We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise found”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Secondigny, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
David F
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a find. From the moment we arrived we knew we had found the perfect spot for our holiday. Set among orchards of trees you will find two lakes begging to be fished. First things first we had to unload the car before we could fish. The gite was everything you could want with every thing you could want with a great log burner, which heats the whole gite. Then we met Julie and Simon, what a pair, nothing was any trouble for them, perfect hosts not forgetting the two `girls` great dogs and very freindly. The chickens made an appearance, their eggs are great. If you are looking for peace and quite away from the hectic world then this is it. Supermarket is a couple of mins away and has everything that you could want and a great shop selling so much inexspensive wine you could easily become alcoholic.The fishing is great, broke my pb twice. Have never seen fish in such great condition and they fight well above their weight. You wont find any 50lb fish yet but they are getting there, Simon and Julie really know how to look after thier stock. If you need any help or advise then Simon will be there to help, all i can say is listen to what he tells you. The only problam that we came accross was getting out of bed in the mornings, but is that a problam? If you want to travel arround and see some of the country then you are well placed. If you enjoy rural France then you will love this place, we were the only British car to be seen in the supermarket car park. Even though we are not French speaking we had no problam with shopping or eating out, if you try then so will they. I could go on and on about this find of a place but what I will say is you will not find a place like this anywhere. Its so good that we have booked for four weeks next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Only staying for two weeks.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
Wow... what a review. Thanks so very much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and glowing review.
The day we came for our first viewing was grey and miserable, and the place was really in need of some TLC, but as soon as we walked around the lakes our hearts flipped, we fell in love with the lakes without even seeing inside the gites. We really hoped that our customers would feel the same when they arrived here, and you have truly endorsed that. We are thrilled that you enjoyed it so much, and so glad you are coming back. See you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Gite, great setting and great fishing”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a fantastic stay at La Germondiere staying in the 2 bedroom gite. The Gite was very spacious and well equipped with a lovely Garden overlooking the lake. Simon and Julie were very friendly and nothing was ever too much hassle. The fishing was great in a lovely setting with two lakes full of fish. I can't fault La Germondiere and I hope to be back in the future!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2015
Thanks so much for your feedback, it really is appreciated. So glad you enjoyed your holiday, and we would be very very happy to see you here again. It is such a pleasure to watch a skilled angler 'at work'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hodgc
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

From the amazing welcome from Simon amd Julie, the lovely cool, characterful spacious gite with everything supplied that you could need and more, to the good fishing on the beautiful lakes to keep Ian well and truly happy, we couldn't have asked for a more realxing, perfect holiday.
There is plenty to see and do in the area to keep anyone who visits occupied for as long as they need. There are also great places to eat nearby if you don't want to be cooking all the time.
We have already booked for 3 weeks next year with our 2 dogs as well, can't wait!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2015
Thanks very much for taking the time to provide feedback and for your very kind words. It really was our pleasure..... you are in our category of 'perfect customers' and we are thrilled you have chosen to come back again next year. Looking forward to seeing you both again and meeting your dogs. It seems a long time away, but am sure it will be here in no time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyfCorn...
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Smiling welcome, lovely gite and great fishing. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. I've not seen lakes as well maintained as these. Caught numerous good fish including 'Starburst' (apparently!); involved our host Simon who launched his boat to unsnag the line, his father-in-law Jack who played the fish whilst I played another on my second rod and eventually, myself. Three people to land one fish... Memorable. A short drive to good local amenities. Fresh eggs and great wine!!! Fabulous wildlife. We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to add this review.. and even more thanks for such positive feedback. It was a pleasure for us too.... and we really look forward to seeing you both again next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic fishing in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I can only comment on the fishing as I didn't stay on site. However, the fishing was brilliant - there are two fishing lakes, one smaller one with mixed coarse fish and the larger lake with bigger Carp which is where I fished. I caught 10 Carp upto 13lbs on the first day, and followed this up with 7 Carp upto 10lbs on the second day. All of the fish were in outstanding condition and really stunning, the lakes are set in beautiful surroundings and look very natural with trees and bushes around the perimeter. The birdlife is amazing and during my two days I saw Kingfishers, Woodpeckers, Herons, Ducks and Buzzards to name just a few. Simon and Julie have created a little piece of French paradise and they cannot do enough for you, they really are super nice people too. I only visited here for a couple of days just to sample the fishing, imagine what a good holiday you could have if you stayed for a week or two! Thank you Simon and Julie, I shall have to return!
All the best,

Rob Such
Derbyshire, UK.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to add this review.... look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area... or even if you choose to book a holiday with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorotheeL...
Perigny, France
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2018
C'est très gentil de votre part de prendre le temps de nous donner une si bonne critique, merci merci merci!. Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié vos vacances dans notre coin de paradis et nous espérons sincèrement vous revoir ici.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randriama...
Poitiers, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
Google Translation

Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
Vous êtes très gentil, merci.
Nous serions ravis de vous revoir ici!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing