We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all expectations on every level”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rousdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allhallows B&B @ West House
Ranked #1 of 2 Rousdon B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 22, 2013

It's a challenge to add more than has already been said about this perfect b&b. We booked for 7 nights but ended up staying for 8 as we didn't want to leave. The hosts, Grayson and Christine will provide you with the very best of hospitality - quite frankly, just ask Christine where to go and where to eat and you will not be disappointed. All previous reviews regarding rooms, comfort, breakfast and surroundings are spot on. A delightful find, now just trying to find excuse to return soon.

Room Tip: There are two rooms - both are beautifully appointed so getting either will not disappoint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cgt76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 176 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

Most amazing B&B we have stayed in for a long time. The building has been sympathetically restored by Christine & Grayson who were great hosts.
4 poster room was huge and decorated in authentic Victorian opulence. The bathroom again was huge - this time decorated in a contemporary luxurious style. Breakfast cooked on the Aga range was gorgeous. Set in beautiful grounds, there is no noise and we had 3 great nights sleep on a vey comfy mattress. Can help yourself to fresh milk at any time for teas & coffee which was great as we loathe UHT milk. All in all we can't recommend this B&B enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in 4 poster room, but the Blue room looks fab as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treaclebumpsteads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

As with other reviews, there is not much more I can add to the 5 star comments already made! The setting, rooms, location and hospitality is 100%. We chose the 4 poster room and had 2 extremely comfortable nights whilst visiting River Cottage for a cookery course. Breakfasts were delicious, the hosts super friendly and the overall experience left us wanting to come back each weekend! Maybe soon? Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemoon099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

There's not much I can add to the other rave reviews of this B&B - the warm welcome, the glorious (tasteful & luxurious) rooms (we stayed in the 4 poster room), the delicious home cooked breakfast - it really is perfect. I'd just like to draw attention to the location which is stunning - surrounded by rolling green fields & with a woodland walk to the beach (although I have to confess we didn't actually make it all the way to the beach). Beautiful, tranquil - idyllic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

What an amazing place! We stayed here a couple of weekends ago as a base for a wedding at River Cottage. This is not your average B&B - beautiful, luxurious accommodation oozing with history and character; owners who pitch their welcome perfectly between friendly helpfulness if you want it and giving you space to relax; even access to a private beach via a pleasant 25-minute walk from the B&B. Incredible.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to spend a night in each room and both are delightful. For a special occasion t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We can honestly say we have never experienced such a perfect weekend as this. Grayson & Christine could not have been more welcoming to make us feel relaxed and at home! The grandeur of the house and the Estate was beautiful. We want to let everyone know about this amazing gem, but selfishly want to keep it to ourselves too! Looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

From the moment we pulled in and were greeted by Christine & Grayson, we knew this wonderful old building would be full of surprises. We were not disappointed, except to the extent that online pictures did not do justice to this beautifully and lovingly restored section of a former family home and school.
The two rooms are more like apartments; large and exquisitely furnished, with modern and large bathrooms. Everything so close to perfect!
Christine's breakfasts were a wonderful start to the day, and our hosts graciousness and openness in the use of the West House made for a fabulously comfortable stay. Christine and Grayson are fonts of local information and always ready to do that little bit more that made our stay feel more like a family holiday than paid accomodation.
We could not recommend Allhallows more than to say that it is right up there with the best accomodation we have stayed in.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank geoffmccahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rousdon
0.5 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
389 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
445 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#3 of 45 in Lyme Regis
401 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Allhallows B&B @ West House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allhallows B&B @ West House

Address: The Rousdon Estate | Nr Lyme Regis, Rousdon, Lyme Regis DT7 3XR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Rousdon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rousdon
Price Range: $140 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our wonderful home in East Devon. We have sympathetically renovated it with love and care over the past 5 years and believe we have achieved the right balance between its Victorian heritage and modern comfort and convenience. West House has elegant and comfortable bedrooms, beautifully furnished, and equipped with tea and coffee-making facilities, TV, hairdryer, free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allhallows Bed And Breakfast @ West House
Allhallows b&b @ West House Hotel Rousdon
Allhallows B&B @ West House Rousdon, Lyme Regis, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing