We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic weekend”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The Blue Lake
Crabbing on Barmouth Beach
Barmouth Bridge
Arthog Falls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Arthog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Adam P
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic weekend”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My wife, son and I had a brilliant time at your lovely cottage.

The surrounding area was beautiful and the steam railway at Fairbourne was the highlight of the trip for our 2 year old son Luke.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
So glad you enjoyed the stay in Athog. Hope to see you again. There are lots more local steam railways to explore!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19carrieh
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Should have stayed longer!”
Reviewed April 28, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Charming, well equipped and beautifully presented cottage. Exactly as portrayed in the pictures, from the period features to the seating area in the garden which we enjoyed in the evening. Some fabulous sunsets and plenty of wildlife to see.
Enjoyed the relaxing country break without being too far from the seaside towns of Barmouth and Fairbourne. A good place to be based for exploring the surrounding area. Something for everyone but particularly good if walking and mountain biking are your thing.
Experience the blue lagoon, (old quarry) within walking distance - be careful going through the entrance tunnel and then be amazed at the stunning reflections in the bluest water. From here walk into Fairbourne and take the little train to the end of the line and pick up the boat across to Barmouth. Lovely shops and cafes to visit here as well as the endless sandy beaches. Walk back to Arthog via the railway bridge across the estuary and unwind in the comfort of the cottage or sitting out in the garden. Bliss!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the fact that the cottage was exactly as stated.
Liked least: Parking is a bit further up the road from the cottage but it wasn't really an issue as easy to stop and load and unload right outside the door.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ally L
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage, beautiful location, plenty to do!”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a few days at the end of the Easter holidays and it was great! The cottage is absolutely lovely - the owners have thoughtfully organised it with everything you need for your stay from towels through to s decent corkscrew! All you really need to do is turn up and enjoy a your glass of wine in front of the fire or out in the garden, depending on the time of year/weather!

Upstairs are two fairly generous sized bedrooms and a decent bathroom - all very clean and homely. Downstairs a cosy lounge and a good sized kitchen/diner big enough for our family of four to cook and eat in when we did not eat out. Very nice decor as you can see from the pictures - and the views are just as good!

We found plenty to do locally - we were only staying for a few days but our favourites were Barmouth, the Fairbourne Steam Train and Coed y Brenin forrest park. The owners have thoughtfully provided a good range of leaflets for inspiration if you need it.

Altogether a brilliant few days - we'd definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2016
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoying staying in our cottage and hope you get the chance to visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
I'm really glad that you had a nice time and enjoyed your holiday in our little house. Thank you for taking the time to do a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing