We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Perfect!”
Mevy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mevy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Mevy
Guests have access to ten acres of woodland, with snowdrop and nature trails.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Saint Germans, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CathyAJ
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
Reviewed October 18, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We just loved it! From the moment we pulled into the driveway to waving a sad farewell we couldn't have wished for anything else. A quite beautifully restored and decorated carriage, pretty flowers, delicious apple juice, fluffy towels, lovely bed linen, comfy bed, well equipped bijou kitchen, (as well as tv & wifi if you get bored with the beautiful outlook). The only thing to add is that it's the fist time ever I've sat on a loo with a view!! Walking distance to the Eliot Arms, community shop & post office with Scholars restaurant even closer. Just a step away from the station for trains to Plymouth or Penzance (and all stations in between). Lovely walks in the surrounding woods and to the quay and easy access to the rest of the beautiful Rame peninsula. Congratulations Lizzie & Dave on your wonderful venture and we hope we will be able to return again next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2018
Thank you ever so much Cathy for your kind review. We do very much appreciate it. So glad you liked Mevy - we feel very lucky to be able to share this lovely carriage and are so pleased you liked the way it was restored and converted. Thank you for taking the time to make this review online, and also the information about the wider area. We hope to see you again soon. Hope you're enjoying the lovely weather. Best wishes,
Lizzy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FalmouthR...
FALMOUTH
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TOTALLY DIFFERENT & TOP NOTCH”
Reviewed March 31, 2017 for a stay in June 2016

Lizzy and team have done a fabulous job in restoring this carriage. Everything has been thought of within the carriage and it is a real delight to stay in this very special accommodation. The village is a short stroll away and the Friday evening visit of the mobile catering van offers a superb range of take-away food . (the liver & onions were excellent). With the rail station a few yards away one can pop into Plymouth for a good day out , or a good bus service would take you to Looe. We look forward to our next visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2018
Thank you Richard so much for reviewing Mevy. It's always a pleasure to see you. We really appreciate you taking the time to let people know online. Hope all is well and look forward to seeing you soon.
All the best,
Lizzy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m3rmw
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superbly renovated accommodation for all the family”
Reviewed March 30, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed in this carriage just after Christmas 2016 and had a fabulous time and with the station on your door step its easy to catch trains to many places in Cornwall such as Looe, St Ives, Newquay and Penzance

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2017
Thank you Richard for your lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed staying in Mevy. Thanks very much for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor - it is much appreciated.
Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Lizzy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda C
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing accomodation”
Reviewed March 29, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We have visited this site three times and always been made to feel welcome and special by the owners. We stayed in this carriage twice and could not fault it. It is luxurious as it even includes a full size cooker and a roll top bath so nice to relax in. The village of St Germans has a church, a friendly pub and a local shop which includes a Post Office. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and it is a good base to visit Plymouth, Looe and the Eden project.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2017
Thank you Glenda for your lovely review and thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor - it is very much appreciated. Thanks for talking about the village - it is a good touring base and we're lucky to have a good train service. Hope you are both well - it's always lovely to see you.
All the best,
Lizzy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolegs
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A True Gem”
Reviewed March 29, 2017 for a stay in September 2015

We were very lucky to be one of the first people to stay in Mevy. Having stayed in the adjacent carriages, we watched the progress of Mevy grow from an almost derelict Slip Coach into a truly amazing luxury holiday home. Whilst not actually on the lineside like the others, this accommodation is luxury. Dave and his dedicated crew spared no expense in the restoration. I hate having to recommend this to others as I will have trouble getting back myself. If you are lucky enough to get booked you will find Lizzy really helpful and not intrusive.
ENJOY !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2017
Thank you Ray for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed Mevy and thanks for the comment about seeing in the changes. We're at the same stage now with our next carriage Millpool - Dave's been busy this week making the windows.
If you are able to come again, we'll always be delighted to see you. Do send our regards to Shirley. Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
All the best,
Lizzy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing