We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great wee place to eat”
Review of The Galley Cafe

The Galley Cafe
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Annalong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Good Home Cooked Food at affordable prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and evening meals/delicious homemade desserts, tray bakes and scones. Daily specials, low fat menu, gluten free options, groups catered for by pre-order.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I would recommend anyone to visit the Galley Cafe in Annalong and sample their delightful menu. The food served here is not alone tasty but the staff are friendly and helpful. The portion sizes are great and very good value for money. I thoroughly enjoy eating in this lovely little cafe, it has a homely atmosphere that is why we have made it one of our top places to eat. I also take my mum here as she loves the pensioners special, "You can't beat good fish and chips" she says!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank roberta h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 257 of 260 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

We visit Newcastle with the kids almost on a weekly basis and our favourite place to stop and eat is at the Galley Restaurant in Annalong... The food is always excellent quality and the hygiene to the highest standard and we have never had a mediocre meal here.

The staff are always warm and friendly, and the owners can be seen regularly chatting with the customers. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the area and even if you are close by it is well worth the drive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

I drove 30 miles to this place with the whole family as I was saying who good it was however tonight on arriving and ordering the food we found a quite spot an tucked in,,,,,, it was very disappointing the fish was half the size, and the chips were not nice at all and to top it of hairs in the kids chicken nugget meal boxes,,,, felt silly after bragging about this place,,, sorry I won't be doing the 60 mile round trip again,,,,,,,,,,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chrisj14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

We are very disappointed that this customer has had a bad experience especially after travelling so far. We would like to address some of the issues he had - size of fish. Our fish is sold by weight and starts with a 5 oz fish at £2.20 right up to the largest fish at £3.30. We give our customers the option of choosing the size of their fish - therfore when they order at the counter they usually indicate to our staff that they wish to purchase a large fish and although this customer was served a small fish he would also have been charged accordingly. The issue with the hairs we have no answers - our staff wear both hats and hairnets and the kids nugget boxes sit upside down on a shelf directly behind the counter so do not know where the hairs came from. We endeavor to make sure our hygiene standard is as high as possible and this has been endorsed by all the awards that we have won. We have a 5 star award from both the Foods Standard Agency and the National Fish Friers Federation - both of which involve very rigorous inspections of both our premises and hygiene practices. We would much prefer a customer to come back into the shop to us and let us know if they are unhappy with any of our service. We would make it a priority to reckify the problem - to ensure that our customer is completely satisfied.

Joey & Aileen Chambers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have been here a few times before and it was always very nice but when I got food from here last week I was very disappointed. I opened chip wrapping paper to find it was covered in dried mushy pea stains and a hair was on top of the chips. This level of poor hygiene is just not acceptable. Is it hard to wrap food in clean paper or make sure hair is covered when serving food? I think not. May have been a one off but for me unacceptable so I will not be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kpmc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you for your review and for visiting us on several occasions. We are however disappointed that you have had a bad experience on your last visit. We can only apologize for the mushy pea stain on your wrapping paper and would completely agree with you> This is totally unacceptable and we have brought this to the attention of all our staff to ensure that this does not happen again. We are disappointed that this was allowed to happen as we thought that all our staff would know that this was very unacceptable. We can only also apologize for the hair on your chips - we do all we can do to try and ensure that this doesn't happen - our staff wear both hats and hairnets which is all we can do to try and prevent this from happening. We endeavor to make sure our hygiene standard is at a very high standard and this has been endorsed many times by the many awards that we have won. We currently have a 5 star award from both the Foods Standard Agency and the National Fish Friers Federation - both of which involve very rigorous inspections of our premises and hygiene practices and have on many occasions been complemented on our very high standard.

Once again please accept our apologies and we are disappointed that you wont revisit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Galley is situated on the coast road in Annalong and must be visited. The food alone is wiorth the trip.The little restaurant (6 or 7 tables?) is delightful and is attached to the fish and chip shop. The walls are covered in well deserved good food and hygiene awards. But this is much more than just fish and chips.The range of food on the menu was impressive - from Ulster fries to freshly caught local fish. The service was extremely good even on a busy day. Very popular with locals (no wonder!). Didn't try the fish and chip shop itself but judging by the queues it was of the same high standard.
Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank forresjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Galley Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Galley Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing