We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful gite.”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
La Roche Derrien, Cotes-d'Armor, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
bellajo20...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful gite.”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent eight nights in this very special, beautifully appointed gite Set in a lightly wooded area the cottage is an adjunct to the owners' home but relatively private and separate from same. We were greeted by the friendly, helpful owners who showed us around the gite and gave help when asked but left us to enjoy ourselves without any intrusion.About twenty minutes plus to no end of good beaches, we had a good beach type holiday although there isn't a great deal else to do in the region apart from eat and drink- so we did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent taste and comfort of the gite.
Liked least: WC was the length of the lounge from the bathroom hand washing facilities..
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2016
Dear Joan and Mick,

It was a real pleasure to have you at the Moulin de Beltaine and we are very happy that you had a good time here.
For your next visit, we will be glad to show you more of our beautiful region and guide you through all activities available in the area.

We send you sun and fresh air from Brittany.
With our kindest regards,

Luc & Francois
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon C
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Beware--no fireplace use, hosts enter while you are gone!”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We arrived on a cold, very rainy day (yes, June, but still rainy and cold) and were told we could not use the fireplace. Francois told us it is only available for certain months of the year. If you have dreams of a romantic fire on a chilly Brittany night, forget it. Every night was cold and we would have loved it after being out in the countryside all day. Yes the pictures show it, and they say it in the listing as you can see, but you can't use it. BOO. Ambiance expectations ruined.
Owners Luc and Francois also entered the rental on two days while we were out sightseeing, without our knowledge or consent. When confronted with this, they told us "this is normal." WRONG. In US or Canada we would have called the police. Total breach of privacy and NOT OKAY. Their attitude about both issues were that we could basically go find someplace else. Thanks, guys.
When we checked in Francois also gave me a THREE PAGE/double columned inventory of everything in the rental which I was to do. In French, which I don't speak. No kidding--couch, microwave, etc, down to counting forks and spoons. Are you kidding me? I quit after two hours of translating and counting various decorations and kitchen utensils. Ridiculous and insulting.
It is miles from anywhere, literally 20 minute drive one way for groceries, 30+ to any real restaurant. The spot is lovely and it has been well decorated/remodeled, besides some water damage from rain leaks.
If you don't mind an unusable fireplace at least half the year, don't care about people having unannounced access to all your belongings when you are gone, and are willing to spend some of your vacation doing their inventory, this is the place for you. Otherwise, steer clear!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Lovely view out of rear window
Liked least: No fireplace, hosts entered without permission
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2016
Dear Shannon, Dear Chris,

We would like to apologize once again for this situation and we are sorry that your stay in our lodge didn’t make you happy.

You came in June 2016 as AirBNB guests for 3 nights.

As mentioned in our renting conditions, the fireplace is only in use between october and march. We would have made the fireplace usable for you, even in June, but unfortunately it was being repaired (repair was finished July 11th).
As you asked for a 35% discount because the fireplace was not working, we considered that the fireplace was really important for you and proposed to help you find and book a guesthouse in the close area with a fireplace in use and, of course, reimburse you the 2 remaining nights.
You declined this offer and decided to remain in our lodge.

When we came to propose you this solution, you mentioned a leak in the bedroom. We entered the lodge when you were gone later to check on this leak. It appeared that it was not a leak, but only condensation on the glass door of the bedroom due to the fact that you put all heaters to the max (it was 26 degrees in the lodge) without putting the ventilation on.
We also noticed clothes drying very close to the heaters, though it is clearly written in english on the heaters that it is forbidden.

This is the thing that encouraged us to enter the lodge the next day, as you clearly didn’t use the lodge in a safe way.
Not to mention the 300 liters of hot water you used everyday, draining the water tank and then complaining that you had no more water.

Concerning the inventory, we would like to remind you that you decided to stay in a Gîte (holiday cottage), not a hotel or a bed & breakfast and an inventory is normal and mandatory in such type of accommodation.

Our location is clearly mentioned on all sites : you are in the middle of a beautiful preserved nature and it takes 15 minutes to go to the supermarket and to eat at very good restaurants. If being walking distance to supermarkets and restaurants is important for your experience, you should consider renting accommodations in cities next times.

You clearly didn’t understand the spirit of our lodge and we are sorry that you could not enjoy the joys of nature. Should you have spent less time sending us numerous complaints by emails, you would have enjoyed the deers and squirrels running in the park.

Best regards,

Luc & Francois
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourist76...
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEJB332
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDAA59
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2016
Bonjour à vous Trois!

C’était un véritable plaisir de vous avoir au Moulin et nous sommes ravis que vous ayez passé un bon moment.
Et quel bonheur aussi pour nous que vous ayez pu voir les biches et l’écureuil… ça, ça nous met toujours en joie!

Nous aurons grand plaisir à vous accueillir à nouveau!
Ressourcez-vous bien!

Luc & Francois
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordik_to...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
Google Translation
3
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2016
Nous avons été ravis de vous recevoir et vous permettre de passer un week-end de détente totale. A bientôt dans le Gîte du Moulin de Beltaine !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcommunic...
Châtillon, Ile-de-France, France
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2016
Merci beaucoup et nous serons bien sur ravis de vous accueillir de nouveau dans notre vallée pour vous faire "chouchouter" !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing