We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another amazing stay at Colebrook in the Isle of...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Colebrook

The cottage looks out onto spectacular views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage looks out onto spectacular views
The lovely enclosed organic garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The cottage looks out onto spectacular views
The lovely enclosed organic garden
Sit out in the peace and quiet..
A welcoming hallway
The sitting room
Warm and cosy by the open fire
A brand new kitchen..
Well equipped kitchen ...and opposite the breakfast room with patio doors to the garden.
Patio doors to garden
The Breakfast room
The traditional dining room looks out onto the sea at the front
The patio looks onto the organic garden
Sit out and Bbq..
The Garden bedroom
The garden bedroom with it's patio doors..
Another window to look out to the garden
The wetroom on the lower floor
The wetroom
The twin bedded room again with beautiful views
3 minutes walk to the Steam Packet Hotel, good food and real ales
Walk to the remaining leg stumps of the famous Wicker man nearby at Burrowhead!
The Harbour views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whithorn, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NinianD
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Another amazing stay at Colebrook in the Isle of Whithorn”
Reviewed October 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at this property a few years ago with our children. We wanted a weeks break away from the hustle and bustle and were delighted that the cottage was available. The cottage is really cosy and the location is ideal. You can see the sea from the windows at the front and the back. There are lots of great walks including many along the coast. We didn't take our bikes and wish we had so we may well visit again in the future taking our bikes. We invited my in-laws to stay with us as there is a second bedroom. They hadn't been to this part of Scotland and they loved the cottage and area too. We visited the Steam Packet Inn which is a two minute walk from the cottage and serves real ales and delicious food. The weather was excellent too so we had no need to put the real coal fire on which was a pity but it was fantastic to go for long walks and even sunbathe out on the clifftop. We love this cottage and the area. We will definitely be back and would recommend Colebrook to anyone.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the cottage itself
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda D
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An outstanding location and a lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed October 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Yet again had a wonderful holiday in this cosy cottage and stunning surroundings. The cottage has everything you need and is beautifully presented upon arrival, with lovely fresh flowers - a lovely touch. The views from the cottage are fantastic - overlooking the harbour and the distant hills. There is a lovely garden which was so peaceful to relax in.

Would highly recommend this cottage.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Was all good
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“a lovely and relaxing space to unwind”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Colebrook was clean and welcoming; the harbor view right across the road was a welcome sight and encouraged you to just gaze and while away the time. The steam packet inn just 2 minutes walk around the harbor also gave a great welcome, good food and an additional room when our family expanded for an extra couple of days. Great walking opportunities and beautiful scenery. A great get away from it all.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: its proximity to the harbor
Liked least: the twin beds
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arataP
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect for our honeymoon.....”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We got married at Gretna Green at the end of May and chose Colebrook as our honeymoon destination for a weeks' peace and quiet.So glad that we did. What a fabulous location with the sea front and back and the lovely secluded rear garden. The cottage is spacious and very charming and a real home-from-home. It is very well equipped with everything you could need for a self-catering holiday.
An added bonus is the excellent Steam Packet pub just a short stroll away where we ate on several occasions (super food!)
The area is very pretty with lots of coastal and rural walks. Would love to return and explore some more....maybe on our anniversary......and would definitely stay at Colebrook again. A little gem! Graham & Rosemary Salt.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niamhsgra...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great short break”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a lovely few days at cottage. So cosy and clean. Views were amazing from all of the windows. Went for walks. Weather dry and bright which was great too. No signal on our mobile which wasn't a problem for us but might for others. Will hopefully return.

Date of stay: September 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
490lindah
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage and stunning views”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
6
people found this review helpful

I would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone holidaying in the area. It has all the mod cons but maintains the old cottage feel. It was very clean and tidy with vases of flowers from the garden on arrival which was a nice touch. There are spectacular views from both the front and back of the cottage and we enjoyed watching all the sea birds from the window. There are numerous walks to enjoy in the area and we particularly enjoyed discovering the old fashioned tea room with home made cakes and speciality teas in Whithorn. The Steam Packet pub is 2 minutes walk from the cottage and serves excellent food. A thoroughly enjoyable holiday and we hope to return soon.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spectacular views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinianD
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Colebrook this April and what a wonderful holiday we had.
The cottage itself is delightful - full of charm and very comfortable. The rooms are spacious considering there were four of us. We used the dining room for meals and board games in the evening.
We ate in occasionally but also enjoyed the food (and drink) from the local pub the Steam Packet. It was brilliant walking out of the cottage and having a cold beer in hand two minutes later.
There are plenty of walks to do around there and we got lots of fresh air surrounded by beautiful scenery. You can't beat being right beside the sea.
We will definitely go back to stay at Colebrook and next time we hope to take our bikes with us to enjoy more of this beautiful area. It really did feel like a "get away from it all" holiday!

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage, The scenery, The walks and The Steam Packet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing