We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Carvery”
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Avoch B&B and Inns
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Visited for first time this Sunday, after hearing a couple of good reports. We had the two course carvery lunch. I had the roast beef and my husband had the lamb. This was accompanied by a HUGE selection of veg. Also, yorkshire pudding, roast and new baby potatoes. You then help yourself to the veg. I had mashed turnip, cauliflower with cheese sauce, peas and carrots. Also on offer was cabbage and ratatouille. We finally decided on our sweet, as the choice was huge. My husband had Vanilla and Honey Cheesecake with brandy ice cream, which was as light as a feather, and I had a trio of flavoured ice creams, with pistachio, raspberry creme brulee, and vanilla. There was about 8 or 9 to choose from. It was a hard choice, as rhubarb, Belgian Chocolate and strawberry to choose from as well as 3 or 4 sorbets. The rest of the sweet menu was one of the nicest I have ever had to ponder over. The starter menu was also vast and very different, including a lot of seafood dishes. We will be trying that one next trip. The 2 course lunch was £13.95 or the three course meal was £15.95, although there is no way either of us could have managed all that !!! The food was very impressive and the staff were very pleasant and helpful indeed. We ate in the nice bright conservatory or there is a nice cosy bar area as well. It was a brilliant lunch, and when I asked the waitress if the ice cream was homemade as well, she said that everything is, and I saw nothing coming out that looked like it wasnt ! We cant wait to go back here again. Forgot to mention, if you dont fancy the carvery, there was a HUGE choice of main courses as well, at least 10 or even 12. Sometimes, I think, if there is such a huge choice of dishes, that they are more sort of 'fast food' type of food. This was definately NOT the case here. Well done Station Hotel,definately on to a winner there !!!

Room Tip: didnt stay in hotel, just ate at lunchtime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavaqueen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    36
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
30
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Had lovely lunch, excellent menu plenty to choose from. left completly stuffed. Really nice staff. will defo be back very soon

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We had lunch here on Thursday. It was quiet and relaxing, about twelve people eating at this time.The menu is excellent, ranging from sandwiches to steaks with lots to choose from. The staff are nice and welcoming and the service was quick. We had Scampi and Black Isle burger, both meals were large, no room for a sweet! A good place to eat but you would be advised to book for evenings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Popped in for a quick bite to eat on a day trip around the Black Isle. Had the Station Club sandwich. Amazing. Best we have eaten outside of New York and that is the home of the sandwich. Lovely fresh salad and coleslaw with it too. Will make a point of staying here next time around. Excellent service and good banter with the owner the lady from Kent.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lobster2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed at Station Hotel, Avoch on a Friday night in April 2012. Everything about the stay was excellent. The staff are extremely welcoming and friendly - not to mention accommodating in ensuring we got everything we required from our stay there. The dinner in this hotel is just amazing - a vast menu sure to have something to please everyone, cooked fresh, excellent portion sizes, very tasty and served by friendly staff again. The hot Malteser crepe is a definite must have! The rooms have recently been refurbished and were very clean, fresh and comfortable. As for breakfast (the full Highland/Scottish cooked breakfast) - what can I say - best hotel breakfast contender? I think so.....
Fully recommend staying at this hotel, or popping in for food if time is shorter than an overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Myself, my partner & her son took our respective parents out for Mother's Day & had previously booked a table at The Station for this occasion. What a great decison that turned out to be. We all had different starters which were served quickly & pleasantly by the very polite young waitress. The starters were huge! Ranging from tempura prawns which contained six massive prawns to the deep fried brie which had six huge chunks of delicious brie. Most of our party ordered the carvery for the mains which again contained a huge amount of meats, potatoes & various veg all cooked very well & served piping hot. Fantastic!! Our bill was very reasonable & we will most certainly be back here pretty soon. In summary, great food, mega portions, good Guinness (always important!!) & lovely friendly staff. Take my advise - Try this place. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Myself, my Partner and my Mother decided to venture to the Station Hotel in Avoch for a lunch on Saturday whilst out and about. We were met with a voluminous menu which on questioning staff "are you telling me I can get anything from this menu", was told "yes indeed, all cooked fresh, welcome to our menu".

My Mother a Coeliac has horrendous bother at times finding something she can eat on menu's, here we were told that she could have anything she wanted "tweaked" to her liking. That personal touch was very much appreciated.

We had a fabulous, tasty and very reasonably priced experience. Prices were good for lunchtime snacks, and you went from £5 for a basic baked potato up to £14/15 for a hearty venison dish. Take some time with the menu, it is worth a read, and make sure you wipe your chin if you salivate excessively.

Both Male and Female Waiting Staff were attentive, friendly and nothing seemed too much bother. Good Craick Black Isle Style.

Food advertised as being served all day/7 days (I think it was 12-8 - please check before you go).

I'd also like to point out the main Lounge Bar has been updated in decor, a warming dark purple interior with accents of white welcomes both hungry and thirsty traveler.

Don't drive past and miss the opportunity of grabbing a bite here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissMeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avoch
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
6.4 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,784 reviews
5.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Inverness
Travelodge Inverness
#23 of 34 in Inverness
164 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hillhaven Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Roth Ach B&B
Roth Ach B&B
#1 of 2 in Avoch
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Property: The Station Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Avoch IV9 8PP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Avoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Avoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing