We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Secondigny, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
hodgc
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

From the amazing welcome from Simon amd Julie, the lovely cool, characterful spacious gite with everything supplied that you could need and more, to the good fishing on the beautiful lakes to keep Ian well and truly happy, we couldn't have asked for a more realxing, perfect holiday.
There is plenty to see and do in the area to keep anyone who visits occupied for as long as they need. There are also great places to eat nearby if you don't want to be cooking all the time.
We have already booked for 3 weeks next year with our 2 dogs as well, can't wait!!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2015
Thanks very much for taking the time to provide feedback and for your very kind words. It really was our pleasure..... you are in our category of 'perfect customers' and we are thrilled you have chosen to come back again next year. Looking forward to seeing you both again and meeting your dogs. It seems a long time away, but am sure it will be here in no time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyfCorn...
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Smiling welcome, lovely gite and great fishing. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. I've not seen lakes as well maintained as these. Caught numerous good fish including 'Starburst' (apparently!); involved our host Simon who launched his boat to unsnag the line, his father-in-law Jack who played the fish whilst I played another on my second rod and eventually, myself. Three people to land one fish... Memorable. A short drive to good local amenities. Fresh eggs and great wine!!! Fabulous wildlife. We'll be back.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to add this review.. and even more thanks for such positive feedback. It was a pleasure for us too.... and we really look forward to seeing you both again next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic fishing in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I can only comment on the fishing as I didn't stay on site. However, the fishing was brilliant - there are two fishing lakes, one smaller one with mixed coarse fish and the larger lake with bigger Carp which is where I fished. I caught 10 Carp upto 13lbs on the first day, and followed this up with 7 Carp upto 10lbs on the second day. All of the fish were in outstanding condition and really stunning, the lakes are set in beautiful surroundings and look very natural with trees and bushes around the perimeter. The birdlife is amazing and during my two days I saw Kingfishers, Woodpeckers, Herons, Ducks and Buzzards to name just a few. Simon and Julie have created a little piece of French paradise and they cannot do enough for you, they really are super nice people too. I only visited here for a couple of days just to sample the fishing, imagine what a good holiday you could have if you stayed for a week or two! Thank you Simon and Julie, I shall have to return!
All the best,

Rob Such
Derbyshire, UK.

Date of stay: August 2014
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to add this review.... look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area... or even if you choose to book a holiday with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorotheeL...
Perigny, France
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2018
C'est très gentil de votre part de prendre le temps de nous donner une si bonne critique, merci merci merci!. Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié vos vacances dans notre coin de paradis et nous espérons sincèrement vous revoir ici.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randriama...
Poitiers, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
Vous êtes très gentil, merci.
Nous serions ravis de vous revoir ici!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lotta17
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
Merci beaucoup pour vos paroles très aimables.
Le plaisir est à nous ...... il est si enrichissante quand les gens arrivent en tant que clients, et partent comme des amis. Nous attendons avec impatience de vous revoir bientôt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKA13004
Marseille, France
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
Merci de prendre le temps d'ajouter votre avis, et je vous remercie pour vos commentaires.
Je me demande où vous dépensez vos vacances cette année, et combien attractions touristiques vous cochez sur votre liste. Bonnes vacances!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing