We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We didn't stay in Le Pigonnier, we stayed in the...”
other travelers have booked this property
Arial south east view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arial south east view
House and Cottage Le Pigeonnaire with late April Wisteria
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Arial south east view
House and Cottage
Le Pigeonnaire with late April Wisteria
Kitchen
Kitchen too
Dining area
Sitting Room
Sitting room showing woodburner
Sitting Room.. TV English and French, DVD Player, VHS player
Steep staircase
Landing and door to Balcony
Twin bedded room
Pigeonnaire Balcony
Swimming pool Terrace
Pool
Swimming Pool
Summer gardens
Rotunda in the gardens
View from cottage kitchen
Magic trees
Quaint Street Orthez
Le Chateau de Morlanne
Chateau Pau
Col d'Aubisque
Mountain views
Pic du Midi
Lourdes - worth a visit
The beach at Moiiet et Mar
Our poultry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saint Sever, Landes, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
allan6164
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We didn't stay in Le Pigonnier, we stayed in the main house.”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a fantastic stay at Chateau Coye, we visited during the Easter weekend and stayed in the Champagne Suite. This is located in the main house. The house is fantastic, the owners Len and Liz are great hosts, breakfast was excellent, bread, pastries, coffee, OJ, yogurts, cold meats and cheese were just a sample of the start to the day. In the evening, meals were provided on an at request basis, value for money, choice of meal and atmosphere was superb. We will be going back in June with some friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: It a bit out of the way, with no amenities within walking distance, but this is the upside, not the downside of the experience.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire L
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Charming Cottage with an authentic flair and very welcoming hosts”
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My boyfriend and I spend a week in the Cottage of the Chateau and had a marvelous stay - Liz and Leo are very welcoming, cordial hosts who provided us with food and wine when we arrived late in the evening and made sure we were comfortably set up.

The spot is perfect for winding down from a stressful city life; we spent hours lying by the pool (which we had for ourselves), looking at the pretty landscape and watching the chickens run around. We had breakfast on the terrace and barbeques in the evening, having bought our food from a village market nearby. The area around the Cottage is great for lazy strolls across fields and woods as well; the nearest village with a market is a c. 15min drive away so a car is absolutely needed.

We found it to be a perfect base to explore the South West France: The Pyrenees, Cap Ferret and Bordeauxare just a couple of hours away by car.

The absolute highlight was a restaurant recommendation Liz and Leo gave us for our last evening where we had a romantic locally sourced dinner under the stars in a farmhouse nearby.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NurseVx
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Third year!”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My third visit to Chateau Coye, we stayed in the house again this year. Liz and Len as welcoming as ever. Weather was glorious and we had good use of the swimming pool and relaxing around it in a natural sun trap.
Last years new hens have had chicks - so lots of juvenile chicks rushing around creating an idyllic French pastoral scene.

Bit of sight seeing this year to Lourdes - beautiful church, worth seeing, and Biarritz is well worth an explore.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
voyagerSu...
sussex
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Alittle gem loved by us and by its owners”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a great week at Chateau Coye even though the weather was mixed. Liz and Len could not have been more welcoming providing an excellent welcome pack, vegetables from the garden and even a great evening together in the Chateau. They love this place and it shows. Le Pigeonnier is quaint and rustic but has plenty of space especially for two.
Great to get a big kitchen area which was well equipped. We loved the fact that there were so many different areas to sit out in, including the excellent pool. If you wanted quiet you could find it but the chickens were on hand to add a bit of atmosphere. Pleasant, and easy, walks through the woods. Hagetmau shopping was fine and we enjoyed easy trips out to the colourful towns of the Bearne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the friendliness of the hosts and the character of the place
Liked least: the drive to Hagetmau
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnglandPe...
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rustic Relaxation!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Oh my goodness! What an amazing, relaxing week we have just spent at Chateaux Coye! This is a beautiful, rustic, shabby chic Chateau! We went with friends who stayed in a bedroom in the Chateaux and my husband and I stayed in the Pigeonnier where we all shared the facilities.
Liz and Len are the perfect hosts and helped us many times with information on the area. No one could make you feel more at home than they did! Unfortunately the weather was not at its best the week we stayed but we still enjoyed every minute. There is everything you could possibly want in the Pigeonnier to make life easy and a lovely welcome pack.
If you are looking for a place where you can totally relax, get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life and have a laugh around the BBQ in the evening then this has to be the place to stay.
There are lovely walks around the Chateau and after a day out it was great to return for a swim in the pool and a glass of wine.
I really should not write this review as this is a place that you should keep secret but could not do that to Liz and Len because they deserve the recommendation for their hospitality and hard work. Many thanks Liz and Len for making our week so enjoyable! If we are ever in that part of France we will definitely be staying here again and would not hesitate to recommend The Pigeonnier and Chateau to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Having to leave the peace and relaxation.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seangalla...
1 review
“A wonderfull getaway full of rural charm”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned from a wonderfull week spent at Le Pigeonairre.

We chose the location as we wanted to escape the rat race and enjoy rural France.

The photos really don't do this cottage justice. Attached to a lovely chateau owned by the hospitable and friendly Len and Liz, the cottage is decorated to a high standard in keeping with its age but with modern conveniences. For those with children the reasonably fast broadband and UK satellite feed (all UK terrestial channels) are a nice touch.

The location may not be everyones first choice due to the distance from the airport but we would recomend the effort. The 2 hour drive from Bordeaux is worth it (Recomend staying in Bordeaux for a night beforehand, great city) You have peace and tranquility and the run of the chateau grounds which include a spacious sun facing garden with a pool. The pool is cleaned daily and although not heated kept a good temperature well into the evening.

Locally there is a supermarket, regular farmers markets and bars within ten minutes drive. We also went further afield and had day trips to both the pyrenees and the beach. For these trips the owners will provide you with coolboxes and parasols if requested, another nice touch.

We will be rerturning in future, much more to explore!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rural Perfection”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the pigeonnier for a lovely week, exploring the immediate area as well as further afield to the Pyrenees and the atlantic coast. The facilities were excellent, with the property being very well equipped. The gardens and pool were excellent too. The owners, Len and Liz, were extremely affable, friendly and keen to help us have the perfect holiday, as well as wonderful cooks. The welcome pack they provided was particularly generous. Would highly recommend and would not hesitate in returning if we were ever in that part of the world again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing