We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison du Rire

La Maison du Rire
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Coustouge
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The wine and food school with a difference. Learn about the wines and the foods of the Languedoc-Roussillon in a fun and informal atmosphere. 3 hr tastings, cooking and quaffing day courses and weekend breaks.
Newbury
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Emma organised a wine tasting evening with tapas for us during our stay at a villa in the Languedoc this summer and, based on our experience, we would wholeheartedly recommend her to anyone looking for a special evening during their holidays in this lovely part of France . Not only is Emma highly knowledgeable about the wines of Languedoc-Rousillon, she is a skilled cook, a relaxed and patient tutor, and a lovely person. All 12 members of our party (ranging from 13 years old to nearly 60 years old) not only learned a lot, but also had a very enjoyable and memorable evening.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beeches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
“Hugely enjoyable and informative end to our wedding festival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We simply cannot rate Emma highly enough. She came to perform the wine tasting for our family and friends at Chateau de Queille, where we had spent a week for our wedding party. It was the final event of our stay and what a way to wrap things up!
Emma went out of her way to prepare a very well considered and fascinating tasting for us, equipping us with a huge amount of information - not only on the wines sampled but the tasting process, the region and the history behind the Langedoc Rousillion wine industry (neatly bringing everything up to the current day to gives us a comprehensive view of how it has evolved over time and the unique and exciting direction some of the more contemporary vineyards are headed in).
Her style was beautifully eloquent, yet relaxed and informal and her patience for all of our questions (that mounted as the tasting proceeded!) commendable.
Our love for the region was only heightened form the experience and we cannot thank her enough for a wonderful evening!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An experience extraordinaire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

There is no finer way to discover the wines, foods and culture of Languedoc-Rousillon, than to spend an evening with Emma Kersaw of "La Maison du Rire". Emma's knowledge of wine, engaging style along with her superb local wine and food pairings are pure artistry. This is a one-of-a-kind experience that will enhance your appreciation of this beautiful region of France.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you do one thing in Languedoc ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We set up our first experience in the southern part of France to meet with Emma. She is highly trained in the world of wine. Emma came to the farmhouse that we were staying at to set up an evening of wine tasting paired with tapas that she had skillfully prepared. Little did we know how highly professional Emma is in her knowledge of wine, along with having a delightful sense of humor. We all agreed that the information learned from Emma helped us appreciate the area of France. If our travels should someday return us to France, I would definitely contact Emma.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank kathyinmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wine and food pairing in France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We loved having Emma come to our villa and do wine tasting with tapas! We tasted three whites, a rose and four reds-all from the Languedoc part of France. Emma gave us interesting information about each of the wineries. Her experience with selecting and serving wine both in England and in France was a bonus. The food she prepared and served was spectacular. I was surprised to find wines I didn't care for initially but when they were served with certain foods, they were just right. We learned which vineyards follow biodynamic principals and why. We were happy we did this on our first full day in Languedoc because it was very helpful in selecting wines for the remainder of our stay in France. Emma's knowledge and experience about wine and food pairings impressed all of us.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lgyjhelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison du Rire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing