We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Skip the Line: Thang Long Water Puppet Theater Entrance Tickets
255

Book in advance
from
$10.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Vietnam Museum of Ethnology
from $10.00
More Info
from $36.00
More Info
from $32.00
More Info
from $41.50
More Info
Reviews (6,594)
Filter reviews
6,594 results
Traveler rating
3,586
2,370
561
59
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,586
2,370
561
59
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ethnic groups on display water puppet theatre tribe exhibits culture homes vietnam ethnicities information costumes customs clothing insight textiles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 6,594 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2019

Small museum containing information about all the different ethnic groups in Vietnam. Information about traditional Vietnamese ways of life, from day to day rural living to religious rituals. Each minority is represented with a showcase. Afterwards, you can see some of their houses built by locals craftsmen in the museum garden. We loved this part.
The museum garden houses also a water puppet performance which is surprisingly entertaining and interesting. Several short performances - shot scenes/sketches depicting day to day rural life as well as celebration rituals. Skilled puppeteers, talented singers and musicians. It takes 30 minutes and is a kind of greatest hits compilation. Probably horribly touristy - but perfect for a group of mildly interested foreigners with a seven year old in tow.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank the_merri_fields
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 25, 2019 via mobile

Did not know that Viet Nam has that many ethnic groups! Great information. Recommend visit with a tour guide, or get an audio tour at the museum.

Date of experience: August 2019
3  Thank FlipViet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 24, 2019

Lots of tour groups here with guides but we walked round on our own. Signs translated into English - interesting with lots of information on culture, clothing, food and living conditions. Gardens area was great too - but we only spent a little time there as the sun was so strong and we were struggling with the heat! Went with 3 teenage boys and they liked it too!

Date of experience: August 2019
3  Thank Jochips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

The museum was interesting (if you like museums) but the opportunity to actually walk into and see in real life the houses the ethnic minority live in was an fantastic. Each ethnic minority has their own style of building and there were around 6 houses from the main groups. One house, a long house, must have been almost 50 meters long. And you can explore every bit of it. Some houses have woven walls, some have walls made from mud and plants. all quite different & very interesting. Great to show the kids how different people live in different parts of the world. Then you can take them to the social enterprise Baguette Chocolat for lunch, a restaurant in a delightful forest setting next to the houses, and tell them how this restaurant is changing lives by taking youth from the most marginalized families in Vietnam and training them in hospitality so they have a decent future.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank cherrell p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 18, 2019 via mobile

If you like to know more about people of Vietnam . This small museum will give you some knowledge about 57ethnic people who live in Vietnam. You can buy the ticket on the spot . For adult I bought it for 40k dong.you can rent some audio guide but it would cost money more than the ticket . The museum has 2 floor only . Outside the museum behind it there are a big garden showcasing some house lived by some ethnic group . You can also catch some water puppet show but it would cost around 90kdong .

Date of experience: August 2019
3  Thank Faith_Thong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews