We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$229
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/21
Expedia.com
$229
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/21
Agoda.com
$49
View deal
CheapTickets$229
Travelocity$229
Priceline$69
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
76
98
20
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
76
98
20
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 197 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Loevly hotel but building work ruined the rest! The staff were great and upgraded us to a bungalow from a standard room. The rooms were spacious, clean and really well kitted out - even supplying flip flops.

WIth a leafy courtyard, eternity pool and being right on the beach, it's a really good find. The food was fairly standard fair but breakfast was poor.

It's a shame the sea is full of jelly fish which prevents swimming - we didn't manage to swim in the sea at all in the week we stayed. The pool with its sea view makes up for it though.

There is a lot of development nearby (we couldn't hear it luckily) so maybe by next year this hotel will be in the thick of things.

Room tip: Get a bungalow!
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BadgerFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights in March 2012. This is a little jewel situated right on the beach with lovely shady trees and lots of vegetation. The pool is right above the beach, with sunchairs looking out across the ocean. Magical. It never seems to be busy during the day, as a lot of the holidaymakers stay out of the sun until after 4 pm. Step out on to the beach, and you can walk for miles either towards Hua Hin or to the temple at Koh Takiab. If walking to the temple, go when the tide is on the way out, and you may be lucky enough to catch the monkeys swimming and diving near the rocks - quite a site ! We loved the room, we were on the ground floor, which was handy for access. Very attentive staff, I would stay here again, and would recommend it for couples and also for families. There was a weddiing there on the Saturday, and all the garden was decorated with lights, flowers and streamers. All the guests that we spoke with on the followiing day were full of praise for the organisation from the hotel staff.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tripfan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Very good value, smallish so no feeling of being crowded. Nice food. Not in the centre of town. For this location that is good, quieter. Would certainly stay here again. Good for family, couples.

Date of stay: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We have just spent an enjoyable relaxing week at this unassuming resort that grew on us daily. With only 32 rooms it provided us with a personal service from every staff member rarely enjoyed today. Not once did they not greet us with a friendly smile and a cherry greeting.
The studio room was very clean, private and overlooked a central courtyard and had everything we needed. It was very quiet and we were not disturbed by the other guests even though the Resort was full over the New Year period. The breakfast was varied and well presented. We also ate at the restaurant and found it be very good too. We couldn't use the beach as it was high tide during our stay making it unusable but we managed to walk to the beach at Khao Takiab (under the golden buddah) every day and enjoyed it immensely. There was a free shuttle bus to the beach and the centre of town daily but found we rarely used it. The shuttle driver even insisted we take the ride with him one day as he thought we shouldn't walk that far so we happily obliged to placate him. What a lovely young man he was too.
We now know what Thai hospitality is all about!

Date of stay: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B4652HOsallyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Perfect two days.. My now wife and I planned to get married in December 2011 at Hua Hin.

April 2011 She found a wonderful venue, we booked in and started to plan. 4 weeks later, the Venue contacted us and said that due to a computer system issue they had now doubled booked, they were no longer able to accommodate us for the wedding.

Panic set in and we jumped onto a plane to Thailand, to go and look for other venues (that we had researched on the web). We spent hours visiting lots of hotels, discussing wedding packages.

The very last hotel of the last evening we stopped at Baan Talay Dao ..... The entrance to the hotel is quite long and very uninspiring. However as we had driven down the drive, we though lets have a look.

My wife who is Thai, talked to the reception, they immediately made us feel very welcome. The staff asked if we would like to see pictures of previous weddings. We looked at each other and thought, why is this the first venue to show us examples of previous weddings (yes we are amateurs for not asking before).

The photos looked great.. So we asked to look at the rooms. They are clean comfortable, with lcd TV and free Wifi. The Villa rooms have beautiful baths in. (They remind me of a traditional thai hotel rooms)

The wedding ceremony room was a modified Thai house. (amazing..)

My only concern at this point was the fact that there was a blackboard showing pictures of food, and I though, this didnt sell itself very well. I was nervous.. However when I got back to our hotel, I jumped on Trip Advisor and started to read the reviews. )

Several of the reviews stated how good the food at the hotel was. That was it, we had to go back in the morning and try the food... Also it was a good chance to look around the hotel during the day.

We were not disappointed. The food is great, in fact they even do cooking classes (however we didn't have time to do the class)

At this point we now had two very different hotels in mind. either Baan Talay Dao or the Sheraton Hau Hin. We needed to do numbers and work out costings.

The general manager of Baan Talay Dao, is based in Bangkok, and was not available to discuss pricing etc. As we left Thailand the next day, the packages were discussed in email and over the phone.

The Sharaton had set price packages, they also didn't seem to want to deviate from their 'package' deals. The hotel was just too big. That said it is an amazing hotel, with a huge lagoon swimming pool.

Baan Talay Dao, also had some big plus points. The resort was traditional thai, not too big, the staff seemed so welcoming. In fact the only thing that I was a little disappointed with was the swimming pool. It is small. However for the wedding. it didnt matter people still loved it and were also able to swim in the sea. (also no issue getting beer / drinks served around the pool area a big plus..)

In the end the choice came to two factors.

1) The service we recieved from the hotel, in just what they would be able to provide as a package

2) The overal cost, for having lots of different types of food, plus the ability to provide BYO on Wine / Champagne (wine is a luxary in Thailand so is priced that way).

Baan Talay Dao (BTD) won on both accounts. Therefore our choice was made.

The planning of the wedding..
BTD was amazing, we paid our deposit and the wheel were in motion. Basically the manager did everything possible to organise and accommodate our requests.

They requested our colours , copies of our invites, what type of foods, if we had any requirements such as my dad not liking spicy food. They made us a cake, organised a band, and a local wedding guest gifts..

I know things were made a little easier because my wife is Thai, no language barrier. However BTD were able to send emails in English, and also were available on Skype to chat. In fact my wife didn't meet the organiser of our wedding until about 5 days before the special day!! But they had bonded over the internet and it just worked.

The special day... Amazing... Amazing... Amazing
The staff were already preparing the day before when we arrived. we had booked out maybe 80% of the hotel for our guests.

On the day, they had dressed up the hotel to look amazing, the staff were very welcoming to all our guests, and it was noticeable the effort they all put in, in fact we saw that one of the bar staff had worked from early morning to late evening.

Our wedding was traditional thai. all organised by the hotel, which included;
1) Blessing from monks and food offering
2) Breakfast
3) Thai Engagement.. and Chinese Tea ceremony
4) Wedding registration
5) Water Ceremony
6) canapés and champagne.. (little bit of western)

There was then a 6 hour gap where our guests went to the local floating markets or relaxed by the pool.

The evening reception was similar to a western wedding reception, the bride wears white. We had an international buffet and seafood bbq. The food was brilliant and there was soooo much to eat. The staff were non stop pouring drinks.

We had to stop the band at 10pm due to noise restrictions, however the staff were happy for people to sit around and continue to socialise. Although by this time many people started to leave.

All in all an amazing day, made so special by the efforts of the Manager (Kung) and her amazing team...

If you are looking for a nice resort, that is quiet traditional or somewhere in Thailand to get married, have a serious look at Baan Talay Dao.

Room tip: Pick the villa rooms..
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PCNorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews