We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR LOCAL RESTAURANT FOR TWO WEEKS”
Review of Il Grotto

Il Grotto
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Romano in Garfagnana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Grotto
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed in Villetta in a lovely villa for two weeks in August and visited the restaurant on at least ten occasions, The pizzas and pastas were first class and the owners were very friendly and hospitable. They even welcomed my son and his friend and took them down to the local
porcetta for an evening out. A big thank you to all and we all look forward to next year when we are staying for three weeks. Dave, Jackie, Tom and Kev.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the hotel but just used the restaurant and well stocked shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank partiLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 28 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had gone to this restaurant as part of a group of 12 people. It took 45 minutes to get a beer! The mushroom soup was excellent but the trout was terrible. They had flattened the fish after cooking so it was virtually impossible to dig out all the bones. Several of the courses got mixed up. They never asked us whether we enjoyed the meal, and the waitress had a sense-of-humour by-pass, and didn't smile all evening. I will not be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cairokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

It IS quite simply the best pizza we've come across in our extensive research! Another gem on the menu is the home made ravioli in walnut sauce. Unfortunately it wasn't available this evening, though you could have the ravioli with butter and sage. Maybe it's a seasonal thing.

The staff (younger members of the family) are, like many Garfagnanans, rather dour but service is otherwise good and there is always fresh linen on the tables. They need to bin the artificial flowers on the tables though!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Noceto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I was given a night off kitchen duty and we decided to try the trattoria attached to our life saving allementari (grocery shop) as the family had served us well in the grocery department for the past fortnight so hopefully the food is as good.

We came across it when we drove from Venice to San Romano on Easter Monday and not a thing was open between Venice and there except for a little bar in Sassorosso where we got some pizza, and thankfully Il Grotto to get the essentials for our stay in our farmhouse.

Well if you ever find yourself in the Garfagnana and you want a great meal then Il Grotto di Saloti is a must. The best pizza in northern Italy as far as toppings by light years.

Pizza so far in Italy consists of a thin base with cheese and tomato and a sparse topping of choice. Well this pizza you taste the topping not just the base and tomato. The zuppa (soup) was a hit as well and all the deserts are hand made including the gelato and the exquisite creme brulee.

Il pasto era squisito grazie mille.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ricca76c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Martien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Grotto

Address: Via Provinciale 46 | Località Villetta, 55038 San Romano in Garfagnana, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > San Romano in Garfagnana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Romano in Garfagnana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing