We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage in a lovely setting”
other travelers have booked this property
Cottage de Bois Nalbert
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage de Bois Nalbert
Kitchen View from the lake jetty to the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Cottage de Bois Nalbert
Kitchen
View from the lake jetty to the cottage
Double bedroom with en suite
Twin bedroom with en-suite
View from the pool of fenced cattle
Medieval bridge at Parthenay
View of lake from the jetty (Winter)
Parthenay from the ramparts
Apple week at Secondigny
The lake in the spring
Master bedroom
Swimming pool terrace
From the cottage lake with BBQ
Spacious swimming pool area
Swimming pool With steps. (40 ft by 20ft)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Secondigny, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
David C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fantastic cottage in a lovely setting”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a really great time at the cottage and are sorry to have had to leave. The cottage itself gives you all you need on holiday - the two bedrooms are a good size (and with comfortable beds), and both are en-suite with decent showers; the kitchen area is well-equipped and the lounge area spacious, with free-view UK tv. But what really made it for us was the large swimming pool and especially the private fishing lake and lakeside BBQ. It really is a wonderful setting that must surely be fairly unique in a holiday let. The wider area too is just beautiful, and for such a remote location there are a surprising number of activities available (our own favourites were go-karting and kayaking), and provided a great backdrop for more home-made activities such as walking, cycling and running. We were surprised by some local wildlife while we were there, but they turned out to be no more than dormice, and the owners were very quick to help us tackle them. Overall, just a great place to get away from it all (and the wifi available by the swimming pool - a bonus since it was not advertised - just enough to keep you in touch with the rest of the world!)

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private lake
Liked least: The dormice!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet J
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A relaxing break in the Deux Sevres”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at Bois Nalbert for one week in July 2014. The cottage was clean , comfortable and which we liked all on one level. It had a private fishing lake where my husband spent many hours - sadly no fish were biting! There was also a large freshwater pool (for our sole use) which was located in the grounds of the owner's manor house. The access would be difficult for people with reduced mobility as you needed to climb a bank! The area was peaceful and there was an excellent restaurant "Le Relais des Saveurs" 3 mins away by car. There was a a Super U at Secondigny - 15 mins by car which was open on Sunday mornings. Unfortunately the weather wasn't very kind to us and we didn't make use of the pool, but it is certainly a lovely cottage if you want a peaceful relaxing break.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fishing Lake
Liked least: No internet access
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacPhilli...
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect little spot for a total 'get away from it all experience'”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just come back from 12 nights at the cottage, originally we booked for 10 but we loved it so much we were lucky enough to pay for 2 extra nights and would have stayed longer if we didn't have to get back for work.

The cottage was spacious, nicely decorated and fully equipped with everything you could ever need. We fished at the lake pretty much every day with a little success. The pool got most of our attention for the stay, and this made it for me, perfect size, lovely and clean, plenty of room around the pool and also secure so dogs or children can't escape. Talking of which, the dogs were made to feel very welcome as were we. The owner has the manor house next door and he was a true gent, welcomed us on arrival, always on hand if we needed anything but gave us our privacy.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone who wants a perfect little rustic escape where you can get away from the hustle and bustle of day to day life.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool
Liked least: The hornets
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnL5782...
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic location, lovely property with a big sky!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Lovely cottage well equipped and very comfortable. The area itself is very rural so don't expect attractions on the doorstep so be prepared to get your exploring boots on, there are some gems within a short drive. However if all you want is a relaxing 'away from it all' holiday this place is perfect just to stay and chill. Worthy of mention is the brilliant pool, a great size, you can actually swim more than 5 strokes per length. A great touch on arrival was the wine, beer, milk etc. strictly in that order!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Evening BBQs by the lake rediscovering my love of Astronomy and watching the wildlife.
Liked least: Nothing worth mentioning!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“It is a beautiful, quiet and peaceful place .”
Reviewed August 21, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

The cottage has everything you could need and the lake is beautiul. We made good use of the swimming pool and my husband fished in the lake.

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lake, barbecue and outdoor eating area by the kitchen and also by the pool.
Liked least: I can't think of anything I didn't like.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 8, 2012 for a stay in August 2011

Date of stay: August 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility
Liked least: The salt water swimming pool for the kids
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and you will be pleased to know that we have replaced the TV with a larger flat screen version complete with English free view TV.We are glad you liked the salt water pool, it is a system that gives crystal clear swimming without using harmful chemicals so a much more pleasant experiance and eco friendly. We look forward to seeing you all again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Danielle...
Valence, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing