there in order to have a day to explore the local countryside and villages.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youwishyouknew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 62 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

this is our third or fourth short stay and every time we go it is like being on a mini holiday. lovely confortable rooms and very comfortable beds in both rooms, the living room downstairs is great to relax in as well. excellent breakfasts and we love the walking in the local area and the close proximity to Bath - the rail link in the village is particularly helpfull for visiting the city.
Jackie and Martin are great hosts and almost feel like family now, very welcoming and helpfull with local knowledge.

Room Tip: both rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We absolutely loved our four nights at Priory Cottage. Everything about it is delightful and charming--the cottage, the views, the countryside, the village, and above all the hosts, Jackie and Martin. The lodging is very comfortable; in addition to the bedroom, there is a cozy guest lounge where, one evening, we enjoyed a crackling fire while we ate our take out dinner. Jackie prepares a marvelous breakfast and has really thought about every detail to make your stay comfortable. Having lived in the area all their lives, she and her husband are also great resources about things to do and how to get about. The only thing I would do differently is to stay longer!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneWilmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We spent two nights at Priory Cottage, a lovely BB in a wonderful place. Jackie and Martin, the owners, are incredibly nice, kind and helpful, we really enjoyed their company and we felt as if we were at home. Breakfast is absolutely great. The cottage is beautiful, with only two rooms and a lot of privacy. The room was very clean and beautifully decorated. The place is very easy to reach, yet the small village seems to come out from a fairy tale.
I definitely recommend it!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ottaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Priory Cottage is simply beautiful. This was our second stay, and it was just as good as we remembered! Our room was pretty, and had that personal touch. The bed is amazingly comfortable (could have slept there for days!) and the hospitality was superb. Jackie and Martin really looked after us during our stay - nothing was too much trouble. We even had home-made jam for breakfast! We would definitely recommend Priory Cottage to anyone who wants an extra special getaway. Thanks, James and Andrea

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We were looking for a place to stay after an all night plane ride to Heathrow/London and to begin our UK visit in Bath. We were very lucky to select The Priory Cottage. Jackie Moss,(and husband, Martin) the Host/Owner, understood our situation of jet-lag and driving on the left-side stress and had a room ready for us well before the normal check-in time so we could take a caught-up nap. She provided us with directions and recommendations for dinner and sight seeing throughout our stay. Having grown-up in Bath, she knows how to approach the crowds that are Bath and how to negotiate the traffic. She has extensive knowledge of the area and can share with you what to see and how to get there.
The Priory Cottage is out of town off a main road with parking next to the house. It's an exceptional setting and has a great deal of charm. On Jackie's recommendation we took the bus to Bath which worked well in a parking challenged environment, and had the added benefit of a "tour" through the countryside. The bus stops at the cottage's front gate both ways - absolutely pain-free!
The breakfast featured locally sourced products including Aunt Beryl's homemake jam and Martin's mother's tomatoes. There is a relaxing guest lounge we used to unwind at the end of the day.
If one gets the sense that we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and highly recommend the cottage. You're right.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed for one night with a couple of friends from NZ. We were welcomed with tea/coffee and cakes. Rooms were spotless and we had a lounge to ourselves.

Jackie was very helpful and chatty and the breakfast was superb - with the best croissants we've ever tasted.

We cannot speak too highly of the place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coasting_downhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Priory Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: Priory Cottage Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hinton Charterhouse
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Priory Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Priory Cottage Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Priory Cottage Bed & Breakfast Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing