We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyde House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hyde House
Ranked #1 of 1 Arlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Excellent doesn't do this place justice, its a hidden treasure. The property is meticulously refurbished, the owners/hosts are welcoming and extremely helpful, the rooms are to die for.... we stayed for two nights in the Wilmington room and couldn't falter a thing. If you are really looking to treat yourself, we can vouch for the Brunch, it was served in style and tasted divine. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HELP101969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
226 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was an overnight stay arranged, together with a lunch, to help celebrate a special family occasion. The lunch was at the Wingrove House hotel in nearby Alfriston (also to be highly recommended), then we were warmly welcomed by hosts Nina and her husband at Chilverbridge in Arlington, only about 3 miles away. We were a 2-roomed party, so our "apartment" with interconnecting, but still very separate, rooms (Sackville and Keynes) was perfect for us. Ours was the upper level room - in the roof - which was warm and cosy. Everything you would wish for: beautifully decorated, and well-appointed, the bathroom with both shower room and slipper bath. There were a number of easy chairs, footstool, cushions aplenty, kettle, a great selection of teas and coffees with cafettiere, biscuits etc. The king bed was wonderfully comfortable, though the duvet was so heavy we did rather feel smothered under it!

As we didn't want to go out for dinner, Nina prepared a supper for us, including a delicious selection of carrot-sticks with dips, and homemade sandwiches and cakes. There was even more wonderful catering at breakfast, which was served in a lovely dining room in the main house. We were first provided with champagne (in honour of our celebratory occasion), then ensued a three course, a la carte breakfast of fresh fruits, cereals, porridge, full English breakfast, eggs florentine, benedict and royale, all cooked to perfection, and served with a smile. We had a three-and-a half year-old in our party, who was greeted with colouring in books and crayons, and offered an equally delicious breakfast. In truth, it was the most unhurried and enjoyable breakfast I have ever had. To conclude our morning, our hostess Nina spent time chatting and introducing us to some of the local wildlife!

It was a lovely establishment and overnight stay. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Chilverbridge House!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We loved our short stay here. We had the Keynes Room which was amazing, and the grounds were absolutely gorgeous - unfortunately we were too late in the year for the swimming pool to be open but we had a lovely time lounging in the garden and enjoying the spectacular views (and delicious lemon drizzle cake!). Nina and Nick were great hosts - there if you needed them and always happy to help without ever being intrusive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tori010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Thanks to Nick and Nina's attention to detail, Chilverbridge House was a great addition to our Glyndebourne experience. Even though we stayed only one night we felt like a part of the family. 5* accomodation, beautiful gardens, good location. The place to stay in Sussex! Looking forward to coming back this summer!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Best place we have stayed in - on arrival we were offered freshly home baked cake and a warm welcome. The rooms are luxuriously appointed with amazing attention to every detail and spotlessly clean and the comfiest bed we have ever slept in anywhere. Delicious freshly cooked to order breakfast with an amazing variety of choice and very generous portions. Service was impeccable, served in a beautiful dining room, white linen napkins and tablecloths, with soft lighting on every table, overlooking breathtaking views. Nick and Nina are friendly, welcoming and very hospitable and gave us lots of ideas on places to visit. Will most definitely return again and would highly recommend. Could not find fault in anything.

Room Tip: Stayed in Keynes room - super king sized luxurious bed and amazing bathroom. Looked at a couple of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoneyRoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Nick and Nina could not have been more welcoming and attentive, without being at all intrusive. When they realised I wanted a quiet, relaxing evening and was not going out to dinner, Nick arrived at my door with a tray of bread and cheese and a delicious fruit tart. Their standard of renovation and finish to everything at Chilverbridge is astonishing. The double bed in my room rates as the most comfortable I've ever slept in!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic stay with friends at Chilverbridge House. The attention to detail and all the added extras in this charming house really do exceed expectations. A warm welcome from Nina and husband Nick, large and beautifully decorated rooms with great views over the Sussex countryside, wonderful breakfasts, particularly the kedgeree on Sunday morning, knowledgeable recommendations -what more can we say. Will definitely return and will recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful base near Brighton.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KWAKBeerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilverbridgeHouse, Owner at Hyde House, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your review. Feedback is always welcomed so that we can immediately address any area in which we might improve our Guests' experience - not least because we are pleased to note that you plan to return. To this end, it would be very helpful if you felt able to express the specific point(s) that were detrimental to your sleep quality. Best wishes, Nina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
2.7 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crossways Hotel
Crossways Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde House

Property: Hyde House
Address: Chilverbridge House Chilver Bridge Road | Selmeston, Arlington BN26 6SB, England (Formerly Chilverbridge House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning hosts own and run this stylish, relaxed village house in a peaceful location, surrounded by open countryside and just 10 minutes from Glyndebourne. Luxurious en-suite rooms feature "...enormous comfortable beds that you get lost in..." and the breakfasts are "... to die for...". The picturesque village of Alfriston is close by and cosmopolitan Brighton only 20 minutes' drive, making this a perfect location from which to tour Sussex and Kent. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing