We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
RichardWCT
Sydney, Australia

Not another big & impersonal resort

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 27, 2012
We booked 2 beach front villas on AGODA for 2 nights for our family of 4 adults, as we had not been to Hua Hin before & wanted to experience the smaller personal Thai resort as well as the larger high end luxury style over the 7 days that we are here.
The villas are very nice, they are quite compact but are comfortable. As they are only 20 metres from the steps down to the beach then access is easy & you get a sea breeze meaning that air conditioning is not really required.
The beach sand is quite clean, with very little human trash left behind by thoughtless locals & tourists. The ocean is warm & clean & great swimming, with very small waves.
The swimming pool is small & shallow & really is only for kids. Likewise the attached spa bath. There is no gym.
We ate at their restaurant the night that we arrived, as we were not keen on another drive, having just got in from Bangkok. The location was great, at a table right on the edge of the wall overlooking the beach at high tide, with the water lapping at the steps to the resort. The standard of fare was only o.k., with the prices a bit high for the calibre of the cuisine. We will certainly dine at one of the many restaurants in the area over the next 6 days.
Breakfast was very basic & not up to the standard of the accomodation.
A small & personal place, good for families with young kids.
Date of stay: July 2012
Room Tip: An early morning walk along the beach is a great way to see the locals at work, before the day...
Trip type: Traveled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$107
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $29
  • Agoda.com
    $27
  • Hotels.com
    $107
0.4 miles from Baan Talay Dao Resort
Free parking
Pool
Drone shot of the exterior
$56
  • Priceline
    $59
  • Vio.com
    $53
  • Expedia.com
    $64
1.0 miles from Baan Talay Dao Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
$50
  • Expedia.com
    $50
  • Priceline
    $50
  • Hotels.com
    $50
0.8 miles from Baan Talay Dao Resort
Free parking
Pool
$112
  • Expedia.com
    $112
  • Vio.com
    $94
  • Priceline
    $112
0.3 miles from Baan Talay Dao Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$83
$72
  • Expedia.com
    $75
  • Priceline
    $76
  • Hotels.com
    $75
1.2 miles from Baan Talay Dao Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Pool at The Lapa Hua Hin Hotel
$45
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $40
  • Trip.com
    $33
  • Expedia.com
    $50
1.4 miles from Baan Talay Dao Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$68
  • Expedia.com
    $71
  • Priceline
    $52
  • Hotels.com
    $71
1.1 miles from Baan Talay Dao Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    $102
  • Expedia.com
    $238
0.2 miles from Baan Talay Dao Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $194
  • HolidayInn.com
    $195
  • Booking.com
    $195
0.6 miles from Baan Talay Dao Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nong Kae
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
81
100
20
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
81
100
20
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews intimate resort beach access cicada market seafood villa kilometers weekends
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 205 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

In my mind Baan Talay Dao Resort is a really nice hotel, even through it is a bit too far out of town. The cost effectiveness is excellent. It is a small hotel and not overcrowded. I did not stay in the city centre but therefore I could relax and enjoy my holiday. I really loved it to spend my holiday here and I am sure I will stay here again. I think this hotel is perfect for families and couples!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip098
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Loevly hotel but building work ruined the rest! The staff were great and upgraded us to a bungalow from a standard room. The rooms were spacious, clean and really well kitted out - even supplying flip flops.

WIth a leafy courtyard, eternity pool and being right on the beach, it's a really good find. The food was fairly standard fair but breakfast was poor.

It's a shame the sea is full of jelly fish which prevents swimming - we didn't manage to swim in the sea at all in the week we stayed. The pool with its sea view makes up for it though.

There is a lot of development nearby (we couldn't hear it luckily) so maybe by next year this hotel will be in the thick of things.

Room tip: Get a bungalow!
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BadgerFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights in March 2012. This is a little jewel situated right on the beach with lovely shady trees and lots of vegetation. The pool is right above the beach, with sunchairs looking out across the ocean. Magical. It never seems to be busy during the day, as a lot of the holidaymakers stay out of the sun until after 4 pm. Step out on to the beach, and you can walk for miles either towards Hua Hin or to the temple at Koh Takiab. If walking to the temple, go when the tide is on the way out, and you may be lucky enough to catch the monkeys swimming and diving near the rocks - quite a site ! We loved the room, we were on the ground floor, which was handy for access. Very attentive staff, I would stay here again, and would recommend it for couples and also for families. There was a weddiing there on the Saturday, and all the garden was decorated with lights, flowers and streamers. All the guests that we spoke with on the followiing day were full of praise for the organisation from the hotel staff.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tripfan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Very good value, smallish so no feeling of being crowded. Nice food. Not in the centre of town. For this location that is good, quieter. Would certainly stay here again. Good for family, couples.

Date of stay: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We have just spent an enjoyable relaxing week at this unassuming resort that grew on us daily. With only 32 rooms it provided us with a personal service from every staff member rarely enjoyed today. Not once did they not greet us with a friendly smile and a cherry greeting.
The studio room was very clean, private and overlooked a central courtyard and had everything we needed. It was very quiet and we were not disturbed by the other guests even though the Resort was full over the New Year period. The breakfast was varied and well presented. We also ate at the restaurant and found it be very good too. We couldn't use the beach as it was high tide during our stay making it unusable but we managed to walk to the beach at Khao Takiab (under the golden buddah) every day and enjoyed it immensely. There was a free shuttle bus to the beach and the centre of town daily but found we rarely used it. The shuttle driver even insisted we take the ride with him one day as he thought we shouldn't walk that far so we happily obliged to placate him. What a lovely young man he was too.
We now know what Thai hospitality is all about!

Date of stay: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B4652HOsallyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews