We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practically Perfect in Every Way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hinton Charterhouse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Priory Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We absolutely loved our four nights at Priory Cottage. Everything about it is delightful and charming--the cottage, the views, the countryside, the village, and above all the hosts, Jackie and Martin. The lodging is very comfortable; in addition to the bedroom, there is a cozy guest lounge where, one evening, we enjoyed a crackling fire while we ate our take out dinner. Jackie prepares a marvelous breakfast and has really thought about every detail to make your stay comfortable. Having lived in the area all their lives, she and her husband are also great resources about things to do and how to get about. The only thing I would do differently is to stay longer!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneWilmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Priory Cottage Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 62 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2012

We spent two nights at Priory Cottage, a lovely BB in a wonderful place. Jackie and Martin, the owners, are incredibly nice, kind and helpful, we really enjoyed their company and we felt as if we were at home. Breakfast is absolutely great. The cottage is beautiful, with only two rooms and a lot of privacy. The room was very clean and beautifully decorated. The place is very easy to reach, yet the small village seems to come out from a fairy tale.
I definitely recommend it!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ottaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Priory Cottage is simply beautiful. This was our second stay, and it was just as good as we remembered! Our room was pretty, and had that personal touch. The bed is amazingly comfortable (could have slept there for days!) and the hospitality was superb. Jackie and Martin really looked after us during our stay - nothing was too much trouble. We even had home-made jam for breakfast! We would definitely recommend Priory Cottage to anyone who wants an extra special getaway. Thanks, James and Andrea

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We were looking for a place to stay after an all night plane ride to Heathrow/London and to begin our UK visit in Bath. We were very lucky to select The Priory Cottage. Jackie Moss,(and husband, Martin) the Host/Owner, understood our situation of jet-lag and driving on the left-side stress and had a room ready for us well before the normal check-in time so we could take a caught-up nap. She provided us with directions and recommendations for dinner and sight seeing throughout our stay. Having grown-up in Bath, she knows how to approach the crowds that are Bath and how to negotiate the traffic. She has extensive knowledge of the area and can share with you what to see and how to get there.
The Priory Cottage is out of town off a main road with parking next to the house. It's an exceptional setting and has a great deal of charm. On Jackie's recommendation we took the bus to Bath which worked well in a parking challenged environment, and had the added benefit of a "tour" through the countryside. The bus stops at the cottage's front gate both ways - absolutely pain-free!
The breakfast featured locally sourced products including Aunt Beryl's homemake jam and Martin's mother's tomatoes. There is a relaxing guest lounge we used to unwind at the end of the day.
If one gets the sense that we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and highly recommend the cottage. You're right.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed for one night with a couple of friends from NZ. We were welcomed with tea/coffee and cakes. Rooms were spotless and we had a lounge to ourselves.

Jackie was very helpful and chatty and the breakfast was superb - with the best croissants we've ever tasted.

We cannot speak too highly of the place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coasting_downhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This B & B is very close to where the Roman Baths are located. Jackie welcomed us with delicious banana loaf. It was so good she gave me the recipe and I made it back home. Their home was very warm and cozy and felt like you were in a home, not a hotel. The breakfast was very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a place to stay near Bath.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank relmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in August as we were impressed with the high standard reviews in Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived, Jackie made us feel welcome. The house is beautiful and very comfortable. The bedroom was cosy with a nice view of the garden. Its quiet and peaceful so a good night's sleep is guaranteed. The chocolates on the pillow were a nice touch!

The hosts are great fun so plenty of laughs are guranteed.

We had intended to use the Cottage as base to explore Bath but but we found loads to do in Freshford and the surrounding area. Freshford is very small but it does have a great pub/restaurant called the Inn. The dressed crab should not be missed. There is a lovely walk along the river Avon through Avoncliff and onto Bradford on Avon along the Kennet & Avon canal. The walk takes 2 hours through some gorgeous countryside and it is mostly flat so it is easy to do. Bradford was real find and well worth making a detour to visit. Buses travel from Bradford to Bath every 30 minutes or so so we found we could pack a lot into a 2 day stay at Priory Cottage.

Anyone lucky enough to find accommodation at Priory Cottage and who are travelling by bus from Bath should note that the last bus on weekdays is around 5.45pm. There is the option of the train but it is a 15 - 20 minute walk up a step hill.

We are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiamS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
0.9 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.2 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
735 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
569 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 2 in Hinton Charterhouse
150 reviews
2.4 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#16 of 157 in Bath
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: Priory Cottage Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hinton Charterhouse
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Priory Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Priory Cottage Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Priory Cottage Bed & Breakfast Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing