We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful countryside, lots of flora and fauna to...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Lairoux, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
John A
Welwyn
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful countryside, lots of flora and fauna to see and combined with a lovely holiday home.”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just enjoyed a glorious week at Maison Lairoux in the Vendee. What a lovely spot, the Gite was just perfect with great facilities, beautifully appointed, a heated swimming pool and everything you could want in a holiday cottage. The Gite enjoys a great position overlooking the Marais and is teeming with wildlife. There are storks to be seen perched on their nests, swans and we saw a couple of coypu swimming: we had thought they were beavers but not so. The sounds of birds are everywhere including Hoopoe, Golden Orioles as well as finches and tits. We brought our bikes here and this is lovely cycling country, flat with quiet roads and great little restaurants and bars nearby. The beaches at Aiguillon sur Mer and Faut sur Mer are great with lots of friendly bars and restaurants. Gosh this week has flown by and we hope to return soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Many thanks for leaving such a nice review! Everyone who stays in L'Ecurie at Maison Lairoux loves the view from the terrace and the lovely country lanes - for cycling and walking.
We're glad that you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles V
1 review
“Wonderfull getaway in France”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

L'Ecurie holiday home in Larouix.the welcome was First class with the owners Annette and Jason greeting us after a long drive.made the start of our holiday break great. The home was very comfortable and inviting,with a bottle of wine and chocolates on the table.certainly made it home from home.the home was very well equipped.from a teaspoon up to the clean and fresh bed linen. the only thing we found was that extra hand towels would have been better as only one hand towel between our 4 people.the out look from the home was lovely also the weather.was great. Our dog Poppy (who is on Facebook of this holiday Home Masion really enjoyed the large garden.the pool looked very inviting but was not open due to us being early for the season.the selection of games dvds and books etc.was really eye opening.too many to choice all available to use free along with the laptop and the wifi connection.and French and English tv.we are certainly planning a return trip longer than a week next time Cannot wait.THANKS TO THE OWNERS ANNETTE and JASON.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
Many thanks for your great review! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
A selection of hand and tea towels are available in the cupboard under the sink in the bathroom or one of the drawers in the kitchen. I'll point them out for your next visit!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce B
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Gite holiday!”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent a fantastic 2 weeks at Maison Lairoux! Our gite L'ecurie was very well equipped with everything one could possibly need for a self catering holiday. We loved the fantastic view from our patio and our girls (9 and 11) loved the pool, the big garden, the games room and the cats (especially Fleur!). Annette and Jason were fantastic hosts - thank so much for your hospitality - we enjoyed our drinks and BBQ evenings with you - and they know so much about the local area. We had some great days out - the O'Gliss Water Park and Puy du Fou are musts! There really is so much to do in the local area - with the beaches just 15 mins away. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Maison Lairoux to anyone! We would have booked again for next year but the gite is fully booked already - so we will be back again in summer 2018. We look forward to seeing Annette and Jason again then!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts / the location
Liked least: having to come home!!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahra...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“A spacious holiday home in a lovely spot”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was our first time in France as a family of 4 (with teenagers aged 14 & 18). The holiday home was just perfect for us, very spacious, well laid out with a gorgeous bathroom and a modern very well equipped kitchen. The gardens were lovely and full of butterflies and bees which my daughter loved to photograph. The pool was a godsend with the hot weather we had. And the surrounding area is a lovely quiet pretty place. You do need a car to get out and about but this wasn't a problem as we were keen to venture out every day to so many places, including La Rochelle, the island of Ile de Rae (very pretty with great views from the castle), Puy Du Fou (a huge hit with us all, very spectacular shows), and to gorgeous beaches including Tranche Sur Mer and Veillon Plage. And last but not least a mention of our fabulous hosts Annette and Jason (who live on site across the courtyard). They were simply so so friendly and helpful. Our week in France wouldn't have been the same if it wasn't for all their recommendations for places to visit, restaurants to go to and assistance with booking tickets (for Puy du Fou), taxi service 1 night and general chit chat every day. We highly recommend L'Ecurie Holiday home ;-)

Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harley P
1 review
“As always absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Yet another fab holiday in Lairoux.
Relaxing and eating with a lovely view, peace and quiet. The Pool is an absolute must.
So are headache tablets if you stop by for a drink or 2 with jason and annette - wonderful hosts and very welcomingAs my husband found out!!!
We also had fab weather which makes everything perfect

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2016
Glad to see that you enjoyed yourselves again!! Not too many headaches this year, and lots of relaxing by the pool! We'll see you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amandine...
2 reviews
“Great stay at l'Ecurie”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Very pleasant and clean home. Very pleasant setting. Annette and Jason are very nice and accommodating hosts. I recommend without any concerns.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne2601...
Competa, Spain
2 reviews
“Superb accommodation”
Reviewed March 9, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Excellent facilities, warm and cosy when the weather not very good
Fantastic for families in the summer, parents could laze by the pool whilst the children make full use of the games room. You could easily shop on the journey for the week and not move out.
Annette and Jason were there if we needed them, but didn't ever intrude. The fact that the owners are on site could be off putting when looking to rent, but they were perfect.

La Rochelle definitely worth a visit and for shopping HiperU at Lucon brilliant

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful surroundings
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing