We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay, great location, excellent value for...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of La Danvoliere

The front of the barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of the barn
A view of the Barn and rear patio area Landscaped garden at the front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The front of the barn
A view of the Barn and rear patio area
Landscaped garden at the front
A table for two
Kitchen area
Fully integrated Kitchen
Comfortable sitting area and log burner
TV and DVD area
Living area
staircase to first floor
The Master bedroom
The double bedroom
Twin bedroom 1
Twin bedroom 2
Bathroom
Bathroom
A winter view from the barn
Medieval city of Fougeres
medieval city of Fougeres
St Malo harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Levare, Mayenne, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
alorotom
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great stay, great location, excellent value for money”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed at the property recently for a week from 27th August.

It's approx 4hr 30mins from the eurotunnel terminal in Calais and was less than €20 in road tolls, using mainly the motorway network. The location was found easily on both Waze and my cars sat nav.

The property is large and spacious and was much more than we needed (2 adults and a 2yr old), outdoor space was plentiful as well with a decent above ground pool, large gravelled patio and BBQ area and steps upto a large open grassed area.

The property is well appointed and due to the thickness of the walls doesn't really require AC, we found that even in high 20s it wasn't needed.

Plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms all furnished well, and a good size cot in the master as well.

Plenty to do in the immediate area and 2 supermarkets close (Super U in Gorron and Ernee - the latter being bigger but about 10mins further away).

Great location for day trips to St Malo and also La Fleche for the amazing zoo.

An expat who lives locally (Tony) sorted a couple of minor issues with the pool with ease and was a nice guy and offered some great insights into the local area.

I would definitely book again to stay at the property of I was going to be in the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that Tony was able to help and offer advise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munkfonk
Diss, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful location and everything you need”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our group was made up of 4 adults, a teen and 3 young children and we all enjoyed our stay immensely. La Danvoliere is situated in a delightful rural location which was peaceful and relaxing but also convenient for shops, bars and restaurants. There are also plenty of activities nearby and the coast is not far. This is the perfect gite for a fun filled family holiday and I can't recommend staying here enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan lounge, diner and kitchen, large bedrooms with very comfortable beds, garden with BBQ area and the pool.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Thanks for your very kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alison b
croydon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Lovely relaxing break with family”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The property is in a lovely rural location, with a beautiful garden. It is very spacious and well equipped, with a great kitchen, table tennis, table football and a few bikes. There is plenty to do nearby - wonderful castles to visit, bike riding and kayaking and Mont St Michel is within reach (great Alligator Bay there!)

We thoroughly enjoyed the fab pool, which was really clean if a little cold! There was plenty of room for 7 of us, including 2 brave grandparents! This was our second visit to La Danvoliere, we all enjoyed our stay again. We really missed the quiet on our return to the UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and pool were gorgeous
Liked least: The beds were rather uncomfortable
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Thanks for your kind review and look forward to seeing you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2016
Thanks for your very kind review and informative suggestions which may help other guests to La Danvoliere.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
clouisa31
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful french countryside stay”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely barn conversion set in the french countryside. Beautiful french style decor and very spacious - plenty of room for a group of 8! Has everything you need from a BBQ for warm summer evenings outside to a large log fire for cooler nights (accompanied by a glass of french wine)!

We enjoyed lots of lovely day trips out during our stay, including to...
- Angers to visit the castle with roof top vineyards and ancient apocalypse tapestry (free for 25's and under!)
- St Malo, the beautiful walled port city with a beach with diving board, lots of lovely gift shops and eateries (we also stopped via a coastal town en route and ate a three course menu of fresh seafood for only 15 euros!)
- Laval to visit the pretty medieval Chateau and had a nosy around the french high street shops!
- Bagnoles-de-O'lorne the spa town, which has lovely gardens set around a boating lake (we saw a family of swans.. very cute), mini-golf and of course, a spa resort!!
- Local brocantes (antiques shops) and the Emmaus in Fougeres (lots of lovely rustic french furniture and treasures to be snapped up for next to nothing!)

We also went to the sports bar/bowling alley in Gorron a few evenings (open until 1am on weekdays and 3am at the weekends!) and had a meal at a vibrant little pizzeria owned by a lovely english family in Passais la Conception.

All in all, a lovely holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and beautifully decorated property
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
Thanks for your very kind, detailed and informative response. Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktprob
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Peaceful & relaxing with great facilities! The barn was lovely and spacious and full of lots of activities for the children. If you want to get away from it all, this is perfect. The pool was great and actually the children could stand up fine so we didn't have to get in, if it was too cold!! Easy to stand at the side or sit on the grass above to supervise. In August, we found the surrounding towns to be quite quiet so we had to venture further afield for more life and somewhere to eat at night. Ange Michel fun park was a huge hit with the children and we loved our day trip to Dinard and St Malo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1980chimp
norfolk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful farmhouse”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A fantastic farmhouse in a lovely setting. The photos don't do it justice and the open plan living area was much more spacious than anticipated. Welcome wine and beer on arrival was very much appreciated after a long drive down. Lovely quiet local roads to cycle, gardens near Colombiers du Plessis worth a visit. Restaurant in Ambrieres very good and looked after us with our poor language skills! Ideal setting for a large family or 2 families, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Living space
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;